Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Vittoria Air-Liner Tubeless Road Kit

VittoriaAir-Liner Tubeless Road Kit(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(10 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(6)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(2)
(60%)
(20%)
(0%)
(0%)
(20%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Furious Filipino

Reviewed 1/29/2024
by Furious Filipino
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Difficult Installation Is User Error

Full Disclosure, I am a former professional bicycle mechanic. During peak season in Northern California where people run over "goat head" thorns, it's not uncommon for me to have changed 20 sets (i.e. 40) of tires in a given 8 hour shift--5 days a week for the 2-3 months of the year. It's fair to say I've changed more than my fair share of tires.

I would venture to guess that the people that complain or comment about the difficulty to install tire may not know about tire/wheel geometry in general--the central channel in the wheel is many millimeters, as much as 20-30mm in some cases SMALLER than the bead diameter of the tire designed to install on the wheel. The "trick" is to drive both sides of the bead toward the central channel of the wheel and you will virtually need no tools for any tire install.

On DT Swiss wheels, I was able to install these with the given tools, but I've had certain wheel/tire combinations that were WAY more difficult to install than this (e.g. WTB mtb wheels to WTB mtb tires) without the insert.

In terms of performance, I've run 33mm cyclocross tires with these down to 25 psi and while I previously would have bottomed out the rim 3-4x a lap and could feel the abrupt "clunk" of the wheel to the root or obstacle, I can run the same pressure and only clunk the wheel on a badly mis-timed bunnyhop over a curb or barrier.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by N Virginia Rider

Reviewed 11/18/2023
by N Virginia Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Centreville, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Horrible - avoid!

This is a great idea but absolutely imposwsible to install - trying to out on a Vittoria Corsa Pro and I have shattered 3 three of the anti-slip tools, the provided tire iron installer tool, and a Pedro's platic tire iron, I still don't have the tire on and I'm unsure if I can ever get it on. This is impossible to install and has been breaking everything I have - - I can't imagine how these would be to eventually get off, either. Look, the idea is superb, but unless you have better luck or a shop, I'd look for a differrent solution.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by C Martin

Reviewed 8/26/2023
by C Martin
Jupiter, FL
Overall Rating
Recumbent Hi-racer must have!

Two-wheel recumbent riders all know that balancing requires positive steering control. If you flat a front tire with any speed...the rim will skate across the asphalt and you'll be splat in under a second. I quit riding my recumbent when I went on heart meds...as I didn't want to deal with that level of wound management. Then I saw a video by GCN on run flat tech...which detailed the Vittoria Air-Liner. Eureka!

Installation was easy...using the included tool along with a good set of tire levers.

I now have the right equipment to get back on my recumbent...knowing that I will be able to control the bike if I get a flat...and even run flat back to the trailhead, if needed. I used Vittoria Rubino Pro 700c-25mm tires for my installation.

Thank you Vittoria and Bike Tires Direct!!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/10/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Difficult to install but worth it in the end for peace of mind

Looking at installation videos is a must. After using soap on the beads of the tires I was finally able to install. Using the clips was also necessary just make sure you tip the clips parallel to the spokes which pushes the tire in closer to the center of the rim. I first attempted to install these with 23mm tires. After a mighty struggle I was able to get them installed only to find that the included valves did not seal against the rim. Switched to different rims and 25mm tires and was successful. Running lower tire pressures on a road bike was worth the hassle. 25mm feel like 28mm on a bike that wouldn�t fit 28mm.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MIke

Reviewed 4/8/2022
by MIke
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
All the confidence you need to just go for it

There are videos, and instructions on how to install these inserts. I would suggest that you watch the video, and plan a few hours of being patient. But all the work to install these inserts is worth it! I love the confidence that you get from knowing that a sudden puncture is not going to cause you to lose control, or cause the tire to come off of the wheel. I have ridden on these inserts after losing air, and the sealant not working, and it is not ideal, but it will get you home. I use them on my main training bike, (30mm tires) and never worry about getting stranded out. I have also them in my mountain bike, and will add them to my gravel bike this spring. The valves that come with them are important to use, as they allow air in to the tire from the side. Other valves only allow air in from the end, which will initially be be blocked by the insert. I am talking about the kit. If you by the insert alone, then you need to find a valve that will work, and I feel like the only issue is with road tires, not with fat gravel or mountain bike tires.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/5/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Don't do it!!!

Believe all of the horror stories, these things are practically impossible to install. Really not worth it in most cases. Only if you want a few miles of run-flat capability for some reason. I can't see them being useful in a race (limited speed, miles, and it may ruin the tire).

I use them on my race-commute bike and plan to ride them to work (12 miles at the furthest) if I have a flat that won't re-inflate.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/28/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
East Bay Area CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
So Far So Good

I haven't had a flat so I can't really tell you if it works. But I have a few hundred miles in with no issues to date. It does add some weight but I'm a competitive cyclist, so I don't mind.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/29/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
East Bay Area, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
So far so good.

No flats yet so I cant tell you if it works. but so far ride is smooth.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by telemark skier

Reviewed 10/3/2022
by telemark skier
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
So glad I went tubeless on my road bike... Airliners are great in this setup

Overall I really like the air-liner on my road bike. on the road bike it is primarily for safety so that if a tire tears and the sealant can't fix it, I don't get stuck or lose control (hopefully). These were really challenging to put on. Don't bother taking a spare inner tube because you won't get the tire off in a reasonable way without the included tool. they only add a few grams of weight but are worth the extra $ and grams because of the margin of safety they add.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by AHarmon

Reviewed 6/22/2022
by AHarmon
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Minnesota
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Ignore Most of What You Read on the Internet

Ignore the horror stories you will find elsewhere on the internet about impossible installation and damaged wheels. I've had standard clinchers that were harder to install. I installed the liners in 32 mm tires by just breaking the seal on one bead...didn't even lose the sealant that was already in the tire. Use the spacers that come with the kit to hold the bead in the valley of the rim while you re-install the tire then inflate. Inserts make popping the bead in place and inflating easier than ever!

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]