Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Shimano XT PD-M8120 Trail Pedals

ShimanoXT PD-M8120 Trail Pedals(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(24 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(20)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(83%)
(17%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Jvig

Reviewed 6/10/2024
by Jvig
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best clip in Pedals easy to clip in and out !

I love these Shimano XT PD-M8120 Pedals. My first time using clip in pedals, I put them on my Trek Madone 4.5 Road Bike. They make a difference for continuous power when pedaling. Also the larger platform makes its easy to clip in and clip out. I did a 3 day 250 mile cycling event and they definitly made a difference. The price here was the best I found well worth it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Moab Man

Reviewed 1/18/2024
by Moab Man
Cycling Enthusiast
Marin/Moab
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best Clipless MTB Pedal

I purchased these to replace 10 year old XTs that I wore out. I could rebuild the old ones but I got more than my money�s worth. The new ones are excellent and I expect they will last at least as long.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Wheelio

Reviewed 5/31/2023
by Wheelio
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Shimano

I like the larger platform for Mountain biking. My last XTR large platform pedals lasted 7 years before I finally wore out the bearings. I went with the XT's this time, way less money than the xtr and not that much heavier.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Wheelio

Reviewed 5/29/2023
by Wheelio
Overall Rating
Shimano

I like the larger platform for Mountain biking. My last XTR large platform pedals lasted 7 years before I finally wore out the bearings. I went with the XT's this time, way less money than the xtr and not that much heavier.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/6/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
They feel rock solid and work exactly as described

First try using 'clipless' and found these pedals easy to install, adjust, and adapt too...

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/27/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Berkeley Oakland Hills
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great improvement over small platform pedals

Love the larger platform relative to prior Time Atac pedals- much more reliable for steep starts. Adjustable. Appear durable

Great service as always from BikeTiresDirect.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/4/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good pedals

I like these pedals, a little on the heavy side but good platform if you want a little more support on your strokes.

Could be ridden with trainers occasionally, but would not recommend.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mwhite

Reviewed 4/4/2020
by mwhite
Oregon
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Platforms SPD Noticeable improved control

Noticeably more stable for endurotrail riding! Ive used SPDs 550s and the like for years for XC, trail, cyclocross, & I love them for their simplicity, reliability, mud shedding, lightness, etc, but then I wondered why I was worried about a weight penalty on my 32 lb full squish? These bigger platform SPDs add a subtle but noticeably improved contact with the bike. I definitely recommend them!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Paul Coots

Reviewed 9/14/2020
by Paul Coots
Chico/ Ca.
Overall Rating
I like the pedals very much. Stable underneath my feet.

Very stable pedals, high-quality pedals.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Beachbiker52

Review for Shimano XT PD-M8020 SPD Trail Pedals
Reviewed 3/17/2017
by Beachbiker52
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Light and supportive

These pedals are light and provide a great supportive base for your feet on long rides. I especially like the double-sided feature of these pedals. No problems getting in or out of these. I'm a road rider so can't review for dirt.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Paul G

Review for Shimano XT PD-M8020 SPD Trail Pedals
Reviewed 1/1/2017
by Paul G
penna.
Overall Rating
Pedals are great for clipping in and out on cx and mtb bikes

Pedals are easy to adjust and use. just what I wanted in a mtb and cx pedal.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Review for Shimano XT PD-M8020 SPD Trail Pedals
Reviewed 11/15/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Iowa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
No hot spot

Bought these to get rid of the hot spot under my cleats from smaller spd cleats. No more hot spot and seems to have better power transfer.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by atbnomad

Review for Shimano XT PD-M8020 SPD Trail Pedals
Reviewed 11/15/2018
by atbnomad
Ketchum , Idaho
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Fit and function are great

Stable platform and all around shimano expectations

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Powerkick1

Review for Shimano XT PD-M8020 SPD Trail Pedals
Reviewed 9/20/2018
by Powerkick1
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah - mountain and desert riding
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great pedals at a very good price

I really like these pedals on my mountain bike - I can start on hills without clipping-in until I am ready. Usually my foot finds the clip position within a crank or two and I am off.

Bad thing - you really need to get the correct shoe clips for mountain biking. I tried the regular SPD clips and my feet would not come out of the clips fast enough - even at the loose setting. I crashed twice around steep corners where I could not get my feet out fast enough.

If you buy these pedals - Get the SH56 SPD cleat with an M stamp. These cleats will allow a much easier unclip when needed. Have not had a problem since I purchased the SH56 cleats.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by #brown

Review for Shimano XT PD-M8020 SPD Trail Pedals
Reviewed 4/19/2018
by #brown
Cycling Enthusiast
Milwaukee, WI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Solid

I've ridden SPDs for mtb as well as cyclocross racing for years and recently switched to the SPDs with the a larger platform and happy that I did. There's just a little more feel you get with the added surface area vs. normal SPDs. Also very nice to be able to ride with regular shoes when called for without slipping off.

The XT versions are very smooth and can be rebuilt when necessary, a great buy!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bobby G

Review for Shimano XT PD-M8020 SPD Trail Pedals
Reviewed 12/29/2017
by Bobby G
Low Country SC
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent price great pedal

Saw these pedalat LBS for120 so when they showed up on BTD for 70 I had to pounce on them. I have dual platform SPD's on my Hybrid so I wanted a good SPD pedal on my road bike. They clip in quite easy, roll over smoothly and are easy to clip out of. Very happy with the product & BTD got them to me quite promptly. Great product excellent price!!!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/25/2024
by Anonymous
SW WA
Overall Rating
As advertised plus!

Works great for road bikes too. No more �hot foot� for me is the bonus feature

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/5/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great Platform

Power transfer is great and stable. Easy clip in and out.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/20/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
I got these pedals for my new gravel bike.

Stable easy clip in and out.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/1/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great MTB Pedal

Easily adjustable tension, stable platform. Reliable.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]