Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
SKS X-tra Dry Rear Fender

SKSX-tra Dry Rear Fender(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(18 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(11)
(5)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(61%)
(28%)
(6%)
(0%)
(6%)

User submitted reviews

Review by siranthony

Reviewed 12/12/2019
by siranthony
Cycling Enthusiast
Ontario, Canada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Does what I need it to do.

It's light and easy to install. It does what I need it to do, and that is to keep my seat pouch dry and my back free of dirt and grime. Haven't had any problems with it yet.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/17/2017
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Western Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
The fender works well.

Took a little bit of adjustment to get it properly snug so it didn't drift, but once adjusted correctly it barely moves. Does a good job keeping the mud off me. I'd buy it again.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/17/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
It's better than nothing.

On a really muddy ride my back was evenly spotted with drops this fender missed.

No skunk stripe.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ryan

Reviewed 11/16/2013
by Ryan
Cycling Enthusiast
Potomac, MD
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Easy to use and lightweight

This fender is easy to mount and thus easy to transfer between bikes. It is simple and lightweight.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/26/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good

Fender was easy to put on. Does a satisfactory job keeping the water off the back side.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by WSBiker

Reviewed 1/28/2013
by WSBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
White Salmon, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Muliple Use Fender, Presto Chango from one bike to another!

Bought one of these to use on my hardtail MTB. Saved me from the dreaded skunk strip several times. Then I went to visit my son and could not take my bike, so I planned on riding his in the rain. Quick disconnect works great, one snap and it is on or off. I took the fender along and re-mounted it on his MTB for use while I was at his house. Decided to leave it with him, as he did not have a fender. Came home and ordered 2 more, a replacement for me and a gift for my other son. Now all 3 of us have this excellent rear fender on our MTBs. It would work equally well on a road bike with the seat post mounting strap.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by coxlearn

Reviewed 10/25/2012
by coxlearn
Cycling Enthusiast
dallas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Does the job

Practical, light weight and easy to put or or take off.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Biker bob

Reviewed 5/21/2012
by Biker bob
Competitive Racer
Portland or
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Not for road bikes

I bought the fender for my road bike and after one use in a good rain my back was sprayed as much as ever, the fender is not long enough. I liked the idea of the easy attachment, but of it doesn't work, I could have attached a piece of poo for free and got the same results.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by chicagorc

Reviewed 5/8/2012
by chicagorc
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Don't even hesitate to buy this rear fender, it installs easy & works great!!!

I was tired of scrubbing the dirt out of my expensive riding shorts and jerseys after only a few small puddles on the trail left a line of muck up my back. I thought I would try this fender and I am so glad I did. It went on to the seat post in about 1 minute. It stayed in place for a 15 mile single track ride. I hit some pretty muddy spots on the trail and when I got home my clothes were as clean as when I left, not counting the sweat. For under $15 you need to have one of these ready to throw on your bike when the trail is not going to be completely dry.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JROD

Reviewed 4/6/2012
by JROD
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great product for cheap $

I got this fender so I could quickly attach it and detach it without issue and it fits in my sling bag if I ever lock my bike up in the city. I think I paid $14 for it and that's totally worth it to keep your behind dry while riding in the rain!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by dekstump

Reviewed 3/16/2012
by dekstump
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Works as promised

Easy to put on and take off, good for those days when there are wet stretches or the occasional shower.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DEBiker

Reviewed 1/26/2012
by DEBiker
Competitive Racer
Wilmingon, DE
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Does the job! Easy to install

I use it on my road bike for wet winter rides. It performs as you would expect it too.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mark

Reviewed 2/26/2010
by Mark
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR, USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
15 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
This is one of my favorite things

Yes, I have a fully-fendered bike that is supposed to be my bike whenever it's raining... but sometimes it rains on your race-pace ride, or on your mountain bike ride-- and whichever bike you're pulling out of the garage, this can clip to your seatpost or seatmast in seconds and protect you all day from street-bidet.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jake W.

Reviewed 4/29/2021
by Jake W.
West Fork, AR
Overall Rating
Amazing tool for a gravel bike!

The fender gets the job done! I was splatter free up the back of bib shorts and jersey. The amazing cam lock style install makes it so easy to add/remove.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jake W.

Reviewed 5/1/2021
by Jake W.
West Fork, AR
Overall Rating
Amazing tool for a gravel bike!

The fender gets the job done! I was splatter free up the back of bib shorts and jersey. The amazing cam lock style install makes it so easy to add/remove.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by nicecalves.

Reviewed 2/17/2014
by nicecalves.
Cycling Enthusiast
Cripple Creek CO.nice
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Dry backside made easy.

Ideal product wintery road conditions. keeps the snow and wet off . reasoable price and easy mount to any bike.

very happy with product

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Commuter

Reviewed 3/15/2013
by Commuter
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Not for 700c or 29ers, but good overall

Apparently the description failed to mention this is only for MTB and ATB wheels... it's not long enough for 700c or 29 wheels because it will still allow a rooster tail to hit the back of your helmet or a backpack which I use while commuting.

It would have been perfect for a regular MTB, clamping mechanism is secure and the allen bolt allows you to tighten the fender tightly.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments

Depending on bike geometry and other factors, this rear fender can be used on a 700C (ISO 622) wheel. I've used it successfully and have seen it on other bikes around town here in Portland, OR. It might take some adjusting to catch all the the spray which might otherwise reach you, but it can usually be done.

A full coverage fender will always provide better protection and help to keep you dry and comfortable in bad weather. Planet Bike's Cascadia Fenders are a great choice.

Thanks,
Theo
Customer Service

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by bulldog

Reviewed 12/10/2012
by bulldog
Cycling Enthusiast
portland, or
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Easy and durable with a pocket friendly price!

I love my SKS X-tra Dry rear fender for a few reasons

1. Wider than normal fenders, great for road, mtn, or cross tires.

2. Budget price!

3. I can switch this fender between all my bikes within seconds! Adjusts super easy to fit just about any seatpost. Like many others, I have multiple bikes and sometimes would rather take the mtn bike to work rather than commuter. Boom, three seconds and the SKS is moved from the commuter to mtn bike.

4. Very durable. Pliable, so wont crack or break easily.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]