FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Tufo Extreme Tire Sealant

TufoExtreme Tire Sealant(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(22 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(14)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(4)
(64%)
(14%)
(5%)
(0%)
(18%)
Reviewed 7/3/2017
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Long Beach, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great, easy to use product.

Great, easy to use product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/30/2014
by robert suhay
Casual Cyclist
Norfolk, Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Reliable, durable puncture sealant for tubular tires

I love my tubular tires (I generally ride Tufo general-purpose road tires) but I hate getting punctures - a common experience on the torn-up, pothole-laced, debris-ridden streets of Norfolk, Virginia. I get quite a few nicks from discarded metal and fasteners that wind up on the streets, or unfinished bits of metal and concrete on the road surface. Tufo extreme sealant quickly and reliably seals these punctures. The product is easy to use - just pour it in and you are ready to go in an instant. The repairs made with this product last many, many months. (I commute by bicycle to work every day. I generally cover about 10 miles per day communiting and do another 20 or so a week for recreation.) I have repaired multiple punctures in the same tire with this sealant. Given the cost of a new set of tires, this tire-saver is a cost effective solution. I probably would have given up my tubulars if I didn't have such a ready solution to flats. I highly recommend this product.

But, hey, Tufo, if it saves you and me money, I have never once used the attached valve tool.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/30/2016
by Motorad666
Competitive Racer
Park City, UT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The best sealant for Tufo and Clement tubulars.

Whenever I set up a fresh set of Clement PDX, MXP, etc tubulars, I use Tufo extreme sealant. Other sealants will dry out and leave Stanimals inside your tire, but Tufo extreme seems to stay liquid longer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/27/2015
by Seth in Tampa
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A solid mass of coagulated rubber

I've foolishly bought the extreme sealant 4 times. Each time it turns solid, even if unopened.. Yesterday, I flatted on a very small stone. The unopened sealant was coagulated, but I was able to squeeze a little in the tire. It held about 15-20 psi. Had to call for a rescue car. The white Tufo sealant is much more dependable. Don't waste your money. Pre-seal your tubulars with Green Slime (yes, it works well) or the white Tufo sealant.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/31/2015
by creacom
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
solid when opened.

I had a flat after having this bottle for a few months but it was solid. Two lessons learned (1) check the bottle to make sure it is not solid before heading out for a 6-hour ride, and (2) don't buy this sealant again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/7/2014
by John L
Competitive Racer
SF Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
It failed me...

I wish I could give this product a positive review, but unfortunately I can't. I purchase a bottle and stuck in my saddle bag. A month later I got a flat, and figured I would give this stuff a try, but the liquid in the bottle was solid as a brick. This was a unopened factory sealed bottle.

Worse part of this experience was I had to call my ex-wife to give me a ride home.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments

Hi John,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear the Sealant failed you. If the sealant ever arrives to you solid and cannot be shaken to the liquid form we would be happy to take that back. You can get in touch with our customer service department at [email protected] with any questions!

Thanks, Anna

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/23/2014
by Anonymous
Okinawa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Poor product

The bottle I received hardend with in one month. I am sure it works grate, but if it will not last a month it is not worth it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/10/2013
by Mulerider
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
excellent, saved a tire for me!

Had 200 miles on a Tufo s23 tubular when I got a puncture. Applied this product, and am back on the road!

Thanks

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/9/2013
by DeRosaBoraRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Minnesota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
To prevent solidification in bottle

To prevent premature sealant solidification in the bottle simply squeeze all the air out of the bottle before replacing the cap.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/30/2013
by bikechefgr
Cycling Enthusiast
los altos,ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
This stuff works so well I reordered it 2 times for other tires

I used the extreme sealant after trying the other guy's stuff and found it really worked on the large gashes I got in my cx tufo tires. I holds in normal cx conditions but gave out at 65 psi on the road.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2012
by NYCLee
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, New York
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Don't throw that tire out just yet!!!!

With the price of some tubulars reaching in upwards of $100.00 investing in a bottle of this sealant is a win win for anyone. You might just save that very expensive tire it takes minutes to fix a tire! I've fixed three tires this season. Oh yeah and I did it while on a ride. In a few minutes I was back on the road. If you ride tubulars your doing yourself an injustice not trying this.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/23/2012
by roadbike1020
Cycling Enthusiast
Mt Carme,IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
easy

Keep a spare in my pocket.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/30/2011
by LA Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Good stuff, but some problems with shelf-life

Pros Fast acting. Heavier solids work effectively against larger holes. Holds higher pressure. Included valve tool is wonderful.

