FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Veloflex Master Clincher Road Tire

VeloflexMaster Clincher Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(56 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(40)
(10)
(2)
(1)
(3)
(71%)
(18%)
(4%)
(2%)
(5%)
Reviewed 2/25/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SoCal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Gum walls awesomeness

Long time Continental user, tried this because of the look of gum sidewalls. This tires are awesome, they dont only look bad ass but also the ride and cornering qualities are excellent. Got it on sale at BTD which is the icing on the cake.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/26/2018
by bill
Cycling Enthusiast
archer fl.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
the best tire i have ever used,

I use these tires on all four of my vintage steel road bikes. they roll and handle great and after a year, I can't say anything bad about them. I have not had a single flat. I average 30 miles a day. I live in the country and the trails around here sometimes have a lot of debris from the surrounding woods especially after storms. I preveously used conti 4000 lls and had trouble with just about every one. namely flats and the long sidewall threads that always came off.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/17/2017
by Dwight
Competitive Racer
Rochester ,NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire for the money!

This is really a good tire. My ONLY issue is that it is a royal pain to get on my rims. I have carbon Bontrager Aeolus 3 Clinchers. On my other rims that are NOT carbon they go on much better. I bought a tool to help get them on. The tire is great mounting is rough. BUT i don't let that stop me from buying them..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/11/2017
by Mike
Casual Cyclist
la canada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
good tire...good price

Bought two of these tires in red. Been riding them for a few weeks now and all seem good right now.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/23/2017
by walt
Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Tremendous value.

I've tried other tires along the way, but the Veloflex is hard to top. A Fast tire and a soft ride with the psi not too high.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/16/2017
by Patrick W.
Houston Tx.
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Veloflex Master Clincher Very fast

Very fast and light weight, good training tire and great racing tire,100 psi, on a Fuji

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/16/2017
by Patrick W.
Houston Tx.
Overall Rating
Veloflex Master Clincher Very fast

Very fast and light weight, good training tire and great racing tire,100 psi, on a Fuji

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/30/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Hong Kong
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Feel. durability, and looks all amazingly good

Love the feel of Veloflex clinchers - miles better that the Contis I used to use.

Have had only a couple of punctures on these over the last three years, so generally just use and forget.

And love the gum side-walls! Retro cool, or makes them look like tubs.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/1/2016
by XCARRINGTONX
Cycling Enthusiast
Tehachapi, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Amazing tires! But... they run narrow and don't have a great lifespan.

Yes, I love these tires. Super fast, plush and grippy. And did I mention how good they look! Kept track of mileage when I installed these and we're looking at 1000miles and it's time to change the rear. In that 1000miles I've climbed 80k feet so that definitely doesn't help. Front is still in perfect condition. If I had to guess... we're looking at 3 rears for 1 front. So far, one flat on the rear. No biggie though, it happens. Tires do run narrow. With the 25s mounted on my DuraAce C24s I took a measurement of 23.6mm.

Prior to running these, I've always run Contis. Conti GP 4000s II 23s most of the year and Conti 4Season 25s in the winter. Hands down, the Veloflex is better. Not that the Contis are in anyway a bad tire, its just that the Veloflex is a truly wonderful ride. Magical if you will. Unicorns, rainbows... all that stuff. So do yourself a favor and grab some of these!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/3/2016
by Flatlander
Cycling Enthusiast
Rochester, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Narrower than marked width

Been rolling on Vittoria Open Corsa Evo SC 25s for the past year and love them. Since they cannot be got now for a fair price, I thought to pick up one of these Veloflex Masters in a 25 to replace a worn Corsa. Just put it on the rim and I am disappointed to note that this 25mm tire (as marked) is only (barely) 23mm wide, a quite obvious difference from my Corsas, which are quite definitely 25s, as marked and as measured on my rims.

I ride the 25s for a reason, because I like the width of the tire, not because I like the number. Could these have been mismarked at the factory? If all the Veloflex tires are like this, I would not buy them again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/8/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Fantastic ride quality, but delicate

Let me start by admitting that I am old enough to remember the ride quality of the Italian-made Vittoria CX tubulars of the yester-years. The ONLY tires that were even better were the ultra-expensive silk tubulars. While these Veloflex Master tires are not quite that good, they are VERY good. I install them with latex inner tubes (Vredestein) and the performance is just about as good as any currently available clincher tires one can get. I have tried Michelin, Challenge, and Continental tires and none of them have the fast feel of these. The Thai made Vittorias get close, but their casing is not as consistently even as the Veloflex tires. There are couple of caveats to these tires, however. First, they are initially very tight fitting, making the first-time installation a test in patience. Second, their exposed sidewalls are delicate.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2015
by OutRun
Competitive Racer
Houston, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire and great price point.

