Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Teravail Honcho 29 Inch MTB Tire

TeravailHoncho 29 Inch MTB Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(15 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(11)
(2)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(73%)
(13%)
(13%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Clyde Rider

Reviewed 6/3/2020
by Clyde Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Quincy, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Very linear

One of the most linear feeling tires, it grips like it should when you need it. None of the on-off-on reactions like similar tires. Rolls pretty good for an aggressive tire. Has taken its hits on the sidewalls, been holding up great.

The goodbad is the tire size. On my 30mm inner rim, the tire actually measures larger than 2.6. On my bike that is supposed to fit 2.6 tires, tire did not fit. If you have the room for a larger tire, do it!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Grandy

Reviewed 1/31/2022
by Grandy
Cycling Enthusiast
Rural NorCal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Nice tire, but way out of spec.

Teravail Honcho 29x2.6 "Light and Supple" Mini Review:

Used as a front tire on a Ti Jones Plus LWB.

Pros:

Mounted easily (with tube), and casing tracks nice and straight,

which is rare, even on $xx-$xx tires.

After a few miles, I converted to tubeless with no issues.

Nice tread pattern, and relatively quiet on pavement.

Seems to grip well, although I'm running on a full rigid bike, so I'm not pushing it too hard in the corners.

Cons:

Really undersized.

Only measures 2.47" on the recommended i29 rim, after keeping it at 50 PSI overnight.

Still reading 2.48" after a few weeks.

925g actual weight, which is on the high end for a so-called "Light and Supple" 29x2.6 tire, especially when it's only 2.47" actual width.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Grandy

Reviewed 12/17/2021
by Grandy
Cycling Enthusiast
Rural NorCal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Nice tire, but way out of spec.

Teravail Honcho 29x2.6 "Light and Supple" Tanwall Review:

Mounted on the front of my full rigid Jones Ti 29er.

Pros:

Mounted easily (with tube), and casing tracks nice and straight,

which is rare, even on $70-90 tires.

Nice tread pattern, and relatively quiet on pavement.

Sidewalls seem to be thin enough to help with cushioning with my rigid fork, but enough coating to be more durable than many "skinwall" type of tires.

Seems to grip well, although I didn't push it with our current wet and sloppy trail conditions.

Cons:

Really undersized. Only measures 2.47" (both knobs and casing) on the recommended i29 rim, after keeping it at 50 PSI overnight. About the same undersized width as the Maxxis Ikon in their so-called 29x2.6 width.

925g actual weight, which is on the high end for a so-called "Light and Supple" 29x2.6 tire, and 30g heavier than claimed.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TP35

Reviewed 2/23/2023
by TP35
Albuquerque, Nm
Overall Rating
Great all-rounder

I�m 225#, and I destroy all things bike. I put 1900 miles of single track on this tire (as a front) and it�s still in great shape. I�ve never had an issue with it. It�s been so reliable that I stopped using maxxis rekons in the back and threw one of these on instead. They�re solid.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dave

Reviewed 10/14/2022
by Dave
Marquette, MI
Overall Rating
Great all around tire

Tire performs great on all surfaces especially sand, roots, and rocks.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JB

Reviewed 5/2/2022
by JB
Texas
Overall Rating
Head Honcho, King Dingaling!

This is my new favorite front tire! I recently paired it with a 2.5 Ehline on my Pivot Les and that combo ROCKs! I will be buying Honchos to put on all my bikes! Great rolling tread pattern and hooks up great in the turns and let's be honest - those sidewalls are SEXY! Like Halle Berry in James Bond Sexy!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/4/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Raleigh NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Dry condition tire

These are great dry condition tires, great volume and tread pattern. I went with the light and supple casing. They set up tubeless no problem and hold air as well as my Minion. They roll great and are easy to trust in corners. No issues after several months of use. We have mostly roots in my area with very few rocks, so I'm not to concerned about side wall tears. Running them front (2.6) and rear (2.4)

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Carlos

Reviewed 9/9/2021
by Carlos
Hialeah
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very good but a lot heavier than advertised

These are great tires. I have them front and back and the traction is amazing specially in corners. It rolls super fast. My only complain is the weight. Specially the 29 x 2.4 weights more than the 2.6.

Honcho 29x2.4: 955g

Honcho 29x2.6: 920g

Both light and supple casing Tan wall.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by cphoward

Reviewed 9/2/2021
by cphoward
Rocky Mountains
Overall Rating
So far, so good

These are durable and offer a lot of grip for my purposes. I'm using them on singletrack and dirt roads and I've been happy so far. They set up easily for tubeless. I recommend them if they will work for you.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by [email protected]

Reviewed 6/3/2021
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great all around tire

Tire was easy to mount. Used an air compressor but probably didnt need it. Mounted them on my new Zipp Motos rims. Tire rolls really well on hardpack. Excellent braking traction. Using as a rear tire. Volume is exactly as advertised at 2.6. So far no flats ot cuts. Overall very pleased!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/25/2021
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Phoenix, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Tire! Good Price!

I ride in area of the world (Phoenix) that is rocky and those rocks have a habit of ripping sidewalls and causing punctures. Decided to give this a shot as a front tire on my Pivot it grips well and is super durable. After 800-1000 miles I still haven't had a puncture or tear ,knock on wood, and it has barely worn down.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mexican Bob

Reviewed 5/13/2022
by Mexican Bob
San Diego Ca.
Overall Rating
Great Tires!

I use the for Enduro Trails and they are amazing!!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/1/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Fast rolling and smooth

Tires feel amazing especially with some inserts.. pretty good traction as well even for sloe tread spacing.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/16/2020
by Anonymous
Dallas
Overall Rating
Great traction and fast

I thought i might get penalized for the 2.6 width. These tires are great. They hook up and roll fast for a big tire. I ordered a 2.2 set for my single speed bike with the same results. I will order again when new tires are needed.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/13/2021
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Eugene oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good tire for most conditions mud and loose terrain is where it is best works fine on hard pack but you could use a lighter tire with less rolling resistance if you only ride hard stuff

Good overall

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]