FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Tufo Gluing Tape

TufoGluing Tape(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(86 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(68)
(14)
(0)
(1)
(3)
(79%)
(16%)
(0%)
(1%)
(3%)
Reviewed 5/9/2017
by usmcjag
Competitive Racer
Okinawa, Japan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Quick installation...need to have the 22mm width!

I installed two Tufo Pro S33 tires yesterday on my carbon rimmed wheels in less than 30 minutes. Couldn't have been any simpler. No muss, no fuss. I have a pair of wider rims, and it was disappointing to find out the Tufo tape comes in two varieties depending on the width of your rims. While I think I will be fine having used the 19mm width on my wheels, there will always be a part of me that thinks I would be better off with the 22mm width. BTD, you need to do a better job of letting us know the wider version exists and is available for purchase.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
Thanks for the review and your input. We'll get that description updated to better explain what is available. Enjoy the ride!
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2018
by jggarrid
Cycling Enthusiast
Mexico, City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great product and easy to use it!

Tufo gluing tape is the easy way to repleace your tubular tires! In the new world of chincher tires the lovers of old school of tubular tires, tufo gluing tape give you a chance to replace any tubular tire easy, clean and fast.

thanks and enjoy your rides!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/3/2017
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Long Beach, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great, easy to use product.

Great, easy to use product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/22/2017
by WETRI
Competitive Racer
Houston
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Huge improvement over old-style glue no mess, and tire can be positioned perfectly prior to 'committing' to glue.

It's nearly impossible to center a tubular tire on the wheel using glue, resulting in a wobble and a sticky mess. The tape is easy to apply, clean, and allows for perfect seating of the tire. Only then the 2nd protective film is removed from the sticky tape, and voil - a perfectly mounted tire. Don't forget to take it for a very short ride right afterwards to cement the tire in place!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/7/2014
by John L
Competitive Racer
SF Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
major time saver

Using Tufo Gluing Tape is a major time saver, and works well. I've used this tape on many different mfg tubular tire without any issue on both my CritRoad Racing wheels, and track wheels.

I apply a thin layer of glue on my carbon wheels (let dry) prior to installing the tape. This makes it easier to remove the tape from rim..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/4/2014
by ss
Cycling Enthusiast
East bay area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
16 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Read if you are new to tubular, My comment will help you. Awesome product.

Another seller by mistake shipped me a set of tubular wheel instead of clincher. I dealt with that seller and decided to use them.

Yes I had fear of getting flat on the road and also fear of improper gluing/mounting tire techniques which seems like so time consuming with glue.

I tried my best to educate myself about how to use tubular wheels by searching and reading on internet. I learned alot.

This product is very easy to use. watch youtube videos and learn how to use it and you are good to go. Here are some of the answeres to your questions...

FYI I bought Tufo S33 tubular tires to be more compatible with Tufo tapes.

-Is it reliable on turns?

The glue sticks very well. So sticky that I don't feel it fails in fast turns.

Ask someone with more experince especially in hot weather. To me it is reliable.

-How fast is it ready to ride on?

I think as soon as you mount and pump the tire. but I did it the night before I go for ride.

-Flat on the road

If the sealant doesn't work or you decide to change the tire on the road, you can mount your prestreched(I don't preglue) new tire on the same tape on the road (avoid dirt) there is enough left over glue on the tape (both sides, wheel side of the tape and tire side of the tape) to hold the new tire in place and get you home. No fast turns though.

When you get home I recommend to peel off the old tape and use a new tape.

Although you can change the tape on the road, I don't recommend it because of dirt.

-Is it hard to peel off the tape from the wheel?

Not that hard to peel off. In my experience the whole tape came off and didn't leave pieces on the wheel. prepare the wheel for next tape with Acetone and smooth sand paper. Not too much wrok (1-2 minute).