I can't say enough about this tire. Its simply great and even better if you find it at a discounted price like what I paid. The tire is super soft which allows for a supple smooth ride (25mm). I would recommend it for racing only considering that is 320 TPI. But I have been riding them as my training and racing tire (to check longevity) and its doing just fine. Its a great tire all around.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/21/2015
by Steve Young
Cycling Enthusiast
Honolulu, HI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Probably the best tire I've ridden in my life!

I bought the 700x25 black clinchers. Coming from riding Continental 4000's 700x23, the Veloflex was definitely a huge upgrade. Yes, they are somewhat challenging to mount. Just remember to roll the tires on with your fingers. Don't use tire levers and try to pry them on. Roll it...and it'll go on quit easy.

The ride...wow. I'm not sure if it's the fact that I switched from 23's to 25's, but this tire rolls. And it seems to really accelerate in the corners. On my ride today I averaged about 31 mph on a straights that I usually hit 27 on. The tire rolls.... I'm just floored. Can't wait till they start making all the colors in 700x25's.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/19/2015
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Ontario, Canada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great Race Tire

I love these tires. I use them for racing only so cannot comment on durability for training (which I suspect is not that good). They are soooo supple and grip well. Paired with latex tubes, they are fantastic tires for crits or other types of racing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/23/2015
by Anonymous
Oakland, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
good value for race tires

Lively ride. No durability issues after about three months of use. A bit difficult to mount, but overall they are very good tires for the price

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/20/2017
by javahound
Cycling Enthusiast
Mountain View, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Gum sidewalls are always the vogue!

It's been a few years since I've ridden Veloflex tires, I forgot how supple the ride is on these tires. I don't know, maybe it's just the fact that they have gum sidewalls and that makes me nostalgic and enjoy the ride more? There are so many things that effect the ride so I'm always dubious of how much the tires attribute to road feel, but having these in 25mm with 90psi gives me confidence in descending.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/25/2014
by bicyclejersey
Cycling Enthusiast
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
great color options

We make custom cycling apparel and often are asked for items to compliment their gear. One of the first items we recommend are the Veloflex Master Clinchers as they have a great color range and are fantastic set to boot, very responsive and grip well. You cat go wrong with these httpwww.jeksports.com

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/18/2014
by  Matt M
Cycling Enthusiast
Thousand Oaks, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
A tire that makes a great bike even better

I have to confess that I originally bought these tires purely because I thought they'd look so pretty on my Pinarello bike. After mounting them up (which required a little more care and effort that the Continentals I'd been riding) I was surprised and delighted by the noticeable improvement in ride quality with my HED aluminum climbing wheels. I do worry a little that the Veloflex Masters might be a little more susceptible to flats - not for any good reason other than that they just feel thinner and more compliant than the Contis - but so far only one flat that would likely have happened with any tire. That they're hand-built in a small shop gives them a little extra appeal, too. I'm very pleased with my Veloflex tires and don't plan to change anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/31/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
East bay San Francisco area.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
comfortable and direct response,

I ride aggressively through corners and the grip and feel are very good , They seem too wear very well . The price is reasonable for a tire that works this well. My other bike I ride sewups and they are comparable in the feel and ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/23/2014
by Cyclist57
Cycling Enthusiast
Pompano Beach, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great Ride, BUT Flat Prone

I have two sets of rims, Easton Circuit which are my training wheels, and Rolf Vector Pros which I use for fast group rides. I use whatever reasonably priced tires I can get in red (to match my Cervelo) on the Eastons, and better tires on the Rolf's. I was intrigued by the specs on the Veloflex...handmade in Italy...320(!!!)tpi casing...gum wall sidewalls, at a reasonable price.

Couldn't wait to try them. I initially used regular butyl tubes, and decided to forego liners to really feel how they rode. Rode great! As close as I can remember to the Vittoria and Conti tubulars I used to use when racing!

However, put them on 4/5, have done approx. 1,000 miles on them, and have flatted 3 times in the rear, and once in the front. Last flat on rear was with a latex tube, and a liner.

So far it looks like that combination of a fast responsive tire that is flat-resistant is very elusive, if it exists at all. My rear tire has a multitude of cuts, that's why I put a liner in. It's a bit squared off, curious as to see how many more miles I can get.

Relevant info Ride in south Florida....good road quality, some glass (no recycling requirement for bottles?)

Rider weight 150 lbs.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.