Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Tacx Neo 2T Smart Direct Drive Trainer

TacxNeo 2T Smart Direct Drive Trainer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(30 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(24)
(6)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(80%)
(20%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 8/12/2021
by Bryan
Midwest
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The best trainer on the market!

I love this trainer and. I hate riding indoors. It is accurate (stays in line with both an NgEco and Garmin Rally), very comfortable(side to side motion is huge), stable, and quiet. By far the most realistic trainer I have used I came from a kickr gen 2 and kickr 18. I won't be going back to the Wahoo line. This feels too good. The flywheel based trainers don't feel realistic in less you tow a baby carrier behind you. I had constant bugs with my Kickr and always afraid to update the firmware. This makes indoor training tolerable. A word of warning, my kickr was reading close to 10-15% higher on climbs so it was kind of a bummer to be taken back to reality with an accurate trainer. But what's the point if it's not accurate?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2021
by Matt Can Close that Gap
Cycling Enthusiast
Henderson NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best Overall Cycling Upgrade

I got the smart trainer for a fair discount. I've had it for 2 months. Initial set up done within 20 minutes. Just add your cassette of choice, plug it in, calibrate/update with the app and it's good to go. Runs smooth with optimal noise level. Connectivity is seamless. I use Zwift and Rouvy. It's responsive and I can really feel the gradient (especially on 25%ers on Rouvy). You may need to use the spacers (washers) included in the box when your RD Pulley hits the trainer and makes extra noise (instructions found on Tacx Faqx Youtube Channel https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LVUp3ou6cq4). Besides the fixable minor issue, it's worth it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2021
by ironfoot
Cycling Enthusiast
Pittsburgh
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Expensive but worth the price

When you do a lot of indoor training always having to do a spindown after 10 minutes of riding is a major hurdle. Tacx Neo 2T doesn't require that. Getting accurate power measures without having to do so is a major plus. Also, I really like the road feel simulation on gravel, cobble, wood, etc surfaces. It adds a fresh sensation on otherwise monotonous indoor trainer rides.

Besides the two major points, I also like the look of the trainer. The light emitted towards the ground makes it look futuristic and cool.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/25/2021
by Mr. Porky
Cycling Enthusiast
Poulsbo WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Long and thought out choice...

I've been using a wheel on trainer for years with the plan on moving to a direct drive. I ride 7 months out of the year indoors utilizing Zwift and Sufferfest. It was a well thought out process (over a year) with thorough research involved (DC Rainmaker, GPLama, Tacx Faqx and hours of review combing). Narrowed it down to The Italians (Elite), the Americans (Wahoo) and the Netherlands (Tacx). In the meantime Garmin acquired Tacx and here we are today. Final two were the Wahoo KICKR V5 and the Tacx Neo 2T. Review nightmares about "the NEO Tacx time bomb" or "Wahoo's firmware issues" made it extremely hard to choose. Neo 2T cost a bit more but has a few more bells and whistles. The KICKR has the climb. I decided on the NEO 2T with it's 2 year warranty compared to the KICKR one year. The road feel and the freewheel effect going down hill in Zwift is cool. The smoothness and responsiveness in ERG mode of the NEO 2T is amazing. I own Garmin GPS devices so I figured the integration with Tacx can only get better. So far I'm extremely happy with my decision and keeping the faith that this top of the line machine with a top of the line price will last a long while. Oh yeah, I used the VIP points to by the Sterzo but that's another review.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/22/2021
by Tank1988
Cycling Enthusiast
Northeast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Worthe the extra money

Use the trainer 6-8 hours per week in winter. First off this thing is huge, if you need to move it often to train look elsewhere. I have a dedicated space for it so not an issue. The mass gives it a solid feel, I 'm a bigger guy so it feels very planted when I ride it. The road feel is fantastic, the feedback from different surfaces isn't a game changer but definitely makes you more engaged in your virtual rides. Downhill this is the most realistic trainer I have been on. The responsiveness of this unit is excellent it tracks well to grade changes and in erg mode it just works perfectly. It costs a bunch of money, but it's totally worth it. Last, I had a major issue with another brand of trainer I purchased from BikeTiresDirect, your customer service was excellent. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/6/2021
by coloradoroadrider
Competitive Racer
Denver
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent purchase

So glad I bought this. It's SO much quieter than my 2018 Kickr. All I hear is my drivetrain, really. Feels smoother as well. Pairs nicely with the apps I use. Doesn't require calibration. Somehow magically works when I forget to plug it in (maybe it's haunted?). Overall great purchase.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/16/2020
by Greg
Cycling Enthusiast
Sherwood Arkansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Smooooth!

Have been using a Kickr Snap for three years without any major problems. Unfortunately, it required a spin down before every ride to get accurate speed and power results. That spin down didn't happen very often. Enter the Tacx Neo 2T! No spin down required, no tire to air up, no tire slipping and no cleaning up tire debris. The Neo 2T ride is smooth and feels like you are outside and virtually no maintenance. Using the Neo 2T it on Zwift is a major upgrade in that you can "feel" the road and power is accurate and now my speed has improved noticeably. With the Bike Tire Direct discounted price the Neo 2T was only a little more than the Kickr. If you can afford this trainer, buy it! No regrets here!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/15/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Amazing outdoor experience indoors

Just Wow! I have been on a wheel on trainer for years. I migrated to a smart trainer a few years ago. After thousands of miles my partner gave me a Tacx Neo 2T as a gift. I am thrilled with it! It's incredibly simple to set up... Once the cassette (your own... Garmin should providev one, but I'm not grieving that) is installed, then update firmware through the Tacx Utility App. You need only pair it with your watch (For me FR935) and your computerapps (ZwiftRouvyTracx), install your bike and go! It's incredibly quiet, has some pretty cool road feel that really does feel like riding on different surfaces and the resistance is natural. I've used it in both ERG and free ride, in structured workouts and just cruising around in Zwift. Everything feels great! I like it so much I had to buy one for my partner so she can enjoy it too )

Oh, and let us not forget the discount and credit through Bike Tires Direct.

