FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Shimano SH-XC7 MTB Shoe

ShimanoSH-XC7 MTB Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(19 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(10)
(9)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(53%)
(47%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 10/13/2018
by TallGuyPDX
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice shoe, but fits a bit large

I like the stiffness and feel of the sole on my delicate footbed. It is the same size as previous Shimano MTB shoes, but fits a bit large. The enclosure is close to running out of room to close. These are my first shoes with BOA and I love it so far. They're shiny! I didn't realize that from the photos, but these things are glossy. One or 2 dusty rides helped dull them a bit though.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2018
by Roy
Overall Rating
Quality shoes!!

Outstanding shoe, easy to ride and your feet feels just secure with these pair. Easy to walk when you have to walk for a few minutes , otherwise your feet and legs start to get tired .

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/4/2018
by BikerDad
Cycling Enthusiast
Bend, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Slim and Trim

Bought this shoe to replace a venerable pair of Shimano MO-45's (I think). Was surprised at how light they are and that boa system is downright genius.

Pros They are light and they are plenty stiff while pedaling but flexy enough to run in for short periods (CX style). The boa system is great and the rest of the fit is pretty good too, close and snug in all the right places.

Cons I had to replace the insole to get a comfortable fit, before that it was kind of painful and my feet would go numb after about an hour. The soles are not as grippy as I expected. Jumped off on a rocky tech section and slipped off the rocks that my other shoes would normally grip.

Overall they are great for gravel riding and road riding, good for MTB if you don't ride stuff that requires you to get off the bike in rocky technical terrain.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2018
by Scott
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
All around Great Shoe

This shoe is great for any ride, MTB, cyclocross, pedaling around town, or going for a road ride. The BOA dial makes it easy to take on and off.

Make sure you get the right fit or the tongue will have a tendency to dig into your leg.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/27/2018
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent shoe

best MTB cycling shoe I've worn. reduces resistance significantly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2017
by BKDeluxe
Competitive Racer
Leesburg, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great all around shoe!

I bought these shoes chiefly for cyclocross, and so far they seem to be great for that purpose! I went from a much stiffer shoe to this, so I am noticing a little bit of flex under max effort, but the comfort off the bike and superior fit more than make up for it. Other than during super hard efforts, these feel nice and stiff, and the BOA closure makes sure things stay snug.

Only cons are the extra bit of flex under load, and a little bit lacking in ventilation for really hot riding. Otherwise, look great and feel great!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/31/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Newfields NH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable, lightweight, fits well

Used for all-road endurance cycling, including the occasional hike-a-bike across rough terrain. Sole has excellent traction and a very useful grippy section under the arch. Compared to the shoe it replaced (Sidi Spider), this shoe is considerably lighter and has a roomier toebox. It's a nice looking shoe, understated and not gaudy. Overall, excellent quality and a good value!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/3/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boise, ID
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Light weight and fairly still, yet still comfortable.

The fit isn't as good as my S-Phyre road shoes, but they are still better than any of the other XC shoes I tried. I think the XC9 with the dual boa closure would be quite a bit better, but they are also twice as expensive.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/20/2017
by Fuelfool
Competitive Racer
Arden, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
A great value in a high-performance shoe

I've owned three pairs of Shimano shoes in my thirty years of competitive cycling. They've all been good but never my favorites. Those have always been Specialized. But when Shimano revamped its entire shoe line and I read several favorable reviews of this model, I thought they might be worth a try the next time I was was ready for a new pair. Then BTD had a XX% off sale recently, so I snagged em!

My initial impressions are highly favorable. I was a bit nervous over Shimano not offering half-sizes in this model, but the 45 seems to run just a touch small, so it fit my US 10.5 foot (or usual 44-44.5 in other brands) quite well. It is plenty stiff for my 185lbs., and the BOA system works great. Plus, these things are crazy light. My only hope is that they prove as durable as my ten-year-old Specialized pair I just tossed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/22/2018
by Beachbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Light and comfortable

These shoes are light and comfortable. I really like the comfortable toe box. They have a slightly larger profile than my SIDIs. The heel rubs on the chain stay of my gravel bike. They work great with my Domane.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/26/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great spinning shoes

When I first wore them they were a little tight, but after a few classes they felt better. I love the side wheel for custom fit better than buckle clips from the older pair of Shimanos. I got the red! Nice color!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/15/2018
by mtnCruzer
Cycling Enthusiast
TucsonDurango
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great fit and good power transfer

To date, I have used these shoes road biking with rides up to 60 miles. For me, they fit as well or better than my other Shimano shoes in the same size. Further, power transfer to the petal is efficient with no hot spots. I have used them with a Swiftwick sock as well as a medium thickness wool sock with equally good results. Based on my first half-dozen rides, I am currently planning for these to be my go to gravel riding shoes, including the DK100 this coming June.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/8/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Waiting for Break-In

Purchased the size 48 according to the size chart because I typically wear 12.5 (plus or minus, depending on shoemodel), but it was too large as the heel kept slipping. BTD was great in handling the return and sending a size 47, which fits better, but not perfect. The heel grips okay now (sharkskin inner material), but the front is a little more snug than I prefer, so hopefully this will break-in with more time. I'm not yet convinced the BOA closure provides the best overall adjustment compared to laces, but we'll see how this does with more time. I use these for spirited gravelXCmixed surface rides of 1 - 5 hours in length and the stiffness is pretty good, but not as stiff as their full-carbon soled road shoes. Conversely, it flexes well enough for some hike-a-bike. However, if I were looking for a touring shoe or planned to spend more time off-bike, then I would consider a softer model like the XC5 or ME3.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/5/2017
by Fuelfool
Competitive Racer
Blue Ridge Mountains, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Shoe. Great Value.

A fabulous shoe at a great price on sale. Why pay double for the XC9 for basically an extra BOA dial? The single dial provides a snug fit and the shoe is as stiff as it needs to be for my 185lbs. Got a pair for my wife too and she loves them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/1/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Best Fitting Shimano Shoes I have owned!

These shoes provide not only a superior fit, but also a wonderfully stiff sole! I highly recommend these shoes!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/10/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great fitting shoe

Shoe fits to size, not too big or tight. Boa knob was broke but after returning them for a new pair they have worked amazing on countless rides

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/19/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Fits right at home from the first try

These shoes are simply amazing.

I have tried multiple road shoes and fell in love with the rc7 from a price point to performance ratio and comfort as soon as you wear the shoes so when it came time for me to get mtb shoes it was a no brainer for me to go with the its mtb brother the xc7 witch provides the same instant comfort amazing stiffens and power transfer thanks to its amazing carbon sole and walking is super nice on the trails thanks to its Michelin rubber grip support.

I recommend shimano to anyone who feels they need a shoe that fits right first hand by the way they are very true to size.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/28/2017
by 2009emerson
Cycling Enthusiast
Ridgewood, NJ
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great high performance shoe

The shoe feels good after many miles on the bike. The fit adjustments are very cool, easy to make the shoe tighter or looser on the fly. Shoe runs a little small so I had to get the next size up. Worth the money.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/29/2017
by Andy Howell
milwaukee wisconsin
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Bike shoes

Great fitting(adjustable) bike shoes. Very easy to connect to pedals

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.