Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Stans NoTubes Rim Tape

Stans NoTubesRim Tape(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(27 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(19)
(5)
(2)
(1)
(0)
(70%)
(19%)
(7%)
(4%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by JC

Reviewed 1/25/2024
by JC
Cycling Enthusiast
LA, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Not really for ghetto tubeless

I used this for a ghetto tubeless conversion on old aluminum 19mm internal width hooked mountain bike rims for panaracer gravel king SS mounting. I used this on a rear rim and used gorilla tape for the front. It took substantially longer for the Stans taped rim to seal in comparison to the Gorilla taped rim. It would probably work better for tubeless compatible branded rims. It ultimately did work, however.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Darrel

Reviewed 4/3/2023
by Darrel
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Altos, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent problem solver! Four month review

Four months ago I installed this rim tape on a pair of problematic DT Swiss wheels that should have been tubeless ready. The tires pumped up effortlessly with a 35-year-old floor pump. That was a tremendous improvement. I have had no problems since. Today, I topped off the sealant (Stan's) using an injector and having removed the valve cores. The tires pumped up easily and mess free and the job was done in about seven minutes. Stan's rim tape, sealer, and injector have proven to be my best bicycling-related purchase in years. I am a happy customer.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/10/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Worked first time with tubeless tires

Tubeless tires. I tried the Orange Seal rim tape, no go. Duct tape, fail. Stan's Rim Tape, success. Of course, after three triesI probably got better at wrapping. Anyway, I'm not losing any air after 1000 miles. Well, I'm not losing more than the 10 psi per week I've always seemed to lose with tubeless tires.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by OR_biker

Reviewed 5/17/2022
by OR_biker
Gresham, OR
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Works for tubeless conversion

Got some secondhand tubeless ready wheels from a friend, the kind with no spoke holes so no tape is needed. But they were already pretty old and crapped out quickly for me. Didn't have any other tubeless wheels and wanted to keep using my tires without tubes so tried a ghetto tubeless conversion with some Compagnolo Scirocco's, Stan's tape and Orange sealant. There was just enough tape for both wheels after taking a couple attempts to get the right number of wraps. Had to add a few wraps of electrical tape on top of the Stan's just to raise up the middle of the rim bed to keep the bead nice and snug, but after a couple hundred miles of commutes along with some gravel and single track thrown in, they've been rock solid. It seems a bit spendy for what it is, but it did the job well for me and I'm still relative tubeless novice.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/14/2023
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Stans tape is great, and not as expensive as other tape.

Stans tape is great, and not as expensive as other tape.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Alex A

Reviewed 5/18/2023
by Alex A
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Just the worst - really surprised BTD sells it.

An awful product for the job. Rigid/inflexible, poor adhesion, very prone to failure. And just a massive, messy, time consuming pain in the arse to fix when it ultimately fails. Seems a very easy product to get right. Comments on other forums echo my experience.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ron

Reviewed 11/6/2020
by Ron
Cycling Enthusiast
Ann Arbor, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Does the job

Used it for my first tubeless tire conversion. Worked as expected but I probably ordered wider tape than I needed, and because the tape is not as flexible or stretchy has electrical tape, having tape wider than necessary made it a little more difficult. I have a wheel truing stand and it was helpful for holding the wheel while applying the tape.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/15/2022
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Terrific problem solver.

Installed this rim tape to stop a slow leak on a DT Swiss wheel that should have been tubeless ready. I am now able to seat a tubeless tire on first try with a 35-year-old floor pump. No mess, no fuss, and no tube! I am pleased.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Epbob

Reviewed 3/16/2023
by Epbob
El Paso
Overall Rating
One wrap

My wife got tired of having flats and decided to try tubeless. It took just one wrap of Stan's rim tape and a little latex with the Conti 5000 tires and she hasn't had a flat since.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/20/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
not the easiest to install.

Not very stretchy and a bit hard to get a smooth install. An inflated tube overnight helped.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dave

Reviewed 3/22/2021
by Dave
Casual Cyclist
Portland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Stan's Works Great
I used this on a pair of 17mm interior width rims and regular clinchers in a single layer. I had trouble mounting tires with another tape, but Stan's worked great: easy to apply, conformed to the rim bed, and the tire mounted easily.
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/12/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Works as intended

Goes down smoothly if stretched properly and seals well. Maybe not quite as sticky as some competitors IMO. Carbon rim beds need to be super cleaned with alcohol 1st.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by bleckb

Reviewed 8/10/2020
by bleckb
Competitive Racer
Spokane, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Does what it should

Used on Ican Aero 40 rims with Conti 5000 on a Felt FR1. Used just a single layer rather than the double that was suggested. No need for double as near as I can tell and it was tough enough to get the tires on with the single layer. I wore out the tire, down to the casing, with no issues.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by bleckb

Reviewed 8/3/2020
by bleckb
Competitive Racer
Spokane, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Works great

Near as I can tell, it's doing what it's supposed to. I do lose a tiny bit of air between rides, but nothing drastic, and I can't say that the rim tape is why. I'm using just a single wrap on my road bike and running Conti 5000 TL.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by amateurwrench

Reviewed 4/7/2014
by amateurwrench
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
alternative to cloth tape

nice alternative to cloth or thicker synthetic rim tape/strips, being thinner may help with mounting those really light tires like Kenda Kaliente on Mavic Open Pro rims. One thing that happened to the roll I got, as I applied the tape to the rim, there was a small cut on the end of the tape and it separated a thin strip on one edge from the main piece I was applying to the rim, after I applied a few feet, I notice the tape I was applying getting thinner at the rim and a ridge growing on one side of the roll where the sliver left there was growing in width, I had to start over after I wasted a few feet of the tape. Luckily, there was enough to finish both wheels.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by RREDZ

Reviewed 9/20/2019
by RREDZ
Cycling Enthusiast
West Sacramento
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Works as Directed

Taped up my non-name brand carbon rims, converting to Tubeless. Stans Rim Tape did the job! 1 roll covered both rims.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ST

Reviewed 8/6/2019
by ST
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good Stuff

Easy to use, good quality. Allowed me to convert Roval CLX 40 wheels to run tubeless.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mike G

Reviewed 10/11/2021
by Mike G
Myrtle Beach SC
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
It's rim tape

Easy to apply. Holds well.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/27/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tape

This stuff is the best had issues keeping pressure until I used this tape don't use anything else

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by RideCO

Reviewed 6/8/2017
by RideCO
Cycling Enthusiast
Clorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Stan's Rim Tape

Used for converting to tubeless from regular clinchers....works great, helps keep tire on the bead by taking up extra room as well as covering spoke holes.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]