If it continues to be what it is I will be riding happy for a very long time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2020
by Jay
Cycling Enthusiast
Pacific NW
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
I'm having fun riding indoors for the first time

I've had trainers in the past and hated them. Even when the weather was incredibly crappy outside, I still preferred getting cold and wet and muddy than riding indoors. Indoor training was so BORING.

Enter the Tacx Neo 2T. I LOVE IT. I've done a fair amount of cycling in Europe over the past ten years and I'm having a blast finding routes that I've ridden in person using the Tacx software and reliving those wonderful memories. I can do a ride through Provence or to the top of Alp d'Huez and have a great time and get a great workout.

Over the past few weeks, I've been more-or-less forced to train indoors with the shelter-in-place order. Yes, I could go out and ride around the neighborhood but I'm not comfortable going far from home, and frankly, with this trainer, I'm having more fun exploring more challenging routes in Europe.

Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/13/2020
by P.Trickie
Cycling Enthusiast
Tacoma, Wa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
I LOVE IT!

Finally upgraded my trainer after 10 years and I could not be happier, except when I hit steep grades while Zwifting. Old trainer could only do up to 12% and 25% is really steep when it is reproduced accurately . The road effect is a nice addition. The Neo is ready to roll out of the box, no calibrating, just click in and pedal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/23/2020
by Nhhillrider
Cycling Enthusiast
New Hampshire
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Works very well. Great way to stay in shape during the cold/wet months.

At this price point all the options are excellent. So making a choice is difficult. I chose the Tacx because I felt it was a bit more configurable with its fully magnetic resistance mechanisms. I also thought it might be able to add even more features in the future.

In any case the Neo2T set up very easily and I have been using it for a few weeks now. Primarily with Zwift. Prior to this I could only use my indoor dumb trainer for about an hour before getting mentally tired. With the Neo2T and Zwift (many options there as well) I am now doing 2 hour workouts. The workouts are probably more productive as well.

So far the Neo2T has worked flawlessly. It is so quite that I did not realize all the noises my bike was making prior to this on my old noisy trainer. Had to break out the lube ! ). The road feel feature adds some interest to the workouts too. Overall very pleased! My only complaint is that its expensive

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/1/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Lenexa, Kansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great Trainer!!

Been using the trainer for a couple months now. No complaint's with the trainer or BTD they have fast shipping. Not too happy with the Tacx / Garmin app. They give you one months premium membership too there app. The app is good but for the price of this trainer you would think they could give you a years membership.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/28/2021
by J. Cobb
PDX
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Five star plus

I bought the Tacx Neo 2T and absolutely love it easy to set up. Although not a game changer, the motion on the trainer and bike as well as the vibration on the cobbles makes for a realistic spin. Living on the west side of the cascades, the trainer pays off in gold buollions, especially this time of year. I would highly recommend it. Keep in mind, I've only had it a month but so far, 2 thumbs up

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/2/2020
by Anonymous
Sacramento
Overall Rating
Excellent trainer and customer service

The trainers was easy to set up and connect to both Zwift and Tacx�s app. I do notice some �swing� in ECG control at times but it�s less noticeable when I�m in a lower gear. I needed a replacement part (quick release adapter) and the customer service by both BTD and Garmin was been great and I had the needed part within a few days.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/7/2020
by gswbike
Cycling Enthusiast
Pennsylavania
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
One GREAT Trainer

This is an AWESOME Trainer !! It is very reactive to profile changes in Zwift and provides an fantastic experience.

It was easy to setup and get riding. Plus it can be used unconnected , which makes it possible to use for event warm ups. I Highly recommend it

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/1/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great Trainer

The Neo 2T is a bit pricey, but the trainer does makes it more realistic, like actually riding a bike. Having those routes to ride on, with varying intensities depending on the terrain makes it a lot more interesting than riding an indoor exercise cycle. The default setting for the resistance on hills was a bit too much for what I saw in the videos, so I dialed it down to 75%. Will be using the trainer a lot more come winter.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/9/2021
by NE BIKER
Cycling Enthusiast
PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Neo 2T a nice improvement

A great trainer for using during the winter months in the north east

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Cupertino, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Simple, smooth, easy to use trainer...

The trainer is simple to use, easy to attach your bike to and very quiet. Works well with or without power plugged in. The trainer would get five stars, but it gets four because it is difficult to move. It folds, but it is easy to pinch fingers and no handle to hold while moving. Think about this if you plan to move often, otherwise great trainer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/1/2021
by Cole
Cycling Enthusiast
SE PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Fabulous Trainer!

I really love this trainer. It just feels SO GOOD. The ride effects (gravel/Cobbles/etc) and the fact the the unit isn't completely rigid IS JUST AWESOME! Set up and use is so easy!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/31/2020
by Anonymous
Windsor ontario
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Trainer

Beat trainer by far in market. Great "real"feel and very robust.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 40

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]