Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Tufo Gluing Tape

TufoGluing Tape(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(104 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(83)
(16)
(0)
(1)
(4)
(80%)
(15%)
(0%)
(1%)
(4%)
Reviewed 10/17/2022
by David
Orlando
Overall Rating
If you ride tubulars, you want this product.

After years of gluing on tubular tires, I was introduced to Tufo glueing vtape. I was skeptical at first, but my buddy had been using it for several years and he had only positives to say about it. I have now been using it for 8 years and it is a great product. I will never use glue again due to the mess and the process is so time intensive.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/3/2022
by Ron
Competitive Racer
Ann Arbor
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Not what I expected.

Given all the positive reviews I decided to give this tape a try. This is a negative review, but to be fair the box says, "This gluing tape had been developed for use with TUFO tubular road tyres. If used with other tubular tyre brands the gluing tape might not function properly." I have a set of DUGAST tires and I can say that the tape did not work with those. The tape I ordered was 19mm wide, but only the layer of the tape that is applied to the rim is 19mm. The "white narrow strip with active surface" that bonds to the tire is only about half that width, which is only half the width of the cloth strip on the tire itself (my tires are a narrow 20mm track tire). The tape never achieved a safe bond with the tire. I followed the directions to the letter. The "active surface" didn't want to bond with the tire, it was easy to pull the tire off and then the tape itself was easily removed from the rim. Back to glue for me. Perhaps it works great with TUFO tires, but if you don't have TUFO tires I wouldn't risk it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/9/2017
by usmcjag
Competitive Racer
Okinawa, Japan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Quick installation...need to have the 22mm width!

I installed two Tufo Pro S33 tires yesterday on my carbon rimmed wheels in less than 30 minutes. Couldn't have been any simpler. No muss, no fuss. I have a pair of wider rims, and it was disappointing to find out the Tufo tape comes in two varieties depending on the width of your rims. While I think I will be fine having used the 19mm width on my wheels, there will always be a part of me that thinks I would be better off with the 22mm width. BTD, you need to do a better job of letting us know the wider version exists and is available for purchase.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
Thanks for the review and your input. We'll get that description updated to better explain what is available. Enjoy the ride!
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/12/2021
by Seattle Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Easy Peasy

This is so much easier and cleaner than gluing. If you're going to go with tubulars, gluing tape is a must. It's so easy, just peel the inner layer as you work your way around the rim, then poke a hole for the valve stem. Mount the partially inflated tire - the outer layer of plastic film makes proper tire mounting a cake walk. Peel off the outer layer from under the tire and viola, you're done. It is also much easier to remove the tape from the rim than to remove old glue should you want to start with a clean rim.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/7/2014
by John L
Competitive Racer
SF Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
major time saver

Using Tufo Gluing Tape is a major time saver, and works well. I've used this tape on many different mfg tubular tire without any issue on both my CritRoad Racing wheels, and track wheels.

I apply a thin layer of glue on my carbon wheels (let dry) prior to installing the tape. This makes it easier to remove the tape from rim..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/4/2014
by ss
Cycling Enthusiast
East bay area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
22 of 22 customers found this review helpful.
Read if you are new to tubular, My comment will help you. Awesome product.

Another seller by mistake shipped me a set of tubular wheel instead of clincher. I dealt with that seller and decided to use them.

Yes I had fear of getting flat on the road and also fear of improper gluing/mounting tire techniques which seems like so time consuming with glue.

I tried my best to educate myself about how to use tubular wheels by searching and reading on internet. I learned alot.

This product is very easy to use. watch youtube videos and learn how to use it and you are good to go. Here are some of the answeres to your questions...

FYI I bought Tufo S33 tubular tires to be more compatible with Tufo tapes.

-Is it reliable on turns?

The glue sticks very well. So sticky that I don't feel it fails in fast turns.

Ask someone with more experince especially in hot weather. To me it is reliable.

-How fast is it ready to ride on?

I think as soon as you mount and pump the tire. but I did it the night before I go for ride.

-Flat on the road

If the sealant doesn't work or you decide to change the tire on the road, you can mount your prestreched(I don't preglue) new tire on the same tape on the road (avoid dirt) there is enough left over glue on the tape (both sides, wheel side of the tape and tire side of the tape) to hold the new tire in place and get you home. No fast turns though.

When you get home I recommend to peel off the old tape and use a new tape.

Although you can change the tape on the road, I don't recommend it because of dirt.

-Is it hard to peel off the tape from the wheel?

Not that hard to peel off. In my experience the whole tape came off and didn't leave pieces on the wheel. prepare the wheel for next tape with Acetone and smooth sand paper. Not too much wrok (1-2 minute).

I am satisfied with this product because as lazy as I am, I didn't have to deal with hassle of gluing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/2/2021
by Aimee
Portland
Overall Rating
Beats glue

This stuff makes it so much easier to mount up tubies. Been using Tufo tape for years and have never rolled a tire off the rim. The only thing that sucks about it is that its a mother f**ker to get off the rim.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/27/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
much better than glue.

