Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Shimano XT PD-T8000 2 way Spd Pedal

ShimanoXT PD-T8000 2 way Spd Pedal(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(10 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(9)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(90%)
(10%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 5/3/2022
by IanDunn
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
You can have it both ways

These are fantastic pedals both for performance and versatility. Have spent years commuting on the flats and clipping in on the reverse when out for rides. You can also half and half in traffic or on rough trails if you want to keep one foot free. Extra reflective amber bit is always nice, even if a bit corny, but hey, I like safety. The clips are great and tune well to your preferred tension. Lube the springs occasionally and they're still like new apart from the scratches and dirt. Very durable, I'm going on 3 years with these and I just replaced the pins with the provided extras. And the pins don't disappoint. The flats are more than just an afterthought on these. You are getting your money's worth on both sides of these pedals.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/1/2021
by MikeNJ
Daily Commuter
Northern NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good

I use these for commuting, having replaced Speedplay Syzrs. I've avoided double-sided pedals because I didn't want to worry about what side I was dealing with, but in practice they function very well and it's nice being able to ride in street shoes when warranted. So far, I'm pleased with them. With the included SH-56 cleats, they just work.

One caveat: they have a very large platform. This is good for some riders but it makes the bike noticeably wider and more cumbersome to wheel through a building.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/3/2021
by Gearuser
Casual Cyclist
Cleveland, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
These pedals are a robust versatile design

I use these pedals on my mountain bike that is most often attached to my indoor trainer. On the trainer, I can clip into the pedals for structured cycling training. Off of the trainer, I can ride single track without clips. The pedals are a robust design that I expect will outlast my bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/2/2018
by MErider
Cycling Enthusiast
Maine
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable support for my size 14w feet

A very wide platform that feels better than any other pedal that I've tried. My size 14W feet really appreciate this product, The one sided clip, other side studded pedals has given me reassurance as I have rolled along through construction zones on the state roads which I use. Rode through the first slushy conditions of the year, and was grateful for the studded side as opposed to be locked in, the extra half second to put my leg down was a crash saver. Love these!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/31/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Recommend

These are perfect for my gravel bike as they allow to ride both clipped in and on flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/29/2018
by TiDavid
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Flexible contact point for variable riding situations

There are loads of flatclip pedal options, but it is nice to have something with Ultegra level quality (bearings, build, etc.). SPD are a known quality of excellence. It is nice to have a flat-pedal option for conditions where you don't want to be clipped in (sketchy-for-you downhill sections). Additionally, these make a great option to pop on your commuterpub bike to provide flexible shoe options. )

For me, the flats were extra-valued in allowing easier starts whilst on a step bit of uphill. I have these on my fatbike and climbing in the snow, having to stop but then dropping the seat and getting a smooth start is only possible with flats. ) But for all other trail riding, being used to the security of clipping in, I am glad to then flip the pedal over and snug-up on them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/5/2017
by Mack
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
SPD and sticky platform in one Great Pedal

I used these pedals to replace a pair of generic aluminum cage pedals on a KONA ROVE which is a sturdy bike needing sturdy pedals.and they have reflective strips I have a pair of Shimano PD-A530 which are lighter on a KONA JAKE not as heavy a bike so they match it better but the platform side is not very helpful when it gets wet unless you have SPD shoes you can slip off the pedal, not so with these XT PD-T8000's they have grip and you can add longer studs which come with the pair. I hardly use the SPD shoes so this is fine for me and even if they grab my sandals and or tear up the soles of my shoes it's worth getting grip when you need it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/12/2021
by Phinneyfir
Bend
Overall Rating
Light and efficient

Nice upgrade from my clunky old SPD pedals.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/31/2018
by Anonymous
chicago
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good quality

Good quality and function. Ive put about 500 miles on these so far and havent needed to adjust them. My only reason for giving them 4 stars is they are a little heavy. For the price, quality, and function, they are a good buy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/23/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great pedals

Just what i was looking for, these pedals work great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 42

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]