Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Stans NoTubes Dart Tool

Stans NoTubesDart Tool(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(18 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(9)
(2)
(0)
(2)
(5)
(50%)
(11%)
(0%)
(11%)
(28%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Roger

Reviewed 6/4/2023
by Roger
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Not impressed

I find this to be a very fickle tool. If your puncture is just the right size (maybe 2-4mm) it can work. But when it's smaller than that, it's very difficult to push the dart into the puncture, and it usually strips the plug material off the dart when pushing it through. Then you're stuck trying to stuff the material into the puncture with whatever device might work. I will say that IF you happen to get the plug material into the puncture, it works quite well at stopping the leak. I hope Stans goes back to the drawing board with this one. It shows great promise but at this point doesn't work well in the field.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Scott L

Reviewed 7/29/2022
by Scott L
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Not a fan!

I purchased a few months ago based on a recommendation from my local bike shop. I had my first flat yesterday and pulled out the tool. Inserting the dart was super easy, but unfortunately it did not work at all. After inserting the dart, my tire released MORE air than when it was simply punctured (it was a small leak, not a major hole). I ultimately had to remove the dart and install a tube, which is a messy job on the side of the road! I do not recommend!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DocH

Reviewed 2/25/2022
by DocH
Cycling Enthusiast
Modesto, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
They work, but don't expect miracles

For cuts that are too small to seal by themselves, this can be a life-saver -- or not. Darts definitely work better than bacon. On road tubeless they sometimes plug cuts that Dynaplug can't handle, but sometimes Dynaplug works better. They're less expensive than Dynaplug, which is a plus. The biggest problem I've had with the darts is that sometimes the "feathers" separate from the plastic holder as you're trying to insert them into your tire. However, if you're able to insert them properly they usually work well. I've used them with Conti and Orange Seal sealants, as well as Stan's -- all seem to work about the same. The feathers stick out until they wear off (which can take a hundred miles or more), but that doesn't seem to cause any problems or even affect ride quality. Just make sure you keep several darts on board, because you might need several before you successfully plug that cut. Also, don't expect plug cuts larger than a few millimeters. Dynaplug works better for those, because it's pretty hard to get two darts into the same cut.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Eee Zee

Reviewed 8/17/2023
by Eee Zee
NJ
Overall Rating
Must have

In the age of tubeless, one needs another kind of protection. Less frequent flats, but worse when they happen. This works very well, and it�s light to carry.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CycleAcrossAmerica.com

Reviewed 5/2/2021
by CycleAcrossAmerica.com
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Works great! I highly recommend.

Wow! The Stans Dart Tool worked great for me. I was a bit concerned after reading some of the reviews, but the dart tool worked so well on my road tire that I had to write this review. I can see where user error could break the tool or the dart. DO NOT insert the dart like you would a bacon strip. While you must twist a bacon strip to plug a puncture, the Stans Dart goes straight in and is pulled straight back up without twisting. My guess is that if you twist the dart during installation you will break the tool or the plug. For best results, position the tire so the puncture is at the top of the tire and the tool is perpendicular to the tire, push the dart straight down into the puncture WITHOUT TWISTING until it can't go any further, then pull it straight back up. The dart releases from the tool and stays in place, sealing the puncture. Works great! I would highly recommend.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by jciron

Reviewed 11/30/2020
by jciron
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Works as advertised. Seals tight

I got this for my road bike that I had just put tubeless on a month before. I got a glass cut right in the middle of my tire. I used the dart tools as had seen online and from a friend. It worked well. However, it did not completely seal right then. But it held well enough I could finish the last 25 miles of my ride. When I got up the next day and it was still leaky I added fresh Stans to my tire and pumped it up and it's sealed solid and I've ridden 150 serious miles with it since. Climbing and Descending. I'm got a replacement tire, but I'm rolling with the dart in place for a while longer.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/17/2023
by Anonymous
Clovis, CA
Overall Rating
Unbelievable

Finally needed to use the Stan's Dart. I got a half inch slice. I used two plugs in the cut which sealed the slice and was able to ride 25 miles to finish the ride.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/15/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
I had no luck using on road tire

