Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WTB Venture TCS 650B x 47mm Gravel Tire

WTBVenture TCS 650B x 47mm Gravel Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(10 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(6)
(0)
(1)
(2)
(1)
(60%)
(0%)
(10%)
(20%)
(10%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Sharpbakers

Reviewed 1/25/2024
by Sharpbakers
san jose
Overall Rating
I really like the tire, but�.

Awesome gravel tire. Fairly aggressive tread, so slower on pavement, but really good on the trail. Very long lasting and good value. It was easy to get on with a couple of lever and some applied strength ! My only issue is getting it off the rim. That was a real bit*ch. I�m pretty sure it was a combination of rim size/style and this tire. I had a devil of a time getting the tire off the side of rim to the middle

channel of the rim. Other than that, great tire

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Eric VT gravel

Reviewed 5/17/2021
by Eric VT gravel
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Vermont
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great confidence on loose surfaces, not bad on pavement

I got these to go on a new set of 650B carbon wheels on my Litespeed Gravel. I do like the looks and the sidewall color. I had a hard time just getting the tires onto the rim - very tight fit, broke a plastic tire lever - but once on there seating them tubeless was a snap. I've had no problem with them holding air (using Orange Seal Endurance sealant). They do feel a bit slower on pavement than the 700X37 file tread Rene Herse tires on the original wheels. But after a couple of rides I forgot about that and love the added confidence it gives in fast descents on loose surfaces. I even rode through a deeper than expected puddle on dirt recently and they had the grip to get me through the muddy bottom.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by rcpmd

Reviewed 11/17/2022
by rcpmd
Daily Commuter
Denver, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good traction tire with perhaps less-than-optimal tread life?

Good tire with good traction, but only get about 1,500 miles on rear tire and perhaps 2,000 on front tire using commuter bike on mostly paved/cement trails. One of 4 tires developed a sidewall bulge near end-of-life. No complaints but hoped for more miles on the tire.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Chad

Reviewed 11/20/2020
by Chad
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Amazing tires for all-purpose use on a gravel bike

I love these tires. I live in NYC but frequent gravel and just about anything in between (and there's lots of glass around here), so the Ventures are a great bet for all-purpose use. I was rolling Byways before, and while they certainly have less rolling-resistance, they did not last as long as I liked and were more susceptible to glass/etc.

The Venture 47c's are my new go-to on the gravel bike. I even picked up a large screw on a trail in the rear tire previously, and minus a little Co2 help, finished another 10+ miles of mixed gravel trail with ease...and then rode with the screw in/tire holding air for a week until my replacement tire came. I ride these tires pretty hard (trusting that extra tread) and they've been nothing but great.

If I have one "FYI"/complaint, it's that the actual tire is 44c (as stamped on sidewall) but they are noted as 47c on tire label. My best guess is because this is inclusive of the tread. Not a big deal to me, but worth noting if you're particular on this.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by [email protected]

Reviewed 2/26/2020
Daily Commuter
Carnford, NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Very good on Gavel and road

i got the WTB Venture Gravel Tires for racing and so far it has performed very well. i run them at 30 PSI and still no issues. I like the sidewalls since it give the tires a good look. I also like the road feeling when I use them for my commute when roads are nasty.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by IdahoSam

Reviewed 3/7/2022
by IdahoSam
Cycling Enthusiast
North Idaho
Value Rating
Overall Rating
good for mixed surfaces but prone to punctures and hard to plug afterwords

I used this tire for many thousands of miles over pavement, dirt, gravel and some single-track. Works great as a mixed-surface tire but very prone to punctures and not seal-able for tubeless with plugs and/or sealant after a puncture. I have since swapped these out for Schwalbe Marathon Mondial and Teravail Cannonball tires on my 2 all-road bikes.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Msstatevet

Reviewed 8/1/2019
by Msstatevet
Mississippi
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Trouble running tubeless

I was looking forward to running tubeless with my new Cannondale Slate that came tubeless ready. This tire was recommended to me as a good replacement for the slick tire that came with the bike since I wanted to ride gravel not asphalt. The front tire had a pin point hole in the sidewalk which was immediately replaced by BikeTiresDirect. That tire is great! It holds airlines like a tubed tire. The rear tire wont hold air for 3 days, and often looses air on a ride. I called the guys at BikeTiresDirect and was told it wasnt the tire but either the rim tape or valve. I have checked all that and still no improvement. I believe they have a quality control issue with the WTB Tires. Ive had 3 tires with 3 dramatically different results. I finally put a tube in the rear tire. I really like the tire for gravel riding, just disappointed in not being able to run tubeless especially with an expensive tire.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ted

Reviewed 6/24/2019
by Ted
Fairbanks, AK
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome Tire - highly recommend

Bought these for my surly midnight special. The has great rolling efficiency for both dirt road and city riding. This is my go to tire now.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by FlashBazbo

Reviewed 4/19/2019
by FlashBazbo
Competitive Racer
Middle Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
These tires DO NOT measure up! The sidewall imprint says they are 44mm, and they are.

I know they are sold as 47mm tires. I know the packaging says they are 47mm tires. But the carcass imprint says these are manufactured as 44mm tires - and that's what they are. 44mm wide, even on a wide rim. THESE TIRES ARE NOT 47mm wide. These tires get great reviews. I bought them on short notice for my A gravel race of the year. But, if anything, I wanted more than 47mm. I couldn't be more disappointed.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by LoRider

Reviewed 9/10/2020
by LoRider
Boulder, CO
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great gravel tire

Corners well. Good center line for hard pack or asphalt. Good grip on gnarlier gravel. For now, they�re my favorite tire. WTB always makes great gravel tires!

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]