FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Shimano XT SM-RT81 Ice-Tech Disc Rotor Centerlock

ShimanoXT SM-RT81 Ice-Tech Disc Rotor Centerlock(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(10 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(2)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(70%)
(20%)
(0%)
(10%)
(0%)
Reviewed 1/7/2017
by Jon
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Needed these to go along with a wheel purchase

I didn't understand what I didn't understand about disc brakes at the time of a wheel upgrade for my commuter. When I realized what centerlock rotors were relative to six-bolt, I knew I needed to make another purchase, so I went with these based on BTD suggestion. I initially had a moment of distress after I mounted these on the wheels and placed the wheels in the drop outs and gave them a spin . . . they didn't spin. The brake caliper housing was bumping against the rotor mount (2 out of 5). I couldn't understand what was going on. Then I took a deep breath, asked a question on G bicycle maintenance community and got an answer within minutes. Simple adjustment of washers to create a wee bit of space for the rotor to turn freely. About 500 miles later, I'm writing this review to say that these disc rotors are just right.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/29/2018
by Mo
Pompano Beach
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Overall great disc brake

The XT disc brake is just a great overall brake for the price and weight. I never had a problem with the disc keeping it's form.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2018
by Novato rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Novato, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Not compatible with Avid BB-7 discs

I was excited to mount these rotors, until I noticed the spider and rivets are too long and interfere with the brake pad levers on BB-7 road brakes. I tried respacing the calipers with some washers, but not enough of the rotor brake surface was exposed. I bought some cheaper CenterLock rotors that don't have the same length spiders, and they work fine with Avid BB-7 road calipers. Too bad - these are really well made, and I'll sell them on Ebay second-hand as they are used and cannot be returned.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/12/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
These Are Excellent Discs

I love these discs. I replaced the Stock Tektros on my Trek FXS6. I put Shimano resin pads on too. I'll be further upgrading to Shimano XT calipers and levers. It'll be a sweet set up! .

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2018
by Lastostrogoth
Cycling Enthusiast
Bonney Lake WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
These are the rcommended rotors to use with Shimano brakes

There are well made, easy to install, and are the rotors which Shimano says are the only ones that should be used with their Ice Tech brake set. They are well made and quiet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2018
by Tandem
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver Colorado
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Flat and light

We are using the 203 mm rotors on a tandem. They are flat, and have not been drilled out too much. Some other rotors that we have tried do not have enough breaking surface.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/8/2018
by jrdavis65
Cycling Enthusiast
Hillsboro, OR
Overall Rating
Reliable stopping

Bought this to mount o new Reynold's Assault Disc wheels. Un-matched stopping during rainy Oregon days.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/7/2017
by brooksdarg
Daily Commuter
San Francisco, CA
Overall Rating
Best performing rotor for the money

As is true for other XT components, this rotor defines the intersection of superior performance at a reasonable cost. Excellent stopping power in all conditions. The only caveat is that one must be careful when truing these rotors - they can be irrevocably damaged if bent too far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/30/2017
by Brainbow
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA
Overall Rating
Great product, fair price, and quickly delivered.

For daily use and for high-mileage randonneuring, these rotors deliver confident stopping power on demand. Paired with semi-metallic pads for all-weather predictability. Would replace with same when worn out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/19/2014
by digita6
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Overall Rating
Supreme stopping power

I replaced my stock TRP rotors with these, and despite the (slight) weight penalty, they stay true and have incredible stopping power. I'm sticking with Ice Tech and not looking back.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.