Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Shimano Ultegra BR-R8000 Brake Calipers

ShimanoUltegra BR-R8000 Brake Calipers(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(10 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(8)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(80%)
(10%)
(0%)
(10%)
(0%)
Reviewed 10/4/2018
by Evolved cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Minnesota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great upgrade

Bought these as an upgrade that replaced the older version of my previous Ultegra brakes. Overall seem much better improvement and better stopping power than the older version. Also look better and almost looks the same as the dura ace but at a better price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/17/2021
by BCL
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Reliable Shimano!

Mounted this brake on my Scott road bike and as expected the brake works very well. I do 90% of my own builds. I don't necessarily worry about weight as certain components, like brakes, just have to work well. These do the job of stopping you if you have them correctly mounted on the bike. If in doubt, seek out a professional.

Pros:

- Quality build

- Good braking power (alloy wheels tested)

- Nice design/Clean looking

- Reliable

- Trustworthy brand

Cons:

- Like all Shimano components, the instructions are lacking; however, you can find info on youtube and other places.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2020
by Otoman
Nashville
Overall Rating
The best stop for the buck

Peak rim brake. You can save a couple grams for a lot more money but stopping power is no different with Dura Ace. These brakes stop on a dime. Easy to setup. They stay adjusted how you put them. Excellent.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/8/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Irving, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Sleek looking and better price than Dura ace

They work great, look nice and work just as good as Dura Ace. The price was the best at Biketiresdirect.com too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/16/2019
by Steve F.
Saugus
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Tremendous

I upgraded from 105 5800 brakes which were fine for me but these do seem to have more stopping power, I'm never worried about having enough time to stop even when flying down hills and braking as late as possible. I installed these myself and had generic replacement cable in the terrible Jagwire housing that came with the bike, after upgrading to the 8000 shifters and cables the brakes feel more powerful.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/15/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Compatibility Issues

Might have compatibly issues with Fork Wheels. The metal support arch was rubbing on my front tire. Very short height on the inside arch.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/13/2018
by Lou
Cycling Enthusiast
Big Island, Hawaii
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Effective upgrade from stock specialized (axis) brakes.

I purchased a used 2016 Roubaix that came with stock (Axis?) brakes and 105 components. Axis brakes worked except they kept reminding me about WWII and required super grip for steep drops. Since all my riding is either uphill or down (Big Island of Hawaii), I upgraded for that secure feeling that comes with Ultegra and a bargain price from BTD. They arrived on time, look great, and make going downhill almost a pleasure. They're not quite as nice as the disc brakes on my Sequoia, but they stop me when needed and look classy. From an old guy (69) trying to keep his heart beating on a budget. Enjoy

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/5/2019
by CJ_7
Cycling Enthusiast
East Coast, baby!
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Better Brakes than stock

Replaced OEM Tekro calipers and much prefer the braking action, feel and looks. Install was straightforward, they do fit Conti GP 4 Season 28's. take your time adjusting them, and you will be rewarded with a firm, responsive feel and great stopping power.

The Ultegra is the 105 caliper with a stiffening frame added, not sure there's much difference, but given the minor costweight delta, the Ultegra seems worth it. And they look good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Outstanding performance

Bought these calipers to upgrade the factory calipers on my Kuota Kiral. .. Bottom line there is no way anyone can argue these calipers don't function as well as dura ace. ... yes dura ace is lighter, but the braking power is similar between the two... save yourself a couple hundred dollars... buy ultegra 8000 line and loose 5 pounds. ..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/5/2018
by Tom
San Diego, Ca
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Fantastic!

A big upgrade from the old 6800 brakes. It is the first time I can remember a noticeable upgrade in components!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 10

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]