Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Bell Z20 MIPS Helmet

BellZ20 MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(33 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(32)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(97%)
(3%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 5/22/2020
by Donald
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, Massachusetts
Value Rating
Overall Rating
light, comfortable, a life saver

Saved by the Bell! Bell helmets have saved my life twice. They are light, comfortable, and perform exactly as intended. They have saved me from a rampaging pickup truck and this winter protected me from a violent fall caused by a patch of ice. Why risk your life with any other brand? I will always wear Bell.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2019
by Denver cyclist
Daily Commuter
Aurora, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Lightweight, great fit, well-ventilated and reflective

Bell has always been the helmet I used. I opted for the fluorescent orange with reflective paint since I commute year round, which means winter commutes are in the dark. The fit is great and the ventilation is excellent.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2020
by Spritely
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
So light and well ventilated you'll forget you're wearing it

I bought this helmet because of its high rating in Virginia Tech's helmet testing. I bought M size and it fits my 59cm oblong head well. I've done just 3 rides with it so far, It's so light and well ventilated that I reach up and touch it occasionally to make sure it's still there. Cosmetically, I like the mix of high-viz color where it shows and matte silver where it doesn't. Still, I tell myself everytime I ride Falling is not an option to remind myself to pay attention and ride safely.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2020
by Pablo
Daily Commuter
Miami
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Awesome

Fantastic helmet, comfortable with an incredible safe feeling. Last but not least it has an awesome look and design. I highly recommend this helmet for serious amateur and pro cyclist.

Buying it from www.biketiresdirect.com was easy and fast.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2018
by Brt
Cycling Enthusiast
Maui
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Saved by the Bell..

I was riding my TT bike along a beach Hwy on Maui about 27mph and came along a congested area and thought to myself over and over, don't let one of these knuckleheads open a door on me as I was fighting mean traffic on my left and knuckleheads on my right, I didn't see it..one minute riding along the next moment I am face down in the middle of the south bound lane, I am real lucky it was Sunday morning instead of Monday or I would have been traction for a dump truck.. I got up and pretty much walked away minus a lot of skin and some broken ribs my $12000.00 bike was destroyed and to this day I don't know what MIPS is but my Bell Z20 took a real hard hit (with my head in it, TT bike think head first) and beside a headache for a couple days it did its job and I immediately called BTD and bought a new one. I really like this helmet for a lot of reasons but that is obviously 1..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/29/2018
by 200mphKo
Competitive Racer
Washington DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect for my round head

After two decades of using several Giro helmets for mt. biking, I decided that it's time to invest in a new helmet as I started to log some miles on my road bike. Following some research, reading loads of reviews, and trying on a few dozen helmets, I decided to go with Bell and found this Z20 on sale. There is a reason why this was one of Bicycling Magazine's top-ten helmets of the year in 2017. First, it's equipped with MIPS. Very light. Vents wonderfully. When my head itches during a ride, for the first time, I was able to scratch my head (a big plus). I have a round head and Bell helmets fits so much more comfortably than Giro helmets. Two thumbs up, well done!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/16/2018
by C Buckley
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Bell Z20 MIPS

I haven't yet and hope never to use this for what it designed (protection in a crash) but the helmet fits me well and seems well ventilated (the second most critical feature in Central Texas during the summer). As an added safety benefit, the design of the back of the helmet allows me to attach a rear light intended for mounting on a seatpost ... this is a real winner from a visibility perspective (just today, someone in a passing pickup truck slowed, rolled down their window, and commented on the visibility of my daylight blinky light mounted up high on the back of the helmet). My only disappointment with the helmet is in the touted ability to store sunglasses in the pair with rubber grippers to help hold the glasses more firmly ... the glasses fit but the sizelocation of vents are such that the glasses I have tried are way to loose and will readily fall out when I look down ... definitely not secure enough to hold glasses while riding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/13/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Nebraska
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent design, Excellent fitting helmet

The 2020 GhostHi-Viz Bell Z20 is a masterpiece. I'm really happy with the Ghost reflective elements which literally light you up in the night. The fit is great too. I have a large head (7 58 - 7 78) cap size) and this helmet in size L fits me like a glove. A little snug, but very comfortable and lightweight. I highly recommend the Bell Z20 MiPs helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Charlotte, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A well made, quality helmet with safety as the primary concern

