Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
SRAM PC-971 9-speed Chain

SRAMPC-971 9-speed Chain(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(28 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(22)
(6)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(79%)
(21%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/29/2021
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
971 vs 951

I ride 150-200 miles a week so I go through a lot of parts especially rear tires...stretched chains do shift poorly and I think they chip cogs/sprockets

I replaced 2 chains in January early Feb both were 9 speed, which may make a difference as they are thicker than 10.11 speed chains. one was a 951 and the other is 971 the 951*** (I use the 951 when it rains on my older bike but the prior chain was a shimano and no rust after about 4000 miles and it was used in the same conditions AND it was used over 500 miles at the beach which the 951 wont get to until May) the 951 is already rusted ,

the 971 still looks great and after 800+ miles seems good the sram 971 chain is $xx compare to about $xx for shimano so if it get 4000 miles with no rust and failing 75% test then it will be a great value but so far too early to tell (at 800 miles it is still a good bit away from 50% stretched) for the few dollars.difference between 951 and 971 I'd buy the 971, I will never buy the 951 again

The only complaint for the 971 is I feel and hear chunk noises shifting under load NO COGS were broken before and none are yet with the new chain(s) **I'm not sure this can be avoided and what the cost would be but both the 951 and 971 feel clunkier under load than what I remember the shimanos felt like ** I assume(d) the stretched chain would be clunkier, but that does not seem to be the case.. I'm not an engineer .....as an addendum the chain ring and sprocket are shimano I assume there may be 100th of mm differences between sram and shimano components regardless i assume the 971 will get close to the same mileage and i ordered replacement 971 chains for this summer

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Olybiker

Reviewed 6/24/2023
by Olybiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Olympia, Wa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent replacement chain and don't even need to break a link to put it on!

Replaced chain on my wife's Kona. Easy peasy! Great value and makes the drive train run so much smoother.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Eric

Reviewed 11/5/2021
by Eric
St. Paul
Overall Rating
One thing to know...

One thing to know about this chain is that you'll definitely need a chain breaker to install it the first time, since the two ends of the quick link come facing the same direction. I didn't need to shorten it, based on my old chain, but I did need to reverse one end so the ends would mate.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by [email protected]

Reviewed 5/12/2017
Daily Commuter
Portland Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excelent Product for the Daily Rider, Long Lasting, Light Weight!

I am a daily commuter. I ride every day in all weather and road conditions. I have utilized this chain for my bike for thousands of miles without any issues. Keep your chain clean and lubed for years of trouble free service.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Lumpy

Reviewed 3/20/2017
by Lumpy
Granite State
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice chain for the price

I'm not looking for the best, I'm looking for a workhorse.

I ride a fair amount miles a year and swap out chains every 2000-2500 miles, so I go through 4 chains a year.

I've found this one to work for me.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BC in Sea

Reviewed 9/8/2022
by BC in Sea
Seattle area
Overall Rating
Good value

SRAM chains are my 'go to' for all my bikes. Good value and durability. I always have some on the shelf ready to replace worn ones and increase drive train longevity.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/2/2014
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Time to update

Having never changed a chain before and not used one with the gold link system. This is a great concept and look forward to being able to really get a good clean chain throughout the season.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Gullickson

Reviewed 4/25/2022
by Gullickson
St. Petersburg, FL
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Sram is great!

Great chain!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jerry

Reviewed 11/1/2021
by Jerry
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My go-to source for all things bicycle

Excellent. Good pricing, excellent customer service.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dustyrides

Reviewed 1/11/2019
by Dustyrides
Competitive Racer
Central Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Simple, durable

Great chains for older bikes still running 9 speed. Using on my old carbon hardtail with SRAM drivetrain. No issues, good shifts, chain does not feel flexy when shifting even under load.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/3/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Does what it's supposed to

Got the chain for my wife's first bike. She hasn't had a single complaint yet!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by timdow

Reviewed 5/7/2021
by timdow
Daily Commuter
San Diego
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good chain, good price.

This chain just works. I find it to last longer than KMC at comparable price.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tom

Reviewed 6/15/2017
by Tom
Cycling Enthusiast
Calif
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice chain at a nice price

This chain seeks to work well with shimnao sprockets and cassette, plus has a nice link connector so I don't need any special tools. I can get about 2 yrs out of the chain, which is good for me. So works well, and is fairly durable.....a good deal.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Loose Spokes

Reviewed 12/7/2020
by Loose Spokes
Boise
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Prefer SRAM

This chain comes with a quick link for easy installation and maintenance. This chain is cheaper than Shimano.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/23/2017
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Gold Canyon, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Solid Chain at Solid Price

I bought this chain to replace a broken primary chain on my semi-recumbent Bigha bicycle. BikeTiresDirect offered the best price by far and as usual, shipping was fast. Actually, I had to splice together this chain and part of the same model chain I had left over from a previous chain replacement. All went well and I will be good for another few thousand miles.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/16/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
AL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best chain I have tried.

I have to get to work whether it's clear or storming. This one is easy to mount and clean. It ships with a good lube that, unlike Brand S, doesn't rust overnight.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Warren

Reviewed 3/4/2017
by Warren
Daily Commuter
Alameda, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very pleased with this chain

Great chain. Shifts well, and is compatible with Shimano components. With the master link, it is very easy to install and remove for cleaning.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ty Simpson

Reviewed 9/1/2020
by Ty Simpson
Central Texas
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Just as expected

Just as advertised.

Plenty long for My 59cm frame running 2X9 and a 34-tooth cassette.

Great performance and the master link was easily applied.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/10/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
easy to install using quick link. Restored normal and quick shifting to sluggish bike.

I ordered and installed this chain to replace a stretched chain on my wife's mountain bike. The chain is easy to install with the quick links. Cog jumping by the old chain was corrected following installation of the new chain.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/15/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice chain, holding up well

I'm a big guy (220 lbs), and this chain holds up well. It also is nicely compatible with my Shimano XT drivetrain, plus its easy to remove with the powerlink.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]