FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
SRAM PC-870 6/7/8-Speed Chain

SRAMPC-870 6/7/8-Speed Chain(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(25 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(12)
(12)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(48%)
(48%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 10/24/2013
by Memphis Stew
Cycling Enthusiast
Memphis, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
18 of 20 customers found this review helpful.
Restore Your Bike Love Life

This is a great chain. I had never replaced a chain on a bike, but I knew it was time. I watched a video or two online. I bought a simple and cheap chain tool from the local bike shop. I took the old chain off and compared it with the new. It was fun to see the amount of stretch put on from the miles. I cut off some links and threw that sucker on there in a snap. Really simple to do and makes a world of difference. This is a quality chain and really improved the quality of shifting drive on my bike. Its probably pretty hard to find a bad chain, especially on Bike Tires Direct, but this is certainly not one of em. If you've been a few thousand miles on your bike or just bought a used bike, this is a cheap way to improve the quality of your ride. Its also pretty fun to be able to work on bike in this way. Makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside. Sometimes, bikes don't want to be ridden, you know? Sometimes they need to know you love em. Spend some time with em. Buy em some jewelry. The worst thing you can do to you bike is make it feel objectified. You get in a rut of the same routine... oh you gotta ride me to get home or go to work or work out... says your bike. Yeah thats cool, but sometimes, I just want to be held... Sometimes i need to know youre still thinking of me when you see that 2014 Specialized Tarmac and Trek Madone fly by. I saw the way you looked at that Cannondale SuperSix. Yeah, I know you rode Johnny Down the Road's new Giant Propel. What'd you do for me lately- your dejected bike.

Nobody wants a dejected bike. Come home with a new chain. Let her know she's still the one.

My bike gave me ...the.... best.... ride... ever... after I put that new chain on her. It was one for the ages. Wished I had video taped it. Would watch that over and over again that's for sure. Just gotta hide it from the kids if yall do that.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/14/2018
by William
Vancouver, WA
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Works Great!

Over the years I've used several of on my 8-speed and they just work and work and work until they finally wear out. I guess I've gone perhaps 20,000 miles on these chains and hope to go another 20,000.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/2/2017
by John B
Cycling Enthusiast
NW CT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Not as easy to remove as the you-tube videos might suggest.

After a broken chain sent me to the pavement I figured it was time for a replacement. The new chain was easy enough to install but I miss-guessed the proper length and had to remove it to remove the extra links. That was not so easy. I resorted to Youtube for help and ended up using a loop of wire to pull the pins of the master link together to unlatch the chain. I suspect that this will become easier over time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/27/2014
by James Louis
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta, Georgia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good chain with a master link included

I bought this chain as my old one was worn out. I like the fact that the SRAM chains come with a master link, as I always use them on my bikes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/8/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good chain, easy as that!

I have tried the 830, 850, and 880 chains on my year round commuter in soggy Portland, OR. I found the biggest difference showed in how long they stayed lubed, the 870 lasting the longest, the 830 the shortest. It wasn't a big jump between the 850 and 870 though. The 870 chain lasted a good long while and shifted well with a Shimano derailleur and SRAM cassette setup. Overall it did exactly what it was supposed to: propel me along.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/22/2013
by erob
Cycling Enthusiast
Madison, WI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Works great with old SunTour 67 speed New Winner and Winner Pro freewheels with 'ultra spacing'

Super replacement chain. The price is a steal for a nickle plated chain.

This chain works great, crisp and precise gear changes on the freewheels mentioned. Those old Sedisport chains are getting hard to find but, since Sachs bought Sedis and SRAM bought Sachs bicycle parts division, it has good pedigree.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/25/2013
by alicia
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Working great!

I was able to swap out my old chain with this chain so easily - a perfect fit! I've already put 600 miles on the new chain without any issues.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/1/2012
by WSBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
White Salmon, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good chain, so far!