I used to glue my tubulars but this works really well. It simplifies the installation because you can get the tire in place before removing the film that covers the adhesive. Removal is still difficult - which is good - but the cleanup is simpler than with glue.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2018
by LDinSLC
Competitive Racer
Salt Lake City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Greatest invention since toast

I never glue anymore, I've never had any issues with this stuff as long as I'm careful to remove the old tape, and do a decent cleanup. I've ridden on this pretty hard over long distances, never had any issues at all. I mostly use it on Continental tires, the backer is pretty course but again no issues...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/3/2017
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Long Beach, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great, easy to use product.

Great, easy to use product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/22/2017
by WETRI
Competitive Racer
Houston
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Huge improvement over old-style glue no mess, and tire can be positioned perfectly prior to 'committing' to glue.

It's nearly impossible to center a tubular tire on the wheel using glue, resulting in a wobble and a sticky mess. The tape is easy to apply, clean, and allows for perfect seating of the tire. Only then the 2nd protective film is removed from the sticky tape, and voil - a perfectly mounted tire. Don't forget to take it for a very short ride right afterwards to cement the tire in place!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/9/2017
by KWebb
Cycling Enthusiast
Marin County, north of SF
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Quick, Easy, Reliable

I ride Continental Competitions at 155lbs on Campy Shamal Ultra II's. It takes about 2 hours to change tires but heck of a lot easier and quicker than gluing. Most of that 2 hours is cleaning the wheel. I pull the old tire off. Let the wheel sit in the sun for a little while (depends on how much other stuff I have to do but hour). Then carefully peel away the old tape. Usually comes off pretty clean. The I wrap twine around a couple of time and tie-off followed by a generous coating of glue gone. Let that sit for 15-20 mins then take a plastic tire iron and scrape-off. 99.5% of the old glue comes-off quickly followed by touch-up in a few places. Next I spray the wheel with a little contact cleaner to make sure no residue, then lay-on new tape. Mount the tire and let sit overnight. I ride the curvy hills north of SF and confidently ride 35-43 mph on the downhills (Big Rock and SFD past Fairfax). Never a problem!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/30/2016
by Mark
Cycling Enthusiast
Silverthorne, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Easy peasey

Wow! Can't believe how easy this was to install! We'll see if it keeps the tire on the rim and how easy it is to remove and put on another tire. Decided to go with this after reading numerous horror stories about glue....why spend over a day waiting for layers and layers of glue to dry when this tape takes 2 minutes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2015
by irace1
Cycling Enthusiast
Cali
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
The best solution!

I've used Tufo tape exclusively for the last 10 years. It has worked flawlessly. My rides include mountain descents around the Norcal Sierras and I have never had an issue. I live in California where the temps in the summer can be in the triple digits and get down to in the 40s in the winter. Still no issues. I've even removed a tire after a flat, stuck a new one on the old tape to get home and forgotten to replace with new tape for about it for a month and it worked fine then as well!

I carry a plastic tire tool to help pry the tire off if I were to have a flat as it sticks really well. However, running Tufo tires with an application of Stan's have virtually eliminated flats for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/17/2020
by triwaldaus
Competitive Racer
Houston, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Easy to apply - no mess - bonds instantly

No reason to use messy, sticky tubular glue ever again - the Tufo tape goes on easily (follow clear instructions), the tire can be positioned perfectly, and once the protective film has been removed (and the bike has been ridden for just a few yards) the tape bonds instantly. All without glue all over the rim and your hands. And removing the tape when putting on a new tire is just as easy and clean - no more scraping off dried glue, possibly damaging the rim.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/16/2015
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Tufo Tape

Devoted tubular user for racing - decided to try the tape after using glue for 25 years. This stuff works, but it works too damn well. It took me forever to get the dang tire off of the rim when I went to change it. I've never had so much trouble in my life getting a tire off. This stuff would be a total disaster if I flatted on it during a triathlon. I'll never use it again - it's back to old school glue for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/8/2019
by middle age triathlete
Competitive Racer
oklahoma
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
recommend this if you're a DIY guy and don't like the mess of glue

I've never glued any of my tubulars, used this tape for tubulars wheelstires for 7 years and I like it. It's very strong, easy to apply, and never had any trouble with tires rolling off the rim. My only complaint is when it's time to change tires and apply new tape, the old adhesive is VERY difficult to remove. Acetone doesn't work.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/16/2015
by angusslapout
Cycling Enthusiast
montgomery, AL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Tape is the way to go!!!

Tufo Tape is great. Easy to use and works great and a lot easier to use when putting tubular on.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/5/2019
by Pauliemon
Sacramento, Ca.
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Sticky stuff!

Much easier then glue and not as messy. Unfortunately I had to remove a tire to true the wheel. Anybody worried tape is not as strong as glue, I can tell you don't worry. It was a job to get that tire off.

.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/29/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent

Incredible invention that revolutionized how I use tires and wheelsets.

Will never go back to clinchers and their countless pinch flats. I have been using exclusively tubular tires in the last two years and the tape is the only way to do it. Will never use the messy glue or the annoying clinchers, plus tubulars just ride so much better.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 86

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]