Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Shimano SM-SH20 SPD-SL Cleat Spacer Kit

ShimanoSM-SH20 SPD-SL Cleat Spacer Kit(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(13 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(11)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(85%)
(8%)
(8%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/5/2018
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Shimano shims for Shimano cleats

If you use shims on your road shoes and use Shimano cleats, you'll need this product. Instructions are helpful, so pay attention to shim thickness and cleat bolt length, the set includes longer bolts, which you'll need for stacking your shims above 1mm.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/19/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Malvern, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great product

I have tried a number of lifts to correct a leg length discrepancy, but they were all designed to work with multiple pedal types. As a result they never worked really well with my Shimano cleats. These spacers are designed to work with the Shimano SPD SL cleats so they work very well. And the price is right!

One caveat though. I needed a full centimeter of lift (two sets worth) so I had to locate my own mounting screws.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/10/2013
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Campbell, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great option if you need some spacing!

The product worked like a charm. Good solid materials, stacked nicely. It didnt slip when I really cranked down on the bolts for the cleat. Highly reccomend this if you need to level out your leg descrepencies.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dwayne

Reviewed 10/18/2018
by Dwayne
Rule
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent

One of my legs is longer. This product worked great to fix my probt.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/5/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New EnglandMidwest
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Better than Shimano compatible

I split my time between two cities so I have bikes and shoes in each one, and since my right leg was recently found to be shorter than my left I needed to shim two pairs of shoes. As it happened I used these Shimano shims on one pair and a compatible brand on the other. The Shimano shims are more expensive but, I think, quite a bit easier to install properly. Shimano cleats have very small nubs on the side that face the sole of the shoe. These probably dig into the sole a bit when the bolts are tightened and help keep th cleats in place. The Shimano shims have matching pits on their upper surfaces and theyre curved to match the curvature of the cleats. What this means is that the shims mate to the cleats and move with them as you move them around getting everything properly aligned. The compatible cleats move on their own and they can protrude enough to make it hard to clip in, so you want the cleats edges of the cleats and shims to align. Its a smallish thing I guess, but using the Shimano shims saves time and makes it easier to get everything lined up so clipping in and out works smoothly. Thats worth a few bucks.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BHendricks

Reviewed 3/19/2018
by BHendricks
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Work well

These stack really well. Was worried about using more than one but they lock together.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Gitano1

Reviewed 1/15/2018
by Gitano1
Cycling Enthusiast
Bonney Lake WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
If you need them, they are terrific

Years ago a doctor told me that my left leg was slightly longer than my right. I never really noticed that this could be a problem until I changed saddles from an SMP Glider to a Specialized S-Works Power. The Power being a flat saddle allowed me to slide over to the right side in order to compensate for the leg length difference. something that was not as easy to do on a ridged saddle like the SMP. I experimented with the shims starting at 3 MM and finally ended up with 6MM of shims under my right cleat. With these in place I sat squarely on the saddle, and it proved to be the most comfortable saddle I had ever ridden. These were well worth the price as they corrected a long extant problem. With things evened out, it was far easier to find a correct saddle height as well.. I should note that these are designed to work with Shimano road cleats only.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by walt

Reviewed 11/23/2017
by walt
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice product.

It works as intended and are easy to install.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by RickD

Reviewed 9/19/2013
by RickD
Competitive Racer
Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Work perfectly

These work better than the competing shims. These stack together nicely.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by STLfelt

Reviewed 6/26/2013
by STLfelt
Casual Cyclist
St Louis, MO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
exactly what it claims to be

These are great for balancing out my reach on my bike (apparently im a little lopsided). Its nice that you can swap out the 3 different shims for the perfect fit.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Danimal

Reviewed 12/1/2022
by Danimal
Cycling Enthusiast
Midwest
Overall Rating
Leg Difference

Spacer helps even out both legs. Left shoe cleat spacers do the trick for me. Perfect fit with longer bolts.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Lawrence

Reviewed 1/5/2017
by Lawrence
Portland
Overall Rating
One leg longer than the other? You need these!

Use these to balance your leg length while using Shimano road pedals and cleats. Install the correct thickness between your shoe and cleat with the included longer screws and you will be smiling again.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/29/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Works with Look cleats

I have uneven leg lengths. I was looking for spacers specific for my look pedals cleats. However, I found that these are compatible, and work just fine. Will be buying these for the rest of my shoe collection.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 99

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]