I am satisfied with this product because as lazy as I am, I didn't have to deal with hassle of gluing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/9/2017
by KWebb
Cycling Enthusiast
Marin County, north of SF
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Quick, Easy, Reliable

I ride Continental Competitions at 155lbs on Campy Shamal Ultra II's. It takes about 2 hours to change tires but heck of a lot easier and quicker than gluing. Most of that 2 hours is cleaning the wheel. I pull the old tire off. Let the wheel sit in the sun for a little while (depends on how much other stuff I have to do but hour). Then carefully peel away the old tape. Usually comes off pretty clean. The I wrap twine around a couple of time and tie-off followed by a generous coating of glue gone. Let that sit for 15-20 mins then take a plastic tire iron and scrape-off. 99.5% of the old glue comes-off quickly followed by touch-up in a few places. Next I spray the wheel with a little contact cleaner to make sure no residue, then lay-on new tape. Mount the tire and let sit overnight. I ride the curvy hills north of SF and confidently ride 35-43 mph on the downhills (Big Rock and SFD past Fairfax). Never a problem!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/16/2017
by JMlonggame
Cycling Enthusiast
GTA Canada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
So much better than glue.

I've glued about 12 tubulars with this tape. It goes on pretty tidy and I feel confident in the hold it provides. Worth spending some time on Youtube to get the tips and tricks of application. I'm never using glue on road tubulars again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/30/2016
by Mark
Cycling Enthusiast
Silverthorne, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Easy peasey

Wow! Can't believe how easy this was to install! We'll see if it keeps the tire on the rim and how easy it is to remove and put on another tire. Decided to go with this after reading numerous horror stories about glue....why spend over a day waiting for layers and layers of glue to dry when this tape takes 2 minutes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/25/2017
by Gutter Boy
Cycling Enthusiast
Reading, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Makes the Install easier

This tape makes the install of tubulars a snap - occasionally have an issue with the plastic tape splitting when pulling it out of the rim during the install, but it's much easier then gluing. They make a wider version of the tape 22 versus the 19, and I wish that BTD would carry it - I usually get the 25 tires and that would be better then the 19 MM version.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/7/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Easy use

Being using this tape for a few years, so easy that I even carry one on race day.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/29/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Easy.

Simple and fast to install. No more glue mess.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2015
by irace1
Cycling Enthusiast
Cali
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The best solution!

I've used Tufo tape exclusively for the last 10 years. It has worked flawlessly. My rides include mountain descents around the Norcal Sierras and I have never had an issue. I live in California where the temps in the summer can be in the triple digits and get down to in the 40s in the winter. Still no issues. I've even removed a tire after a flat, stuck a new one on the old tape to get home and forgotten to replace with new tape for about it for a month and it worked fine then as well!

I carry a plastic tire tool to help pry the tire off if I were to have a flat as it sticks really well. However, running Tufo tires with an application of Stan's have virtually eliminated flats for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/24/2017
by Mack
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago Burbs
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good tape

This tape works very well with Tufo tires because it actually interacts with the tires backing material to enhance the bond. For tires with a cotton backing I would use glue in addition to the tape.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/16/2015
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Tufo Tape

Devoted tubular user for racing - decided to try the tape after using glue for 25 years. This stuff works, but it works too damn well. It took me forever to get the dang tire off of the rim when I went to change it. I've never had so much trouble in my life getting a tire off. This stuff would be a total disaster if I flatted on it during a triathlon. I'll never use it again - it's back to old school glue for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/24/2017
by Alan.
Overall Rating
Easy. Works great.

Decided that I should start racing road (masters cat 4) on tubulars. Mounted the tires myself. Not difficult. 200 miles since then ,racing rough roads, 40mph descents and have seen no problems. Starting to trust them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/16/2015
by angusslapout
Cycling Enthusiast
montgomery, AL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Tape is the way to go!!!

Tufo Tape is great. Easy to use and works great and a lot easier to use when putting tubular on.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/29/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent

Incredible invention that revolutionized how I use tires and wheelsets.

Will never go back to clinchers and their countless pinch flats. I have been using exclusively tubular tires in the last two years and the tape is the only way to do it. Will never use the messy glue or the annoying clinchers, plus tubulars just ride so much better.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/25/2014
by racerxjones
Competitive Racer
SLC UT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The only way to put on a tubular....

Glue tape done right is easy, faster and safer. I wouldn't be using tubulars if I had to glue the old way. I can change a tubular in under an hour. Where the old way would take a day or two.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2014
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Worked Great for Muddy CX Racing

five star overall bc it took very little effort to mount tires, then no problems for 11 muddy races last season, 5 star value because when you compare to gluing, less than ten bucks is a good deal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.