Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Sidi MTB Gravel Shoe

SidiMTB Gravel Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(14 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(5)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(50%)
(36%)
(7%)
(0%)
(7%)

User submitted reviews

Review by D in NC

Reviewed 8/30/2023
by D in NC
Competitive Racer
North Carolina
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice shoe, but terrible tongue design

The material and fit on this gravel shoe seem to be good. However the tongue is not retained from twisting sideways. I�ve ridden several times with these Sidi�s and each time I try to pre-position the tongue under the boa cables to keep the tongue centered. No luck. Doesn�t matter how tight or loose I crank down on the boa nor does it matter where the tongue is initially aligned. The tongue will rotate completely to the outside until it hits the insole. Now the tongue is wedged between the outside of my foot and the shoe, and this pushes my foot inward inside the shoe. Plus the boa cables now dig into the top of my foot. This is a design defect, and hopefully it will be fixed in the next generation. For now I�m pretty mad that I spent so much on these Sidi�s only to have expensive shoes that I cannot wear.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Boston Biker

Reviewed 4/22/2021
by Boston Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
20 of 20 customers found this review helpful.
Well made, strange sizing.

Overall I like the shoe but I find the sizing to be a bit of a bummer. I'm typically somewhere between a size 10.5 or 11, depending on brand, which has historically translated to a 44 or 44.5 shoe. For instance I recently got a pair of Fizik Arias in size 44.5 and they're about perfect so I was surprised when the size chart suggested 45.5. My old Sidi Dominators were 44 but they're feeling a little tight and I wanted more room in the toe box so I gave the larger size a shot. They felt great around the house but I quickly found them to be a little too large once I got them out for a ride. The tongue is heavily padded and makes it difficult to get the snug fit that I'm used to. I appreciate the extra volume when wearing heavy socks but I think I might have to look for something else as the temps rise. Of course I've ridden them so I can't return them but I really wish that I went with a size smaller.

The Sidi ratchet is OK but not great, I prefer an actual BOA that allows you to adjust tension without having to flip up a little lever fiddle with buttons. I would also prefer to have either a second dial or a strap closer to the toes to be able to adjust volume more precisely.

The overall build quality is excellent as has been every Sidi shoe I've ever owned. The fabric is very tough and abrasion resistant and my shoes still look great ever though I've ridden them on some tough trails and have knocked them around a bit.

If I had to do it again I would order 2 sizes and kept the best fitting pair, or just tried them on in person before buying. I would also check out the Fizik offerings as they've been really great though not quite as durable as the Sidis.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Alex

Reviewed 2/14/2023
by Alex
Cycling Enthusiast
Sierra Vista, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Do Not Hesitate - Worth It!

First, BikeTiresDirect never disappoint, always great inventory, prompt service, and expedited delivery!

The Sidi MTB Gravel Shoes are exceptional; worth every cent. The design is spot-on, and the fit is immediately comfortable. The Techno-3 Push System dial is straightforward and works flawlessly and ensures a nice, customized fit. Bottom line, a well-designed, high-quality, and comfortable MTB and gravel shoe.

Do not hesitate, buy them!!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Fast Eddie

Reviewed 4/17/2023
by Fast Eddie
Just north of Detroit
Overall Rating
Gold Standard

As a self proclaimed dedicated fitness cyclist puts in around 5k a year I declare these to be the perfect footwear. I don�t think I even feel them on while on the bike or walking about in them post rides. Easy boa on and off and great classic looks as a bonus.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/2/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
North Georgia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Very comfortable - a good value.

I've been wearing Sidi road and MTB shoes for years. I recently got a gravel bike and wanted a shoe that was more durable and easier to walk in than a road shoe but not quite as rugged as a MTB shoe. These meet those requirements. I normally wear a US size 11-1/2 and my feet are on the wide side. The 46 works for me.

I have noticed that I have to tighten the adjuster a click or two a few miles into the ride as the padding packs down. This will probably go away as they conform to my feet.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Brian

Reviewed 4/23/2021
by Brian
Overall Rating
23 of 23 customers found this review helpful.
Good but could be better

I have a couple months in these shoes now and here are my impressions. I use them on my gravel bike and on my mountain bike.

Things I like:

1) They look good, the overall fit is good, secure, and true to size.

2) The single dial closure system is adequate and fairly easy to adjust on the move.

3) They are ok to walk in. Not as slippery as previous Sidi's I've owned.

Things that bug me:

1) The tongue is only fixed down by your toes, not on the sides. When I ride, the tongue slides off to the outside of each shoe and does not stay centered under the "laces." This is VERY annoying.

2) The insert foot beds are extremely thin and offer zero cushion. The sole is rock hard under my foot and my feet were hurting after an hour or so of riding. I had to buy a pair of 1/4 inch foam foot beds and cut them to shape. This helped a bit.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/13/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Charles, MO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent fit, happy with these shoes

I was hesitant because of the proprietary BOA closure but it works well. I hope it is durable and easy to replace if it fails in the future. The show otherwise is well constructed but you may want to look for a custom insole for a little more comfort.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Cliff

Reviewed 8/27/2021
by Cliff
Competitive Racer
Englewood, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Gravel Ready!

I used my newly purchased Sidi Gravel MTN shoes in the Steamboat Gravel Race this Aug. 21. And they were just awesome. Very light on the foot. I didn't have any numbness in the ball of my foot. I would like to see a toe spike option if possible.

Thanks,

Cliff

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Flyingfossil

Reviewed 8/16/2021
by Flyingfossil
Competitive Racer
Boise Id.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great fitting shoe

I am a retired road bike racer with many ultra distance events as well. These shoes have a great toe box and good mid foot support. I did slip in an aftermarket footbed for added arch support to fully seqiire my feet.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DelaBike

Reviewed 8/12/2022
by DelaBike
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Mass
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable from the start

I'm a lifer with SIDI and these were a no brainer when getting a gravel bike. Quality and comfortable. Sidi shoes never wear out. I had some for more than 10 years.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Pedro

Reviewed 11/25/2021
by Pedro
San Juan
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Sidi gravel

Nice comfort. Nice shape. Nice look. Best price .

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/26/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good for Comfort and Fit

Sidis just fit. After trying a number of brands at LBS that seemed to fit in the store, I went back to the same size I've always worn in Sidis. Fit great, are very comfortable. Soles are stiff and the lug material is perfect for walking traction and support on the pedal. The tongue creep is a thing, but doesn't bother me.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Soundasleep

Reviewed 1/13/2022
by Soundasleep
Cycling Enthusiast
DFW
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great road/gravel shoes - great Sidi fit/finish.

Never had a bad Sidi shoe in 25yrs, and these are super comfy. Not a good choice for racer-boys wanting super tight/rigid shoes since there's only one tensioner, but killer casual road/gravel/trail shows for SPD riders. I save the Dominators for aggressive MTB play.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by WIbiker

Reviewed 4/23/2021
by WIbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
WI
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Gravel shoes

I liked these shoes for fit and comfort in warm weather. They are light weight and just stiff enough tone efficient for riding gravel and pavement.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]