FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Bike Peddler Take a Look Cyclist Mirror

Bike PeddlerTake a Look Cyclist Mirror(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(97 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(70)
(21)
(3)
(2)
(1)
(72%)
(22%)
(3%)
(2%)
(1%)
Reviewed 7/16/2018
by epbob
Cycling Enthusiast
El Paso, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Perfectly funtional

I'm a road cyclist and I feel naked and vulnerable if I can't see what's coming behind me. You all know that some drivers are oblivious to us and yet others are hostile. Better to know what's coming to be safe. This mirror is where form and function make a perfect meeting. It will adapt to any sunglass frame, is infinitely adjustable and is so light you don't notice it. I had to order a new one because I gave my old one to a vintner who admired it while I was on a trip in the Douro Valley in Portugal in May.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/12/2018
by BubF
Cycling Enthusiast
The ''Cuse
Value Rating
Overall Rating
THE BEST!

I use this mirror all the time. It's simple, adjustable and stays where it's supposed to be. I've tried the stick on mirrors....total junk that eventually falls off. And handle bar end mirrors don't cut it for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/2/2018
by Anonymous
NYC
Overall Rating
Great mirror

I ride in areas where obstructions and road conditions have me riding away from the side of the road. The mirror helps me easily see behind me so I dont have to turn my head away from the road. Clips on my sunglasses and holds its position the entire ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/21/2018
by Randy
Cycling Enthusiast
Gresham, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Simple, effective, light-weight

I've been using a bar-end mirror on my drops but did not like the set up. Hard to get the right view. I've been using the Bike Peddler for a few hundred miles and find it much easier to use. It does take some getting used to and it does require me to cock my head slightly to get the mirror pointing at the traffic lane behind me, but it is much easier than looking down to the bar-end mirror.

The reason you may need to cock your head with the Bike Peddler is that your shoulder would be in the way by just glancing. If you were sitting really upright on your bike all the time, this would be easier. However, if you are on a road bike for flat bar, then you shoulder partially blocks. The slight movement of your head isn't at all bad.

Lastly, don't worry about this blocking your vision or distracting you. It really doesn't do that. You get used to it after a short while. I think I'll remove the bar-end mirror now that I rarely use it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/23/2018
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
San Joaquin Valley
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good value and reasonably priced

Mirror works great and is very useful

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/22/2018
by JimmyEats Wheels
Cycling Enthusiast
Lawn Guy Land, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Know What's behind you

I bought this under pressure from a friend and my wife.never thought I get one. It takes some time to adjust to find a sweet spot for the best view (but I believe that would be true of all riding mirrors). It also takes some getting used to a mirror on several levels. However, once you do, there is no looking back. I love it and from a safety standpoint, you are the 1st to yell Car-Back!. Lastly, its great to see how far back some in your group are so you can keep the ride together and no one gets dropped on a No Drop ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/11/2014
by TBplayer
Cycling Enthusiast
Decatur, AL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Only one I'll use...

Road biking. Helmet or eyeglass mirrors take a little while to get used to, but once you do, you'll feel hindered by the limited view of the bike mounted ones. Tried several others but kept coming back to this one for ease of adjustment and stability.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/9/2017
by Pedaling Peter
Daily Commuter
Baton Rouge, La.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Why did I not buy this before?!

It attaches to my sunglasses and is angled for maximum and sufficient rearview. For several weeks I have used this item, the first of its kind that I have used. I have no complaints about it at all. I ride city streets with lots of motor traffic multiple times a week. No longer need I twist my neck around to see what is behind me. If you ride your bike where cars are driven, there is nothing to decide but to get this mirror.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/8/2018
by Oldmanrolling
Cycling Enthusiast
Port Angeles, Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best review mirror

After trying various rear view mirrors, this is by far the best, fully adjustable mirror I've ever had.

It takes a little time to get the fitadjustment dialed in the first time (like most things) but its great. I feel naked when I don't have it. Really provides security and safety being able to see what is coming up behind you!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/8/2018
by Oldmanrolling
Cycling Enthusiast
Port Angeles, Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best review mirror

After trying various rear view mirrors, this is by far the best, fully adjustable mirror I've ever had.

It takes a little time to get the fitadjustment dialed in the first time (like most things) but its great. I feel naked when I don't have it. Really provides security and safety being able to see what is coming up behind you!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/13/2009
by Jay (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
41 of 41 customers found this review helpful.
Once you use it, it will be hard to ride without it

I started using a mirror as a ride leader for a local cycling group so I could keep an eye on cyclists behind me. Once I got used to it which really didn't take long, I felt I was missing a critical piece of cycling gear whenever I rode without one.

