Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Surly ExtraTerrestrial 700c Adventure Tire

SurlyExtraTerrestrial 700c Adventure Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(8 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(2)
(4)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(25%)
(50%)
(13%)
(13%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Adam

Reviewed 7/1/2023
by Adam
Competitive Racer
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Also wanted to love these tires��

Surly are an awesome company, so looking to replace some Schwalbe, I decided to jump for these to fit on my Kona Sutra with Hunt rims - ready for doing everything touring, to gravel to commuting to shopping trips.

They roll smoothly and look good. I run tubeless at about 40 - 50 psi (I'm not heavy).

But I've had 2 fail on me now, both in the same part of the tire - at the join of a nob to the bulk of the main tire, on clear road - just crack and throw sealant everywhere. No visible road nasties caused the break, just a tire fail, as far as I could tell.

Off to look for something else...

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by panzon

Reviewed 11/7/2023
by panzon
Austin TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Surly Tires = Roll On

I had bought a set of these tires, two and a half weeks on them I hit a piece of steel the new tire was not usable so , I ordered the grey wall . the tires are heavy but the rubber is thick . they seem to not want to wear down I've around 1,000 miles on this rear tire . it still looks new .

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Khvnp1l0t

Reviewed 9/15/2022
by Khvnp1l0t
Fargo, ND, USA
Overall Rating
Great tire so far!

I have only had these tires on for about a week's worth of commutes, but even that much has made me love them. I'm a heavier rider, so the pressure is pegged at the max recommended to help me avoid pinch flats (I run them with tubes, will try tubeless maybe next spring). My commute takes me right through the center of a city along busy roads with junk from cars, broken glass, etc. littering the streets, all of which is swept by moving cars to accumulate in the bike lanes. Not one puncture or any significant lost pressure so far despite the sharp stuff on the roads! Theyre a tough set of tires, and I wouldn't be afraid at all to take them down a dirt road or gravel trail (actually, I'd be concerned about pinch flats, but I would not be worried about the tires themselves otherwise).

The tread, although road-friendly, is substantial on them and I can hear them humming along on the pavement when my surroundings are quiet...but I put these on in place of a set of hardcore knobby tires, so on pavement these feel like I'm gliding through the air in comparison. That said, if you're looking for the slickest fastest road tire out there, these aren't them; however, if you're not worried about top speed and just want a solid set of commuting or touring tires, these are looking great for that!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/2/2023
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Pretty pretty good

Solid grippy tires that I slapped on tubeless for the winter. Rolls well enough on the pavement but are heavier than what I would run in good weather. Decent flat protection, as I have ran over some glass without incident.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by NorthCountryScott

Reviewed 2/9/2021
by NorthCountryScott
New Mexico
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
I really wanted to love these tires

I ordered these tires to replace the Schwalbe tires that I also wanted to love. The tread design on the ET is pretty ideal for road touring and holds its own on gravel roads. It also doesn't pick up and toss pebbles at me. The size of the tires (700cx41) is ideal for loaded touring and does a great job of cushioning the expansion joints.

Where the tires fall short is in protection from flats. They seem to love the thorns. I've had my tires for a little over 3 months now with no more than 1000 miles on them. 99% on pavement. I just repaired 2 more punctures. That makes 8 now. 8 flats is WAY too many on a $45 tire with so few miles on it. Zero flat protection. Primarily thorns. The aramid belt does nothing that I can see. The rubber compound is way too soft. The rear tire is showing significant wear. These won't last much more than 3000 miles with rotation.

I have a set of Bontrager H2 hard case tires that have over 6000 miles on them - 1 flat.

I really wanted to love these ET tires, but I cannot count on them for long distance loaded touring, so they will be relegated to short trips near town.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/7/2022
by Anonymous
Northern California
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good all roads touring tire.

Rolls well on pavement and does well on dry gravel and dirt roads. Did get a flat after less than 1,000 miles from moderate size piece of glass, so not puncture proof. Got replacement tire in case my repair of the tire does not last as I could see some tube through the gash. Obviously not riding tubeless.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/6/2022
by Anonymous
Northern California
Overall Rating
Good all roads touring tire.

Rolls well on pavement and does well on dry gravel and dirt roads. Did get a flat after less than 1,000 miles from moderate size piece of glass, so not puncture proof. Got replacement tire in case my repair of the tire does not last as I could see some tube through the gash. Obviously not riding tubeless.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TucsonRoadster

Reviewed 2/21/2022
by TucsonRoadster
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome tire.

great for road, gravel --dry or wet.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]