FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Yakima FrontLoader Universal Roof Rack

YakimaFrontLoader Universal Roof Rack(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(10 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(8)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(80%)
(20%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 11/8/2018
by Owen
Sacramento
Overall Rating
Solid, easy to use, but don't lose the bits!

I used this to carry a 70lb cargo bike on a three hour drive up to the mountains. The rack held firm and did a great job, and it's a breeze to install and use. My only complaint is that the rear bracket has two separate pieces, and if you forget to secure the loose piece when you take the rack off, it will drop onto the ground without you noticing, and you'll never find it. I don't think that's a great design. Also, the little Yakima branded clip at the back of the rails falls off whenever it has an opportunity. A good product with a couple of things that need to be attended to...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/5/2018
by Ethan
Conshohocken
Overall Rating
Great product

I had fork mount yakima racks before and stuck the front wheel in the yakima wheel house to avoid a muddy interior. But having round bars the wheel house would roll back with any acceleration and having to take the wheel off, especially with hydraulic brakes is both dangerous and a pain in the butt. But with this all in one rack with built in locks all the previous hassle is gone and it, in my opinion looks cleaner

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/5/2018
by Ethan
Conshohocken
Overall Rating
Great product

I had fork mount yakima racks before and stuck the front wheel in the yakima wheel house to avoid a muddy interior. But having round bars the wheel house would roll back with any acceleration and having to take the wheel off, especially with hydraulic brakes is both dangerous and a pain in the butt. But with this all in one rack with built in locks all the previous hassle is gone and it, in my opinion looks cleaner

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/5/2018
by justin
Cycling Enthusiast
LA CANADA,CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
GOOD PRODUCT.

It is very stable.

However, it accompanies some wind noise.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/17/2017
by Kirk
Daily Commuter
Western New York
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great roof rack

Clamps on the front wheel, so it fits any axle stylewidth and doesn't touch your frame. Arrives completely assembled in the the box, just install it on the roof. Bikes go in and out easy. The only limitation I've found is tire width. Your fat bike tire's probably not going to squeeze into it, anything up to that is good to go.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/11/2017
by mberger256
Daily Commuter
Washington, DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Easy to set up and easy to put bike up and set to go.

Easy to open the box and set up. Easy to put bike up and set to go.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/2/2011
by bikeaholicdan
Cycling Enthusiast
Cocnord Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
nice rack

Race works great. If you have a car or SUV that is tall I recommend a Werner Portable Work Platform can get just about any hardware about 35.00.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/16/2014
by JKomolmis
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Overall great rack from Yakima!

I have two of the Frontloaders for mine and my girls 29ers and absolutely love the no hardware installation right out of the box and ease of use. There are markings for the size of the bike tire for easy adjustment. The rack holds the bike very sturdy and I have no hesitation with it at all. My only desires are 1) wish it was just a tad bit shorter so that the trunk of my Audi A3 would open all the way (I'd say it opens about 80%) and 2) that the optional lock core would have gone through the red knob that is used to tighten the front clamp for the tire. As it is right now, the Frontloader has one lock core to go to the front of the rack to prevent someone from actually stealing the carrier from your roof rack and the second lock core is one an attached cable that you can wrap around your bike as theft deterrent for someone to steal your actual bike. If someone really wanted to and had the cable cutters, they would cut the cable and start to unwind the red knob to loosen the front clamp and off they go with your bike. So if there were a lock on the red knob to prevent it from turning, then it'd be near impossible to steal.

But otherwise, this is a fantastic rack... especially at the sale price!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/2/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Syracuse, NY
Overall Rating
One of my best purchases ever.Easy on and off, high quality.

Great for everyday or just when needed.Easy to use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/9/2013
by kjokay
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
it works

i've used it a couple times and it works as prescribed. its pretty simple to set up and its nice to not have to take the front tire off.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.