Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Bell Z20 MIPS Helmet

BellZ20 MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(52 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(46)
(5)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(88%)
(10%)
(0%)
(0%)
(2%)
Reviewed 9/13/2021
by Roadie
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver BC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great helmet, great service

I've always worn a Bell helmet because they feel like they used my head for the mold. I couldn't go try on others because of COVID rules in my country. Originally wanted the Stratus model but I contacted BTD for possible sale prices or coupon code and was given a steal of a deal on the Z20. Excellent service from BTD and very fast free shipping via USPS. Even though I had to pay $ exchange and was hit with some duty charges, it was still cheaper than in my country. Excellent communication service with BTD. The helmet (Z20) fit my head like a glove as expected. Very easy adjustments and could definitely feel the difference in airflow from my old Bell Volt. My only complaint to Bell is that the "sunglass guides" do not work whatsoever. I own your basic Oakley 5's, millions of them out there, and they do not fit at all, in any way, into the helmet slots. Subtracted 1 star for that.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2021
by Brt
Cycling Enthusiast
Maui
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great Helmet

It s tough rating helmets because everyone has a different shape head so one person loves the helmet they bought and someone else hates it, I have owned 3 Z20 Bell helmets including this one and have really liked them all, and I have a nasty crash story where the Bell definitely did its job, but before I bought this last Bell I bought a Kask and it is the most uncomfortable Helmet I have ever worn. The difference is the Kask is Italian and Italians must all have round heads so they are not designed for long oval heads so there is a bad pressure point at the forehead and the helmet won't sit down properly on my head so I look a little silly wearing it, then I immediately ordered a new Bell Z20 and what a heavenly difference. I wanted the Kask so bad that I wore it so no return. I am guessing the Bell will fit a rounder head also but the moral to the story is I love Bell Z20 Helmets.. Brt

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/12/2021
by ManyMiles
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A good, lightweight helmet with decent sweat control

I do a lot of long, hot rides in the mountains in the summer, so prefer a helmet that offers good ventilation and sweat control that keeps sweat out of your sports lenses and eyes. The Bell Z20 MIPS was easy to adjust and feels pretty comfortable. The helmet is designed to channel sweat to a central absorbent pad on the forward edge of the helmet, from which it drips off or you can occasionally press it with your thumb to release the accumulation. It isn't perfect, but nearly always keeps sweat off of my left lens, though some occasionally gets onto my right lens. That's an improvement over most other helmets that I've used over the past 40+ years.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/3/2021
by Roadie
Competitive Racer
Vancouver BC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great helmet, great service

I've always worn a Bell helmet because they feel like they used my head for the mold. I couldn't go try on others because of COVID rules in my country. Originally wanted the Stratus model but I contacted BTD for possible sale prices or coupon code and was given a steal of a deal on the Z20. Excellent service from BTD and very fast free shipping via USPS. Even though I had to pay $ exchange and was hit with some duty charges, it was still cheaper than in my country. Excellent communication service with BTD. The helmet (Z20) fit my head like a glove as expected. Very easy adjustments and could definitely feel the difference in airflow from my old Bell Volt.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/12/2021
by redwoods5
Cycling Enthusiast
Hartford, CT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Loved this helmet until fit dial went gooey

I've had this helmet for about 10k miles and 2 years. It's been great: looks good and fits my oblong head well. Good and snug. Super airflow and a good price from BTD, as usual. Then a couple weeks ago, the rubberized dial to adjust the fit at the back of the helmet started getting gooey and falling apart. It gets caught up in the mechanism now, which is a minor pain and true first world problem. There doesn't seem to be a way to replace just that piece. I get that helmets shouldn't last forever and we need to replace them for safety, but built-in obsolescence 2 years in seems too soon.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/7/2021
by NewEnglandRoadie
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
For me the most comfortable helmet to date.

I've been a life long Giro user. But they all put pressure on my forehead even with wearing a cycling cap. With the MIPS System I can get a snug comfortable fit with no pressure points. Like the helmet "floats" on my head.

Maybe not the lightest, but I never notice it in a bad way . Never shifts. The added safety of MIPS and two density foam sold it for me after taking a spill last year. Ventilation good. Only regret is I paid full price and now it's on sale. But I would still get another one.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/12/2021
by Six-O
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Very nice fitment and comfort.

I liked my first Bell Z20 MIPS helmet so much I purchased a second one a couple years later. In SE Texas, the warm months are very humid. I like its design that channels excess sweat to a point that keeps it from dripping on the inside of one's sunglasses. The air vents keep my noggin as cool as any others I have worn. I crashed wearing my first Z20 helmet and suffered a separated shoulder, but fortunately had no dain bramage [sic]. I am disappointed that Bell no longer includes a spare set of helmet pads like my first Z20 had. I almost took off a star for that. That must be a new trend with helmet manufacturers.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2019
by Denver cyclist
Daily Commuter
Aurora, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Lightweight, great fit, well-ventilated and reflective

Bell has always been the helmet I used. I opted for the fluorescent orange with reflective paint since I commute year round, which means winter commutes are in the dark. The fit is great and the ventilation is excellent.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/26/2021
by Keith
Maryland
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good fit and airflow

I used to have a Giro helmet and this one is quite similar. It's well constructed and fits me well. I prefer a helmet that has good airflow to keep me cool the helmet has that.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2018
by Brt
Cycling Enthusiast
Maui
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Saved by the Bell..

