FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Showers Pass Mens Elite 2.1 Jacket

Showers PassMen's Elite 2.1 Jacket(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(61 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(44)
(16)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(72%)
(26%)
(2%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 12/13/2018
by Sam
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great durable rain jacket

I live in the Washington Cascades and use wear this jacket for by rainy day rides. It does an excellent job keeping me dry but do get some internal condensation after a long ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/6/2018
by richgfcst
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent, but zippered back pocket is disappointing.

Showers Pass Elite 2.1 jacket is what I use and like best. The underarm ventilation zippers make a big difference. Just wish for a more traditional 3 back pockets, the zippered back pocket is not very practical. Dealing with it while riding is difficult.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/23/2013
by Stacia (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
18 of 18 customers found this review helpful.
Still waterproof after all these years...

I have owned the Elite 2.0 jacket since 2008 (I think) and have worn it pretty much daily for winter commuting for most of those years. Except for dirt stains on the yellow fabric, it still looks brand new - ZERO loose threads, worn fabric, anything. On a long bike tour a few years ago, I brought another Showers Pass jacket (the Century, maybe? - trying to save weight) and loaned my Elite 2.0 to my riding partner. By the end of my three-month tour, the lighter jacket was destroyed - no longer waterproof, with the fabric layers peeling apart, the pit zippers stuck. The Elite 2.0 was still kicking, and continues to keep me totally dry and comfortable in all kinds of weather.

I am a woman, but have the men's cut of this jacket. It fits fine and I can fit it over another jacket or sweater easily. I do find that it's cut a little too short in the front, but the long back hem is awesome. It's possible this is improved in the new 2.1 cut, which I haven't tried.

My only caveat is the cuff fabric. It soaks up water like crazy and takes a loooong time to dry. Why Showers Pass didn't make the cuffs out of the same awesome eVent fabric that the rest of the jacket is made of, I will never understand.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/11/2012
by Jay (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
pdx
Value Rating
Overall Rating
17 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Worth the extra dollars

I've been using the Shower's Pass Century jacket for the past couple years. The jacket has held up well, fits well and keeps the rain out, but it really doesn't breath particularly well. After a hard workout in Portland drizzle, I'm almost as moist as if I hadn't been wearing a jacket.

So this season, I decided to break down and spend the extra money on the Elite 2.0 jacket. Wow, what a difference. This jacket keeps me warm and dry without feeling like I'm wearing a plastic bag. Extremely well made with lots of venting options and the fabric seems to breath surprisingly well. I also feel a bit safer riding in the dark with the reflective stripes on the back and sleeves. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/29/2014
by JRinTX
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleburne, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great rain jacket

I bought this rain jacket in anticipation of encountering rain on RAGBRAI this year. I knew from weather patterns in Iowa that there would be a great chance this jacket would come in handy. Guess what, on Friday of RAGBRAI we had a big storm come through and we got to ride in very heavy rain. This jacket stopped the rain very well and I found it much more comfortable than typical cheap rain jackets. The breathable material worked great and the two vents under the arms worked great

I had a great ride in the rain that day while others thought they encountered their worst day ever. Based on that difference of opinion, I'd say the Showers Pass jacket is well worth the money.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/30/2009
by Andrew S. (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
29 of 40 customers found this review helpful.
A great Jacket for the wet PNW.

I love my Elite 2.0! I mostly commute but If it looks like I'm going to brave the downpour to get a great rain ride in, this is what I'll be wearing. Excellent waterproof quality, without over heating, or becoming drenched in my own sweat. If you need a top of the line do all waterproof jacket, this is it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/21/2018
by denverbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great product, great service, good price.

Bought this jacket for wind and rain in Colorado Spring and Fall cooler weather. Love the high quality, water-proofing, venting features, and high visibility. Not a fan of double-slider zippers, which this jacket has, but not a big deal. Quick shipping and great price from BikeTiresDirect. Since I couldn't find this model on Showers Pass Corporate site, this may have been a closeout sale, saving a few bucks, as Showers Pas is a premium brand. Great product, great service.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/12/2017
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I commute with this daily around 200 weekly

I commute with this daily around 200 weekly. I ride in every condition imaginable and plow through heaps and heaps of rain. This does keep me dry however I am usually drenched when I get home, but I'm not sure if that's water or sweat. Nevertheless when I ride I dont feel like I am getting wet and that's pretty much all that matters. I stay dry (feel like I'm staying dry) and warm. I place my cell phone and my wallet in the left breast pocket and have never had a problem with water although water (condensation) does seem to penetrate although not enough to cause damage. I've unfortunately had a few crashes in the last 7 months and the jacket has faired well - There are some battle wounds, but this jacket has many more years of life left - I would without hesitation buy another if needed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/8/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Olympic Peninsula, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
breathable, waterpoof, durable, comfortable

