Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
WTB Venture TCS 700c Gravel Tire

WTBVenture TCS 700c Gravel Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(15 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(12)
(0)
(2)
(1)
(0)
(80%)
(0%)
(13%)
(7%)
(0%)
Reviewed 6/11/2021
by Nikko
South Elgin, illinois
Overall Rating
fast rolling tire

I have this tire on my trek ds 8.4 as an upgrade, my bike originally had bontrager 700x38c and i have installed this wtb venture 700x50c coz i wanted to take on occasional single tracks and in my opinion its well worth the upgrade from the skinny 38c it had on before,it looks great on my bike with the tan wall as well. Speed-wise it feels about the same coz of its fast rolling center thread design given that its much wider than the bontrager, the grip is much improved as well giving me more confidence taking corners on gravel, dirt as well as on pavement. The only down side is that it definitely feels heavier ofcourse given that its a thicker tire but i also run with tubes..eventually I should be converting to tubeless. Overall i think its a great upgrade and i would recommend it to anyone who rides on pavement, gravel and occasional single tracks like me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/3/2021
by Nick
Wichita
Overall Rating
I'll give it a 0.333 batting average

I bought two. The one I put on front snapped right on and pumped up easily with a hand pump and has held up well. However the one I installed on back had a perfect pinhole in the sidewall that wasn't going to seal up. I ordered a replacement and it had the same perfect pinhole in the sidewall as well.

I say it's batting 0.333 because I really like the tire on front. It didn't bite as well as I would have liked on some of those rowdy southern Colorado dirt roads and trails but it's fantastic on my country Kansas gravel roads.

Thanks to the Bike Direct team! I was putting these new tires on just a few days before I was leaving for The San Luis Valley. When I contacted them about my problem they overnighted another tire to me. I know the tire didn't pan out, but I was very happy that they took the extra step to do that for me. And they provided a return shipping label for the two defective tires. I'll be shopping with BTD again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/17/2021
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
tucson
Value Rating
Overall Rating
these tires are not gravel tires smallest 700x40 I have ever seen not good !!!

these are the smallest 700x40 tires I have ever seen they slide so easy I wouldn't feel like they are doing there job even on hard gravel not worth the money

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/11/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I have the SG2 Version. LOVE them. Tubeless installation was a breeze. These are not intended for any substantially muddy terrain.

Purchase the SG2 Version along with some Handspun Quality Wheels. A very nice upgrade from my stock tires/ wheels. Highly recommended. Perfect for Road, Gravel, Tight Pack and light trails. NOT good for any substantially muddy terrain.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2020
by Clay Ewing
Cycling Enthusiast
Wimberley, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I'm Very Impressed

I'm not new to off-road (33 years and counting), but somewhat new to gravel (<2 years), and years ago Continental came out with a line of race tires that were very scant with tread in the middle, and pretty aggressive on the sides.

The thought was: fast rolling on smooth stuff and something to dig into the corners. I was dedicated to WTB's Velociraptors, but gave these a try when the Conti rep offered them up and was amazed when I didn't slip and slide anywhere (no mud), and was able to wail along with confidence.

When my Nano 40s were wearing out, the Venture looked to be the descendent of that old Conti design, so I bought them and went tubeless with them.

In the last four months I have to say these are everything I need them to be: I ride on pavement to local minor trails, play around for a while and then ride back home. A little sluggish on pavement (at 30psi for my 40s), and the knobs on the side can be unsettling on uneven pavement when they grab and pull on the layer differences, but on the dirt, rocks and mulch of those little trails they stick and roll with an ease I don't notice on pavement.

It's strange: the more gravel or dirt, the faster they seem to work. I did four rides on the backroads around Pagosa Springs last month, and I remain very impressed with these tires. I've been a WTB fan (tires, saddles) for about 30 years, and the Nano's were excellent, but these are great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/26/2019
by Anonymous
cleveland ohio
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Fast touring tire!

This is my second set of WTB tires. The first ones were great, a set of Riddlers. But as soon as I put this set of tires on I noticed a huge difference in the speed of the bike. Its probably a little more suited for the riding I do, but its nice to know when the road gets a little rough the should handle that perfectly. Thanks for the great tires

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/3/2020
by Ram54csu
Boulder, CO
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
My Go-to Gravel Tire!

I used theses tires for 500miles across mixed surfaces from asphalt to gravel to single-track. Smooth down the middle for time on the road and great traction ok hard turns or the occasion right corner drift.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/20/2020
by John
michigan
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Really happy

Switched out my 2.25 mtb tires for these (along with a carbon fork in place of a fox 34) and really like the quickness and responsiveness. I wouldnt take them into the mud but great on hard trails and gravel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/24/2020
by Andrew Halliburton
Cycling Enthusiast
Memphis, Tn
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very please so far!

I have had these tires installed for about 3.5 months now. Mostly gravel, some road and single track. Flatted out a lot with the Gravelkings, not a single flat yet! Great performance in the mud, but also very fast for the width of these monsters. Also very comfortable. WTB nailed this! Thank you

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/17/2020
by Mlmccoy9
Northern Virginia
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tire, kind of pricey though

I love this tire! Great for gravel, paved trails and road riding... not so much for any type of traction in mud.

I�d but again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/15/2020
by Mlmccoy9
Northern Virginia
Overall Rating
Great Tire, kind of pricey though

I love this tire! Great for gravel, paved trails and road riding... not so much for any type of traction in mud.

I�d buy again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/2/2019
by RD
Cycling Enthusiast
Pasadena, ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect 700c Gravel Tire for California gravel roads

I spent a ton of time researching a suitable gravel tire for my Ritchey Outback build that fit both the tire clearance and terrain where I live. I landed on the WTB venture as my tire of choice because LA gravel roads are mainly comprised of decomposed granite and sand. What I love about these tires is the centerline tread for the tarmac and the miles I ride until I hit the trails. The tire has taken everything I have thrown at it and has not slipped or lost traction.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/29/2019
by Diane
Indiana
Overall Rating
Awesome Gravel tire!

We have the WTB Venture on our Salsa Powderkeg. It is awesome on the gravel and rolls well on pavement.

Great price and quick shipping from BikeTiresDirect!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/14/2019
by GravelBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great traction but fast wearing

WTB makes a great tire. The venture mounted up tubeless with ease and offers great traction when new. But while the soft compound climbs and corners great, the tire (mounted as a rear) is literally bald after 1,000 miles of mixed graveldirtpaved riding. Might sound like a lot, but most tires i've tried last longer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2020
by AB
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX Oregon
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire

Bought the 50mm for a new adventure wheelset for my rigid 29er. Currently logged over 1000 mi, without significant wear yet. Running tubeless, they have great bite off-road and roll well enough on pavement that I have also commuted all winter on them. Would purchase again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 87

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]