Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Silca Locking Presta Valve Chuck "Hiro V.2"

SilcaLocking Presta Valve Chuck "Hiro V.2"(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(13 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(9)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(2)
(69%)
(15%)
(0%)
(0%)
(15%)

User submitted reviews

Review by DaninPA

Reviewed 2/5/2024
by DaninPA
Competitive Racer
Lancaster, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Solid, easy, perfect for high profile rims

The chuck that came with the Silca pump was likely designed to increase sales of aftermarket chucks. This one retails for $70, but BTD had a sale so I ordered it. After usual fast shipping, I installed it and finally like my Silca pump.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BikeLA

Reviewed 9/18/2020
by BikeLA
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Finally, after 25 years, I love my Silca Pista and use it all the time

I have a Silca Pista pump that's about 25 years old. I wanted to love it, and really tried hard. I bought it several different chucks, and I bought it new gaskets. But I could never rely on getting a good seal on a threaded presta valve, and mostly used another pump.

Then, one day, BikeTiresDirect tempted me with a sale price on the Hiro V.2. It's beautifully made, light and easy to use. It seals perfectly every time, and goes on and off without a struggle. Now I use my Pista pump all the time.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Zerb

Reviewed 9/18/2022
by Zerb
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston-ish
Value Rating
Overall Rating
FIddly at first but great once you get it right.

I have this chuck on a Silca pump, and it took a while to figure out how to set it up. You do this by turning the adjusting ring that holds the red rubber gasket in whatever direction you need until the closed chuck holds the valve stem securely. Once this is done it works great.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Geekdoc

Reviewed 8/19/2022
by Geekdoc
Cycling Enthusiast
NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Looks cool, works poorly. Waste of money

Chuck will not stay locked and needs to be held in place with one hand while pumping with the other. Worse than cheapest Zefal floor pump chuck. Tried to reach customer service without response. Total waste of money. PS - I am former racer and mechanic who has 40+ years experience with pumping tires.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MXLeader

Reviewed 7/21/2022
by MXLeader
Cycling Enthusiast
Maine
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I love this chuck

I love this chuck! I attached it to my Milwaukee 12v cordless inflator and it's pure magic topping of my tubeless tires before a ride. It never leaks air, is always easy to attach and just plain works time after time. Only downside is the cost but I'm sure I'll be using this for years.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bay Area Pedaler

Reviewed 8/27/2020
by Bay Area Pedaler
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Serious Equipment for Serious Cyclists

Sure you can find a presta pump head for less, but this is true quality that will last a lifetime. The lever action allows you to seal the valve and inflate your tires without worrying about it slipping off or needing to hold it in place. It is quick, easy and sturdy.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/15/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
98569
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Much easier to use with one hand operation.

Quality piece that works well on all presta valves providing a much easier pumping experience.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bruce Mc

Reviewed 8/13/2018
by Bruce Mc
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Silca hero V.2 - marvel of engineering

A must for deep rims and tight valve clearances. Impress your friends with the coolest bike tool they have ever seen.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bert

Reviewed 12/18/2017
by Bert
jacksonville fl
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Well made

Im a big believer in quality. I know some would consider this expensive. But I will say very well made and moron proof. By that I mean Im not the best with gadgets sometimes and yet I had no problem using product. This product is worth the investment because you will pass it down as it will outlast you.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tpalfini

Reviewed 11/16/2020
by Tpalfini
Cycling Enthusiast
Redding, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
One of each

I have both the standard Silca presta chuck and the Hiro V.2 for my Silca pump and occasionally have to change it out for a different wheelset. Both are of great quality.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/18/2017
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
South Dakota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
easy to use

I use it on my go to pump. I run my tires from 60 to 90 psi so I don't know about how well the head stays on when using at high pressures. I like that I'm not twisting my presta valve when I put it on or off. It goes on quick and holds well. It's down fall is price and size. The size is OK on a floor pump, but if you carry it it's kind of big.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Phil W

Reviewed 3/9/2017
by Phil W
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Another big disappointment from Silca!

I had purchased a Silca pump a couple of years ago but had seldom used it as there was one problem after another with it. Threaded valve stems wore out the rubber gasket very quickly so I bought replacements. It didn't want to seal very well on any valve stems whether threaded or smooth. Also, the hose fitting came apart but I contacted Silca and they replaced the hose as it was under warranty. I thought maybe the locking valve chuck would solve all of the problems and allow me to finally get some use of this expensive pump instead of continuing to use my good old reliable $50 pump from brand S. Well, it just turned into throwing good money after bad as the chuck, when locked, does not stay on the valve when the pressure nears a usable pressure, 95 to 100 psi. Silca seems to make very attractive and very expensive products, but from my experience, they just don't work very well. Very disappointing!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rr

Reviewed 2/21/2019
by Rr
new England
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Gear Product

But even better conmoany to deal with. Fully knowledgeable staff answered all my questions prior to purchase... such a good feeling to purchase from a great store.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]