Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
SRAM Red eTap Battery

SRAMRed eTap Battery(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(14 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(8)
(3)
(2)
(0)
(1)
(57%)
(21%)
(14%)
(0%)
(7%)
Reviewed 5/3/2021
by American Pro
Competitive Racer
America
Value Rating
Overall Rating
It's a bloomin' battery for the stupid derailleur.

BTD insists that I file a review for a SRAM battery. So here it is...

This battery doesn't make anything special happen. It doesn't win friends or influence people. This battery (#3) just sits in my saddle bag waiting for Battery #1 or Battery #2 to die. Since I now have a spare, I expect I will never experience a dead battery out on the road. If I didn't buy a spare, #1 or #2 would die 40 miles from my house on the rainiest coldest day of the year.

That's how good this battery is. It sits in my bag and wards off death of other batteries.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/10/2021
by Alanico
LA
Overall Rating
Back up battery

My current bike has sram batteries. On a minimum of 2 occasions I have had my battery die on me due to my forgetfulness to keep them charged. So I purchased a "backup" battery to keep in my saddlebag for those moments. It also helps me to remember to charge my existing battery!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/10/2021
by Jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Only product that powers the etap derailleurs

This is the only battery of SRAM Red eTap deraillieurs. The battery works well, but the tab securing the battery to the deraillieur is fragile.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/4/2021
by RCBird
Competitive Racer
Auburn AL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The right battery but expensive

Expensive but on a very light XC racing build this is key. Super reliable. Long life and an extra battery is just insurance in a long race.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/26/2019
by Phil W
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Long-lasting power and relatively durable

The Sram Red eTap batteries hold a charge for many rides (I think Sram notes that they should last 600 km and I think I've been able to exceed that) and they have survived for a couple of years of hot summer and cold winter riding, much of which was on chipseal roads. However, recently I've had to replace a couple of them as the tabs that fit into the slot on the derailleur have broken off, no doubt due to the extreme temperature changes and the vibration caused by the road surfaces. It is also important to remove these batteries when traveling long distances with the bike on a bike rack as the derailleurs recognize the motion and keep the units on which will discharge the batteries.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/5/2020
by garage0racing
Key West, FL
Overall Rating
Battery tabs keep breaking

No matter what I did, the tabs on my eTap batteries would crack, break and would eventually fall. I went through 10 of these batteries on 2 different bikes.

Tried to use electrical tape where the plastic comes in contact with the metal part on the derailleur, tried glue as a preventative measure, tried to avoid any bike cleaning products, but I always ended up with using rubber bands to secure the batteries, because the tabs would break.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2020
by Slang
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Battery

it's a battery. you need it for your etap groupset.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/13/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Battery was bad

Battery went bad after 1 week. BikeTiresDirect was great and sent a new one within 3 business days

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/19/2019
by QUADZILLA
GLENVILLE
Overall Rating
Works like a charm

Good deal

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/19/2019
by AlanSM
Cycling Enthusiast
Fairfield County, CT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
reliable battery with fragile plastic tab

The SRAM Red eTap system is terrific and the battery can power things for quite a while between charges - if you run down in the rear, it just takes moments to swap with the front to finish your ride BUT the plastic tab on the battery is fragile and can chip or break off so be careful when inserting the battery into the bike or charger - a small 'price to pay' for an otherwise wonderful shifting system.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2020
by Spaghetti and Meatballs
Cycling Enthusiast
SLC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love this battery.

I purchased a �spare� battery in the event that I ran out of juice and was unable to shift. I�m very pleased with the performance and would definitely recommend them to others.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/28/2019
by Ercmicwil
Spokane, WA
Overall Rating
Super long lasting!

These batteries and the efficiency of the SRAM Electronic shifting system is impressive. I use mine on a new AXS system. I keep a spare with me on all of my longer rides but Ive never had to use it. Im pushing 50 hours of riding on the last full charge and all lights are still green! No complaints!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2018
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Phoenix, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent upgrade...Love it!

Easier shifting when on the drops.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2018
by twowheels2000
Cycling Enthusiast
Reno, NV
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Just a spare battery

I've never had a battery on eTap run out of juice on the road, but with some longer multi-day tours coming up (with no easy access to recharging), a spare seemed a good idea. I also carry an extra pair of CR3032 button cells just in case a shift lever battery goes out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 70

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]