I have used this project on shorter rides (under 30-miles) and longer rides (over 70-miles), and it continues to impress. It feels light on my head while providing a secure feeling of a solid helmet to protect my noodle. Lastly, the color (matte, gloss, orange) looks great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/26/2017
by iBike
Cycling Enthusiast
Richmond, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
One of the most comfortable helmets Ive ever worn

I wanted a MIPS helmet, and researched several before choosing the Z20. It was not the cheapest, but I knew Bell to be a quality product. And it came in blue to match the accents on my bike. I was quite happy with the fit of this helmet and the adjustments possible make this the most comfortable helmet Ive ever worn. Ive not worn it through the summer heat, so cant comment on ventilation, but so far Im a big fan. I hope I never have to test its MIPS capabilities, but I feel more confident knowing that is part of the design of this helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/4/2019
by Phil W
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good-looking, comfortable helmet.

The Bell Z20 helmet is a top quality addition to the Bell line of helmets. It ventilates well and the straps are thin and flat and glasses are easily accommodated without interference. Perspiration doesn't drip down on glasses thanks to the inventive padding. While it is a little heavier than other brands, that is not a factor while riding. This was an excellent buy while on special from BTD.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/4/2019
by STB
Cycling Enthusiast
portland oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great looking, awesome helmet

Bought this helmet for my husband for Christmas. He loves it, fits well and looks great.

Love the new safety technology.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/15/2018
by Cheaps
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I love this helmet

The fit and features are great! The MIPS is supposed to be safer and it also makes it more comfortable.

Finally my helmet and glasses aren't fighting each other!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2018
by Barry
Cycling Enthusiast
Sherman, Il
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great looking helmet and extremely comfortable

I did allot of research before I bought an MIPS helmet. This helmet looks great, is light weight and easy to adjust to your head with the adjust on the back of the helmet. The air flow is really good on those hot days. There are helmets that cost more but are not any better.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/1/2018
by SlowChurch
Competitive Racer
Atlanta, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great helmet. Awesome price from BikeTiresDirect.com

Wow. I really like this helmet. Have worn Giro Synthe and super lightweight Specialized Prevail so was a little worried about weight on this helmet. Clearly MIPS adds some but there are lighter MIPS helmets. Well I have to agree with one reviewer that once you put on the helmet, the weight is no issue. The fit out of the box was nearly perfect for me and the dial in the back is great as it tightens the entire system - not just pulls from the back. Finally this is a very good price from BikeTiresDirect.com. I couldn't find a lower one. Well done!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/6/2018
by Jack
Cycling Enthusiast
Orlando
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent protection when I needed it most.

I had this helmet for a little over a year. I was going too fast for the wet road conditions, down a medium grade. There was a slick area at the bottom from the previous night's rain. I was almost across and coasting at 15-20 mph when my front wheel lost traction and I went down, very hard, and very fast. I sustained significant road rash on my shoulder, arm and leg. I needed stitches in my hand where my knuckles rubbed through my gloves. Bottom line I hit my head very hard also. My Bell sustained significant damage but it really saved my head. No LOC, No HA. This is a top quality product that really delivers.

Besides the above, I can add that I appreciate the fit. Even in Florida rare occasions require a liner and the adjustments are good to accommodate different thicknesses. Looks good too, lots of ventilation.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/6/2018
by None
Cycling Enthusiast
Pahrump, nv.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great fit.

Just for road riding, nice style. More oval than round which works better for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/14/2018
by Brt
Maui
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great helmet..

I had a tough time picking a helmet mainly because I hate sending things back, i have a fairly large oval head 7 58th and of course it had to fit comfortably (I sent back a size large Kask that was really built for a round head shape that did not come close to even getting on my head let alone fitting) The Bell Z20 fits beautifully, and after about 800 miles of use it is by far the best choice I could have made, I never even know it is on my head while riding. As a bonus it fits pretty low profile compared to my other helmets so the light bulb head effect is very minimum.. Perfect for me and I hope I never have to find out what MIPS is..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/3/2018
by Fuelfool
Competitive Racer
Arden, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great lid

Ive always preferred the fit of Bell over all others with my more oval-shaped head. This one is no exception. A new nice touch on the Z20 is a thin rubber edge on the rear cradle to further reduce the risk of any pressure points. Great fit. Great looks. And a great deal on sale. Done.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/28/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Very Nice

Why did it take 50 years to make a helmet this comfortable and fit this well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 06