Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Teravail Washburn 700c Gravel Tire

TeravailWashburn 700c Gravel Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(13 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(2)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(54%)
(15%)
(23%)
(8%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by COciclista

Reviewed 2/24/2023
by COciclista
Cycling Enthusiast
CO Spgs
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
A versatile air-tight tire.

I put these on my wife's Specialized Vado to give her a little side tread for dirt trails and occasional snow packed trails. We haven't done any extensive tire testing with these, but she feels more confident on our dirt trails and I feel better that she has tires with some bite to them! These are 42mm tires, but measure 40mm on her wheels. Also, I set them up tubeless like everything else we have and they are very air-tight. I think they are a little heavy, but a good choice for an e-bike.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dave

Reviewed 10/22/2022
by Dave
Wyoming
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Solid Center Slick Tire

I bought the 700x42 durable casing for my all-around bike. These tires perform very well on my commute to work. I've run them on many gravel roads and even taken them on nearby mountain bike trails and they performed quite well. As others have said they can get a bit squirrelly in loose material, but so did my last set of Donnelly 700x35 center slicks. My only flat so far is from a goathead thorn. I have yet to run them in rain or snow conditions. My riding is probably 60% pavement, 30% gravel, and 10% trails. If I rode less pavement and more gravel I'd look at the Cannonball, or if I was riding more trails maybe the Rutland.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ed T

Reviewed 5/5/2022
by Ed T
Shrewsbury NJ
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Tough Tire

I have found that this tire to be one of the toughest I've ever had. I've put these tires through the wringer and have at least 1,500 miles on them and still going strong. They mount tubeless very easily with only a floor pump. If you put 60-70psi in them they roll quite fast on the smooth center, let air out to 40psi the shoulder bites gravel quite well. My only complaint is that they are heavy - but I'm not out there trying to set speed records.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Chip

Reviewed 4/24/2022
by Chip
Cycling Enthusiast
Tampa, Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Not impressed with the Washburn in comparison to the Cannonball.

I recently ordered a set of Teravail Washburn Durable to replace a set of Teravail Cannonball that I have on a Salsa Warbird. I am getting ready to take a trip to Missouri and ride the Katy Trail and in preparation because I am riding on the pavement in Florida, I thought this would be a good selection of tire and compromise of durability for road use and trail use. The tires arrived as expected and after a week or so I staled them on my warbird. The installation was tough as the tires did not go on easy and the tires or the tread on the front tire wobbled and the centerboard was off center. The rear was not quite as bad, but the tire wobbled too. I checked the rims on a truing stand and all was OK. I took the tires on and off and remounted them insuring the seating around both sides was good with spacing to the rim. Still the front was worse that the rear. I contacted BTD and they stated they would work with me if I sent pictures. So I did, only to have them want additional photos. Still no reply and been going round and round on Bulged Tires for several weeks with BTD. Save your money the tires are not what I expected and will likely have to pay for something else of better quality.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
Hi Chip, Thanks for your patience with troubleshooting the tire. Worst case scenario for an issue like this is to have you return this tire, and ship you a new one only to have the same issue, which is why we try to get some photos & videos to figure out what's going on. As our email said, we have a new tire headed your way and hopefully it will sit a little more squarely on your rim. All the best,. Ben BikeTiresDirect
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dr. Sonny

Reviewed 6/3/2021
by Dr. Sonny
Cycling Enthusiast
Memphis, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
New brand to me, but I like it

I bought these to replace the tires that came on my Specialized e-assist gravel bike, Pathfinder Pro 2Bliss Ready, Transparent Sidewall, 700x38c. During the pandemic, those tires were unavailable. These "looked" like the tires that I had, and from what I read, Washburn tires had good reviews. I must say I bought these because they were available at the time I needed them. I have put a couple of thousand miles on these and they are great. I ride more road than gravel, but for pavement riding they are very smooth and responsive. The gravel ride is not as aggressive as some, but I am not an aggressive gravel rider. They corner great. They may be wearing on the center strip a little quick, but it's still too soon to tell. I am completely satisfied with these tires and would recommend them.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BCarl

Reviewed 11/30/2020
by BCarl
Cycling Enthusiast
Quincy, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Nice rolling but very troublesome leaky tires

Tires do roll pretty nice, find them very comfortable on roads and packed gravel/dirt. Acceptable once the terrain gets loose or rocky, would not want them on long singletrack sections. They are a bit noisy for having a center slick thread. If I was doing alot of road riding to my gravel/dirt destination, would use these.