Bought this chain for my old hardtail mountain bike that I now ride for exercise on the streets, mostly. Putting in on was a snap with the SRAM quick-connect link, best idea for bike chains. Not a new idea Shimano! Used master links in mill chains for years and years. Factory lube is still holding up in the rain. No skipping, etc. even on old, worn cassette. So far, so good!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/13/2012
by Steve
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
works perfect

Purchase for a replacement on my vintage Panasonic Touring Deluxe. Worked great. Easy to put on, correct length ad size. Took care of my slipping problem.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/16/2012
by Rob
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, Wa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great Chain

Chain works great, I love the power link, easy to install, cut easily and adjusted out nicely.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/12/2012
by Quincyceltic
Competitive Racer
Boston
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Unbelievably easy to install

Not a huge wrench guy but this was simple to put on and works like a charm.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/6/2012
by Year-rounder
Cycling Enthusiast
Rainy Portland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Very nice chain

Because I commute by bike, I go through a couple of these a year. It is a good quality product at a low price. I've never had a problem with these chains.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/24/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Good chain

Late 1970s Gios Torino Super Record with the first generation Campagnolo Athena group.

I was looking for a direct replacement for my SachsSedisport chain, and was not happy to find out that it no longer exists, not even as NOS on web sales sites.

My friendly neighborhood bicycle shop gave me a KMC chain (A chinese chain on a hand-built Italian beauty? Shudder!), but it did not perform well at all.

Some cycling forums recommended the SRAM PC-870 678-Speed Chain as a Sedisport replacement. Hmm, a copy of an old Shimano Uniglide. What did I have to lose?

What a pleasant surprise. It looks good, and has crisp, sharp performance. It moves smoothly through all six cogs on the old DuraAce freewheel, whereas the previous chain would complain and not go into high gear.

I'd bought from BikeTiresDirect before, so I knew I would get good service.

The customer service representative was professional and more than helpful when I called with questions about the SRAM chain.

Looking for a Sedisport replacement? This is the way to go.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Works as expected.

Worked as expected.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/5/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
I use SRAM chains on all my bikes

This went on my 16 year old beater bike. A Hoo Koo E Koo I bought new. The one I ride work and to the store. I've been using SRAM chains for about as long as I've had this bike. I regularly get 3,000 miles from a chain. The gold link makes it a snap or remove and clean.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/5/2012
by DB Biker
Casual Cyclist
Portland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Durable

I commute so I put a lot of miles on my bike. Inevitably, the chain gets stretched after about 2000 miles. I like to replace it at the first sign of this, since chainring wear gets significant with a stretched chain. I have been buying this chain over and over. I am on about my 4th one now, and will keep buying them as long as they are offered. I keep one on hand always.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/19/2012
by ibike2work
Cycling Enthusiast
Memphis, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Easy to install, rust resistant, smooth shifting chain.

Love the P-link, makes installation very easy. Brightly finished, smooth shifting chain. Appears to be rust resistant, but then again, I change chains about twice a year and keep 'em clean. I would recommend this chain.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/21/2012
by All weather rider
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
A high quality chain

I have to put one of these on my bike every 2000 miles or so (as well as a cassette). I like the ease of installing it. I don't have to remove links, so it goes on fast. Seems to work well. I am on my 4th one since I got the bike I now ride, and it has never let me down.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/13/2011
by EnjoyTheRide
Cycling Enthusiast
Connecticut
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent chain and value

Using on an Ultegra 6-speed freewheel.

In most instances, you will need to remove some links to fit - as long as you have the tool for the job, you're all set.

High quality product, well packaged with easy-link and instructions (though they should have added info on sizing chain). Chain comes preped with high quality lube - don't remove this! In normal road use, you shouldn't have to do anything but wipe it clean of dirt.

BTD price was less than other's inferior offerings - excellent value.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/22/2009
by Andrew S.
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
I use this chain on my single speed and it works great.

A nice replacement for any 678 or single speed chain. Using it on my single speed mountain bike now. Works great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.