Cons Solidifies in bottle over time, and no indication of shelf lifeexpirationuse by date is given on the bottle. Nozzle prone to clogs after use. Long bottle awkward fit for shorter seat bags. Will damage the finish of wooden floors.

I usually ride Tufo S33 Specials at 120 psi. They've been great, so great that when I finally did get a flat, most of the sealant (which I bought 6 months previously) had solidified inside the tube. There was still enough to do an effective job - thanks, Tufo - and the tire's still holding 120 psi after another 250 miles.

Exposure to air will solidify this stuff pretty quickly. While repairing on the road, I injected some, set the bottle aside, and inflated the tire. When I found I needed a little bit more, the stuff still inside the nozzle had solidified. Fortunately, the wire used to tie the valve tool to the bottle came in handy at reaming the nozzle out.

So I like this product, but I'd like it more if there were some sort of expiration date, which is the reason for the two stars' value rating. My next tube I'll probably seal in a zip-lock bag to add another layer of protection.

Finally, be careful of spilling this stuff on hardwood floors. If so, clean the floor immediately. Should you keep your bike indoors, put some sort of drop cloth under the repaired tire. I spilled some on a hardwood floor, found it soon afterwards, and it had already stripped the finish. That's my fault, not Tufo's, but worth knowing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/24/2010
by DallasTXBiker
Competitive Racer
Dallas, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Works as advertised

I just got a glass puncture today on my Conti Competition 700x23 (rear) and this stuff sealed the hole nicely. It squirted out a bit during inflation (as expected) and subsequent spinning of the tire but eventually held and I was able to continue my ride. I had 50 miles left and had only brought one CO2 cartridge but that and this sealant were enough to save the ride and apparently the tire. I won't race on it with this sealant in it but I will certainly continue to train on it as long as the tread allows.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2010
by Mike
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Saved many a tire for me

I switched from clinchers to tubulars several years ago after trying a friends tubular wheels and loving the ride quality and performance. I was starting to get a little frustrated throwing out good tires because of small shards of glass, wires, and thorns, until I discovered Tufo sealant. In the past two years, I've only had three flats that required a tire replacement and these were all from major cuts and punctures.

If its a larger than normal hole, I inflate the tire to about 60psi for a few minutes to let the sealant set a little, then fill the rest of the way. I generally run my tubulars at around 110psi which I think provides the best compromise between rolling resistance, traction and ride quality.

These days, I don't leave on a ride without a bottle of this sealant.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/10/2009
by jayb63
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
This stuff really works.

This stuff really works. I really didn't expect it to work as well as it did but it easily fixed two tires that I thought I was going to have to un-stich and patch. I really plan to buy some more.

Thanks

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/30/2015
by Crankin
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Works almost every time

I've been riding tufo tubulars almost exclusively on my road bikes for the past seven years. My friends often ask my why I'm not concerned about flats and the hassle of changing tires. This product is a big part of the answer.

I don't get that many flats with tubulars in the first place (particularly the Tufo Elite Ride), but on those rare occasions when I do, a third of a bottle of this stuff squirted into the tire by removing the valve core fixes between 80 and 90 percent of the flats. And most of the time when it doesn't full seal up the leak, it will at least keep enough pressure in the tire for me to finish my ride and change the tire in the comfort of my home or hotel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/5/2017
by Brian
Cycling Enthusiast
Portlandia
Overall Rating
Not totally sold.

I bought some Tufo tubular clinchers last summer, and while the weather was nice, didn't need to use this. Once the fall got rolling and the weather changed, I had a bunch of punctures, not all of which were sealed by this stuff. And a few that were sealed later blew out while riding. I know, I know, I should have changed tires before the weather got bad, but the tires are soooooo comfortable to ride on! I'd say use it, but don't totally count on it saving you. I have my winter tires on now. I'm not sure I'll go back to the Tufo setup in the summer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/4/2016
by Don
Tucson
Overall Rating
Works great

This stuff is amazing. It's pretty rare that I get a puncture that can't be fixed with this sealant. And in most of those cases, the tire will still hold enough air to get me home.

Once the bottle is opened, the sealant tends to set pretty fast, so if you use half a bottle to fix a flat, the remaining sealant won't last more than another month or two without becoming hopelessly gummed up.

I usually bring a small finishing nail in my bag to push through the nozzle to make sure it allows the liquid to flow.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/1/2014
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
The bset sealant I ve ever used.

Its reliable. It saved my tire over 4times. Im sure there is no sealant better than this.

But If you use a latex tire, I recommend you use different sealant. It isnt made for a latex tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.