Really do not suggest these tires because BOTH were very leaky and took alot of sealant to get them from seeping from the sidewalls. Dipping them in water, you can see the air escaping from the tan sidewalls. Added more sealant, laid them on their sides for 4hrs to get all the leaks sealed. But after each ride, one of the tires continues to loose air. After 3 rides removed them and likely give them away.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Philip

Reviewed 6/26/2023
by Philip
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tires, great price, great e-tailer!

Much much cheaper than REI or other online retailers. Great product - have not ridden on serious gravel yet but they run super smooth on pavement.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ed T

Reviewed 11/11/2021
by Ed T
NJ
Overall Rating
So far so good

200 miles in and this tire has given me great first impressions. They mounted easily for tubeless with only a flour pump. Pumped up they roll very fast on pavement with the slick center. They slipped a bit on gravel till I let air out to 35-40 psi then the shoulders help firm. Would definitely recommend

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/18/2021
by Anonymous
St. Louis MO area
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Single track, Gravel, Pavement? YES!!

Great tire!! Rolls and rides well!! Tough!

Not 42 wide, measures 39.8.

Really like the tire. Disappointed in the claimed width.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/7/2021
by Anonymous
Sacramento
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Narrow and slow

They look good. They are slow on pavement. 42mm is narrower than 40mm other brands

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Scott

Reviewed 10/22/2021
by Scott
St Louis
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Not 42 wide 39.5

Tires are nice and durable but not 42 wide. I wanted to step up on width from a 40 and these are actually narrower than the 40s I had. Should have stuck with the Donnely MSO.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JS

Reviewed 2/24/2022
by JS
Cycling Enthusiast
Little Rock, AR
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Tried them because my go to Gravel Tire is unavailable

I've been using Panaracer Gravel King SKs only because I could not find SK+ available anywhere...I didn't think there would be much difference. Unfortunately the SKs kept getting lots of pin hole on the gravel I ride and even thought the sealant would fill the holes most of the time, I had one very small hole that kept opening up and oozing sealant. Friend of mine runs Specialized Pathfinder Pro tire that looks like the Washburn so I read a little bit about the Washburn and decided to try one on the back wheel where I was getting most of the leaks. I ordered the 42 but like others have said once mounted it only measures 41 and the inner width of my wheel set is 25m, so if your wheel is narrower your tire might air up a little narrower than mine does. I got the DURABLE version because of the gravel I ride. The tire is a bit heavier than the gravel king SK and definitely you can feel the beefiness of the tire (maybe the tire's only downside...but I decided I'd give up a bit of weight for a little more flat protection). It was very hard to get onto the rim (tight tolerance...at least for my wheel set) but once on it aired up without sealant with no problem. Added sealant and have not had a leak anywhere since. I have put about 200 miles on the tire and have yet to have a pinhole or leak. The tire rides well in gravel with minimal slippage despite the slick center tread (this was one thing I was concerned about and have paid close attention to). I've been surprised and happy with sealing and performance...so far.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jerry D

Reviewed 10/11/2021
by Jerry D
Cycling Enthusiast
Grand Rapids, MI
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great for all-around fast rolling gravel

I have ridden nearly every tire from Teravail. Most closely to this tire, I'd say it is somewhere in between Rampart and Cannonball. It rolls on pavement like the rampart, but corners on gravel like the cannonball. The 'best of both worlds' if you need a tire to ride lots of pavement TO the gravel, or if your gravel is basically hard packed dirt. It gets dicey with things get loose, but I attribute that more to the size rather than the tread. There's no substitution for a tire bigger than 2.0.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]