I was really excited to try this out. Got a pesky small puncture that would not fully seal with Stan's. It would seal for a few miles then start spewing sealant again, so I got out my Dart tool and attempted to insert the plug. Much like some of the other reviewers describe, the plastic shaft the dart sits on snapped off, and the same happened with the other side. That was $25 completely wasted.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Zark

Reviewed 6/30/2020
by Zark
Competitive Racer
Midwest
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great idea, poor design execution

Got a flat on a gravel tire, small cut that sealant could not seal. Tire puncture was big enough that I could fit a 3 mm allen wrench into it. When I went to insert the dart through the hole, the tip of the dart broke off. Tried the second attached dart, and the same thing happened. The dart tip is made of plastic and it has a grove behind the tip for the fibers to sit in. The inside diameter of the grove is so small, seems less than 1 mm, that it creates a weak point. As you push the dart into the tire puncture, the dart breaks off at the grove, and never has a chance. Bad execution of an otherwise good idea.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jeff

Reviewed 10/26/2021
by Jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent method of repairing a flat.

Having a flat during a recent tour. I used the Stans NoTubes Dart Tool, spinning the tire to spread sealant, pumped the tire and I was on the way. The tire was excellent for the remaining 9 days on tour.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by IW

Reviewed 1/25/2021
by IW
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Only worked 1 out of 8 attempts!

Couldn't be more disappointed with this plug kit.

6 tips snapped off upon extraction and therefore the cloth didn't stay in the hole.

Only successfully worked one time. Very costly.

Get a traditional sticky plug kit for tubeless. Seriously, what they charge for this is crazy considering

how cheap and ineffective it is.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Airless in Seattle

Reviewed 6/27/2022
by Airless in Seattle
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Did not work

Had to push very hard to get dart to insert into puncture. The sealing material went all the way through the puncture. Tried twice. Then out of darts.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by AlpineEagle

Reviewed 6/26/2020
by AlpineEagle
Competitive Racer
Boulder, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great piece of mind

Luckily I haven't had to put this to use yet, but it's super easy to toss it in my pack or back pocket for a ride. It takes up almost no space and is great to have handy in the event of a larger puncture. I know it will get me out of a bind. I pair this with my other get home tools (spare valves, valve core, quick links, tire boot, velcro wrap, derailleur hanger) to ensure that if something catastrophic happens on the trail, I'll have the best chance possible to ensure I can ride out of wherever I'm located as quickly as possible.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/8/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Rosa CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Sealed a glass cut that Dynaplug would not seal

The tire has MucOff sealant in it the plug sealed it just fine with that sealant.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/13/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Effective

Works perfectly

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Orange Seal from now on

Reviewed 9/18/2020
by Orange Seal from now on
Oregon
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Weak (no, literally)

In a year when people have to ride alone, the failure of this product was a HUGE letdown. First, the (fresh) Stan's sealant in my tire wouldn't seal up (small puncture mid tread on a Panaracer GK - no excuse for that). Then, like other reviewers have experienced, the tip broke off the DART plug. I tried the other side of the tool and, this attempt, the post the tip is attached to snapped. So I took the working plug off the broken side of the tool and switched it to the working side. Got the plug into the tire this time without breaking it but it never sealed up (had to stop every 5-10 mins to add air for 90 mins to get out of the woods). Why didn't I put a tube in? Because I hoped it would seal up (and because I bought this product specifically to avoid the giant mess of putting a tube in a tire full of sealant trail side). I run tubeless on all my bikes (except tubulars for CX) and this under engineered product has cost Stan's a customer for any of their products.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Pedalpower

Reviewed 7/26/2022
by Pedalpower
Longview
Overall Rating
Tubeless fix

Anything that doesn't seal on its own, push one of these in the hole. Used several, on different holes and they all sealed immediately and lasted the tires life! Keep one in each bikes bag!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Pedal power

Reviewed 6/29/2020
by Pedal power
Longview wa
Overall Rating
No tire removal required!

Used this the first week i got it. Worked great easy to use, ready for the next flat!

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]