The regular version may be a bit too close to the eyes for most people since it blocks a lot of your peripheral vision. I find the extended versions works better.

The mirror slides onto the eyeglass temple pieces. Some eyeglasses, particularly the fancier cycling eyewear, have oddly shaped temple pieces that may make it difficult to mount these, so take this into consideration.

In general, I found the eyeglass mounted mirrors to be more effective than helmet mounted or bike mounted mirrors. Helmet mounted mirrors inevitably get dislodged since they are generally attached with simple adhesive. Bike mounted mirrors tend to vibrate too much for my taste, and don't have a wide enough view to get the full picture of what is behind you.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/26/2018
by IslandRider
Competitive Racer
Maui Hawaii
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Use with sunglasses, works well

This is the second one of these that I've had. Love them. When I was racing bikes, I don't know of anyone that would be caught with a mirror, including me. But, with distracted driving becoming the default and no longer living in a low traffic area, having an idea of what's behind me in traffic could save my skin. It weighs next to nothing, requires minimal care and can be adjusted to provide a good view of what's in your 6. I don't leave home on a ride without this thing nowadays.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/9/2017
by Jsoutor
Casual Cyclist
Minneapolis, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I love this gadget!

I use it for my casual bike riding. Makes my ride more fun.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/5/2016
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Kansas, United States
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Don't bother reading this and place this item in your cart.

Just got back from my first ride with this mirror. Wow. I've spent hundreds of dollars on fancy neon clothing, flashing lights, reflective fabrics... and nothing even comes close to the amount of safety that this tiny $XX device brings! Not only does it provide you, the cyclist, with information about cars behind you, but, for the first time in my four seasons of cycling, I felt like a valued vehicle on the road. There's an odd psychological behavior that I observed, and I'm not sure how to explain it, but if cars behind you know that you can see them behind you (you slightly tilting your head to view vehicles as they approach), they're much less likely to try something stupid (pass you with a semi-truck approaching in the other lane). Today, in my short 1-hour ride, I had three cars wait to pass me until the opposite lane was clear. No vehicle passed me with cars in the opposite lane. I even had people wait to pass me until no-passing lanes ended! It was amazing! I had more cars treat me like a vehicle in one ride than I have historically been treated in years! I'm not sure why mirrors have this effect and not flashing lights or certain clothes, but heck, for $XX... that's a steal. Stop reading and buy it. Your life is worth more than an IMAX movie.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/28/2017
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
New Hampshire
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Absolutely the best cycling mirror available!

After several years of trying to get other mirrors to work, a friend lent me a Take a Look and I have used it ever since- that was 25 years ago! Put it on your glasses and use its great adjustability and you have excellent rear vision. It is absolutely the best cycling mirror available!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/1/2017
by Dennis
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Easy adjustment, durable frame and excellent visibility.

Unlike other models with plastic frames that easily break, this metal frame is durable and easy to fit on most eyeglass frames. I rely on this mirror for monitoring traffic behind, and being head-mounted, you can sweep the entire scene behind you. This mirror is a great asset for enhanced safety.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2017
by Ramon
Cycling Enthusiast
Bakersfield, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This is the second mirror that I own.

I have two helmets and I have this mirror on each one. I tried other mirrors and I found that this one worked the best. I am very satisfied with this mirror.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/28/2015
by Bikin'' Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent Product

I rode for many years without a rear view mirror. Simply put, this was the best investment I have ever made in regards to safety. Now I couldn't imagine riding without it.

Clips right on to my plastic frame Ray-Ban's no problem, nice and snug, never shifts or slips. Very easy to adjust, then stays put.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/30/2017
by B''Ham Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellingham, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent Optics, kinda funky mounting system

Use for road cycling. Took me a while to figure out proper placement on my helmet visor. Finally mounted it with a zip tie. Works good, has very good optics. Much better than most bike mirrors. Price was good from BTD!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/19/2015
by Bicycleman1957
Cycling Enthusiast
Drexel Hill PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great accessory for knowing what's behind you.

I have had several different mirrors ranging from those mounted to the bar ends, helmet and glasses and have found these to be my favorites. They adjust easily and once you find the set up that works best for you it's not hard to reset them prior to a ride. Some mention having a longer reach for better vision, but I've not found this to be an issue. They are invaluable when riding in areas with traffic and remove the necessity for turning your head to check prior to moving left or turning. On the occassion of forgetting them, I feel uneasy without the ability to check what's going on behind me. The price is fair and I have found them to wear well and to last for several years without issues.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.