I bought it on sale and like it a lot. It's been wet and cold this fall and I appreciate it's breathability. Pit zips are easy to use, allows me to regulate with the varying conditions we have in the northwest. The goldenrod color has good visibility for poor weather conditions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/19/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
everything you need in a daily commuter rain jacket

This is a great jacket with plenty of room for layering. Only (minor) complaint I have is that Shower's Pass jacket sleeves tend to run on the long side and bunch up near the wrist. Or maybe my arms are just short...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/2/2016
by richgfcst
Cycling Enthusiast
N. Illinois S Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very happy - least overheating I've experienced with a rain jacket

First time use on a rainy 45 degree day with a wool jersey underneath - 105 mile ride

Worked fine and did not overheat. Side vents were easy to open and close while riding. Back pocket takes getting used to.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/13/2017
by Anonymous
Illinois
Overall Rating
Over all good product

Breathes with out the draft. Wear it down into the upper teens. Little pricey but works great

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/8/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
I think we have differing expectations on waterproof

I purchased this jacket to replace an aging Novara jacket of similar style. The difference is that this jacket has the back vent by the shoulder blades. I found myself getting very hot in the Novara.

My initial take after several rides is that it's colder than my Novara. It's not quite as windproof, probably because of the back vent. Still, it will serve me well when it's not as cold. It's nice and lightweight compared to the Novara.

I wished I had known about the Refuge jacket when I bought this. I probably still would have gotten this one, but it would have been nice to have had the ability to ab them. The sister store of BTD, Western Bikeworks, recently opened and has the full array of Showers Pass gear.

It's reasonably water resistant. I rode today Dec. 8 2015 in one of these raining sideways days, and it kept me dry for awhile. It's always hard to know whether it's the rain or your sweat that's getting you wet. BUT, I had my cell phone in the chest pocket and it got wet enough to cause water damage to the phone. The interior of the pocket was pretty damp. So while the pockets are water resistant, I wouldn't trust sensitive electronics underneath this shell.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/1/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
La Jolla, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great product.

I use the jacket when it rains.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/15/2015
by SeattleCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The perfect rain jacket

Terrific all-purpose rain jacket. Collar is perfect, just the right balance between snug and comfortable, and water never gets in. Great fabric, cut, zipper placement, breathability, and venting options for changing weather. The sleeves occasionally get waterlogged (not leaky, but heavy) and need a coat of revive-x to start shedding water, but that's pretty standard for Gore-Tex-like fabrics.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/26/2015
by Tom / Naples
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
A touring essential to have when it counts.

After seven cross-country runs this is still the go-to rain gear. Other truly breathable jackets are waterproof in any condition except rain. At 5'10 and 190 I like the large for layering when necessary. The material refreshes in the dryer and my yellow is still fine after 8 years so I got a blue one anyway. No such thing as too much good stuff.

Tom J

Naples, Florida

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/1/2015
by Colnago C40
Cycling Enthusiast
Port Coquitlam BC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
The best rain wear company at the best price! Win win

I got tired of borrowing my friends jacket, so when the chance came up to buy the same jacket at the best price I could find, I snapped it up. There is nothing better on a wet day than cycling dry.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/17/2014
by Dork
Competitive Racer
central idaho
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great goat, marginal hood accessory, pretty good value

This is a pretty good value but I waited until it was on sale at which point I felt it was a totally good value.

Jumping the gun perhaps as I haven't worn this in a heavy rain storm yet but the quality is excellent. If I could do it over I would buy a size up from my normal size just for a little more room and coverage (I am 6'2 with a long torso so XL instead of L). No need for a super tight race fit because the material is rigid enough that it won't flap in the wind. Bought the hood separately and am a little disappointed that it doesn't mesh better with the jacket. It fits and looks like an add-on and could at least 'look' a little more integrated.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/20/2017
by pGolay
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Works well, a bit small

It works great, nicely made. I found the sizing a bit small compared to a previous SP jacket, but fine none the less for me. The zipper is on the girly side, I am not sure why that might be, but combined with the smaller than expected sizing, I think maybe mistakes were made. The tag does say men's

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/6/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Western NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great jacket

I've been wearing this jacket in weather between 35 and 50 F since I got it in January. I have zero complaints. Fit is great and the features all work as advertised.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.