Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Zipp Service Course SL Stem

ZippService Course SL Stem(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(19 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(15)
(3)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(79%)
(16%)
(0%)
(5%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by MooreSpeed

Reviewed 1/20/2024
by MooreSpeed
Overall Rating
Always Trust Zipp

This stem is light, rigid and looks great.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by aldoruns100

Reviewed 4/10/2023
by aldoruns100
Cycling Enthusiast
The mountains of West Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Zipp Service Course Stem is the bomb.

I bought this stem in the 130 mm. to put on my 2021 Trek Checkpoint ALR 5 that came stock with a 110 mm. stem. I am 6 foot tall with longish arms and wanted to be stretched out a little longer. BTW, the 20 extra mm. comes to around 3/4 of an inch, or .79 to be exact. I installed in the negative 6 degree position which still has a little rise but less than the positive 6 degree. This changed my position for the best and made for a little racier bike that my original setup....As for the product itself, It looks spectacular. Bigger, with sublime graphics that I love.... In fact, I loved it so much that several months later, I did my whole cockpit with ZIPP.... Stem, plus Bar & Tape, & seatpost. I love it.... Of course we are talking aluminum here, but all for less than 350$.... But the stem is definitely the highlight.... Do It.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/12/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Everett, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
It's Zipp'n and looks nice!

It's aluminum, looks good and lightweight! not much more to it!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/21/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Good

Nice quality light weight stem

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by drzipgrip

Reviewed 6/16/2017
by drzipgrip
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Solid

Been using these stems for years - just simple and solid. Weight is a wee bit pudgy 140gm for the 110mm - but great price from BTD ! )

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/26/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Upgraded from stock stem

Good looking stem got it to match zipp handlebars

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/9/2020
by Anonymous
SF, CA
Overall Rating
Beyond Black is the best std stem

Aside from getting a custom painted stem this stem is pretty sweet looking. The stem itself has you locked onto your bars. Ive had no problems sprinting in the drops or on the hoods.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/6/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Works well

For only a few grams more than the carbon product and a whole lot less money, gets the job done.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Raposo

Review for Zipp 2014 Service Course SL Stem
Reviewed 5/15/2014
by Raposo
Connecticut
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
I like it. Really nice looking, stiff, light.

It is really nice looking, stiff, and light weight

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by oldbiker

Reviewed 5/28/2019
by oldbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Upstate, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Strong and Light

Zipp makes a great lightweight stem for climbing with confidence. It feels very solid when your sprinting up a hill.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by OK

Reviewed 4/15/2019
by OK
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Not great on my super-light carbon handlebar

90mm Zipp stem left clamp marks on my super-light carbon bar (Easton EC90 SLX) and made a squeaking sound as weight shifted. Maybe better with an alloy handlebar. Would not use again with my carbon bar. Shifted back to Easton EA90 100MM stem and bar is secure and does not squeak even out of saddle up hill with heavy pressure on bar. Now waiting to get a 90MM Easton stem so fit and functionality is perfect.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BD

Reviewed 12/6/2018
by BD
Competitive Racer
Buckeye, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Can't beat Zipp!

Great stem for the money! Looks sleek and cool!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by dide

Reviewed 10/12/2018
by dide
Cycling Enthusiast
N. Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice . light stem.

This is a great stem at a reasonable price.

Very light, stiff, and uses 25 torx bolts , which I like.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/28/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great stem

Great stem - well made with outstanding bolts. Not much to say other than it does its job well. Good weight and value for price. Looks awesome as well.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Review for Zipp 2014 Service Course SL Stem
Reviewed 3/17/2014
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
works well no surprises

fairly light and reasonably price, no problems

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Live Life

Reviewed 12/1/2023
by Live Life
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA
Overall Rating
Works I need 130 mm

There are few long reach stems. At 130mm longest, it does the job.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by PEDALCONSUMPTION

Reviewed 2/6/2017
by PEDALCONSUMPTION
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Simply the best stem in the non-carbon game.

The Zipp Service Course SL Stem (in Beyond Black) is my personal favorite when lusting for aluminum. Super stiff, lightweight, and dependable. AND... it looks damn good!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by rgarner

Reviewed 11/6/2020
by rgarner
Cycling Enthusiast
Mobile, AL
Overall Rating
Nice - high quality stem.

Installed on wife's Cervelo S3 - no issues. Looks good.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ckang

Review for Zipp 2014 Service Course SL Stem
Reviewed 7/31/2014
by ckang
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Solid stiff good looking stem

Well it's a stem. Plenty stiff, solid, and lightweight. Does require a Torx key so make sure you have one in your toolkit when riding.

Does cost a bit more and it's a stem. But IMO, the stem helps the look of the bike.

The beyond black matches the bike well so I got to give it 4 stars.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]