I was riding my TT bike along a beach Hwy on Maui about 27mph and came along a congested area and thought to myself over and over, don't let one of these knuckleheads open a door on me as I was fighting mean traffic on my left and knuckleheads on my right, I didn't see it..one minute riding along the next moment I am face down in the middle of the south bound lane, I am real lucky it was Sunday morning instead of Monday or I would have been traction for a dump truck.. I got up and pretty much walked away minus a lot of skin and some broken ribs my $12000.00 bike was destroyed and to this day I don't know what MIPS is but my Bell Z20 took a real hard hit (with my head in it, TT bike think head first) and beside a headache for a couple days it did its job and I immediately called BTD and bought a new one. I really like this helmet for a lot of reasons but that is obviously 1..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/29/2018
by 200mphKo
Competitive Racer
Washington DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect for my round head

After two decades of using several Giro helmets for mt. biking, I decided that it's time to invest in a new helmet as I started to log some miles on my road bike. Following some research, reading loads of reviews, and trying on a few dozen helmets, I decided to go with Bell and found this Z20 on sale. There is a reason why this was one of Bicycling Magazine's top-ten helmets of the year in 2017. First, it's equipped with MIPS. Very light. Vents wonderfully. When my head itches during a ride, for the first time, I was able to scratch my head (a big plus). I have a round head and Bell helmets fits so much more comfortably than Giro helmets. Two thumbs up, well done!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/16/2018
by C Buckley
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Bell Z20 MIPS

I haven't yet and hope never to use this for what it designed (protection in a crash) but the helmet fits me well and seems well ventilated (the second most critical feature in Central Texas during the summer). As an added safety benefit, the design of the back of the helmet allows me to attach a rear light intended for mounting on a seatpost ... this is a real winner from a visibility perspective (just today, someone in a passing pickup truck slowed, rolled down their window, and commented on the visibility of my daylight blinky light mounted up high on the back of the helmet). My only disappointment with the helmet is in the touted ability to store sunglasses in the pair with rubber grippers to help hold the glasses more firmly ... the glasses fit but the sizelocation of vents are such that the glasses I have tried are way to loose and will readily fall out when I look down ... definitely not secure enough to hold glasses while riding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Horrendously hard plastic MIPS frame that is either loose or crushing your head

Reflective layer is great on the exterior but that is where the good part ends. Rest of this helmet is just plain disappointing. In short: it is the least ergonomic and least comfortable helmet I owned in the last two decades and I had several lower priced helmets from the same manufacturer. The MIPS frame, although padded at some places, is not padded just above your temples where it would need it the most and also skull-crushing in the back even after a short ride. After loosening the MIPS interior "webbing" it becomes unstable on the head. Just could not find the sweet spot with this helmet at all. Weight is also unremarkable, the latch is hard to operate under your chin, you need both hands. Overall a poorly implemented product, especially for the price. Bell could have saved money by not including a fancy silk-like helmet bag (who needs that seriously) and put more design thought and money into the ergonomy of the MIPS interior framing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/2/2021
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very Nice Helmet

I purchased this helmet to replace an older Giro Synthe MIPS. The styling of the helmet seems to be more to my liking than the current Giro helmets in the same price range. I've had this for about two months now and several rides. No complaints. It's comfortable to wear.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/22/2020
by Donald
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, Massachusetts
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
light, comfortable, a life saver

Saved by the Bell! Bell helmets have saved my life twice. They are light, comfortable, and perform exactly as intended. They have saved me from a rampaging pickup truck and this winter protected me from a violent fall caused by a patch of ice. Why risk your life with any other brand? I will always wear Bell.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2020
by Spritely
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
So light and well ventilated you'll forget you're wearing it

I bought this helmet because of its high rating in Virginia Tech's helmet testing. I bought M size and it fits my 59cm oblong head well. I've done just 3 rides with it so far, It's so light and well ventilated that I reach up and touch it occasionally to make sure it's still there. Cosmetically, I like the mix of high-viz color where it shows and matte silver where it doesn't. Still, I tell myself everytime I ride Falling is not an option to remind myself to pay attention and ride safely.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/3/2021
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Northport, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
State Of The Art MIPS Road Helmet

The Bell Z20 MIPS is one of my favorite road helmets.It is well ventilated, light,has good looks and fits my roundish head comfortably.The height adjustment is effective but I wish the rear straps that are fastened to the back of the helmet were adjustable for an even better fit.

I purchased the Ghost Matte/Gloss Hi-Viz Reflective color scheme that is very visible whether riding during the day or at night.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/28/2021
by Powermatic
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Rosa, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Super Happy with this Helment

I have the fluorescent yellow version of this brain bucket. I am very happy with it. Fit is wonderful. But the most important reason I purchased this, is that it really stands out, especially in low light situations. The reflective material is superb--it is unobtrusive in regular light but goes supernova when a headlights hit it during night rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2020
by Glen W.
Cycling Enthusiast
New York City, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great comfortable helmet

The Bell Z20 helmet is nicely designed, fits very well with the latest incorporated MIPS safety tech, and looks great in yellow & blue. After having used a Bell Sweep helmet for the last 12 years I purchased the Z20 at a great sales price with Bike Tires Direct. The quality is there, I'm very satisfied and recommend it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2020
by Pablo
Daily Commuter
Miami
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome

Fantastic helmet, comfortable with an incredible safe feeling. Last but not least it has an awesome look and design. I highly recommend this helmet for serious amateur and pro cyclist.

Buying it from www.biketiresdirect.com was easy and fast.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 53

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]