Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Shimano SH-MW501 Winter MTB Shoe

ShimanoSH-MW501 Winter MTB Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(35 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(24)
(8)
(2)
(0)
(1)
(69%)
(23%)
(6%)
(0%)
(3%)
Reviewed 1/17/2023
by Dp
Overall Rating
Great winter bike show value

I always wanted to get a pair of winter cycling shoes. These sows are fantastic and I've been using them with my gravel and mountain bike. Order your normal size and the shoes will accommodate thick socks. My feet have been warm and dry even on wet and snowy days. Great value.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/12/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Cape Cod, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Trouble with shoelaces

My shoelaces were damaged by the tightener after 5-6 trips. I need to go find replacement laces already, and am not at all sure how to thread them through tighteners and the little tab at the end.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/24/2023
by minnesotacommuter
Daily Commuter
Minneapolis
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Not a true cold weather shoe

This might qualify as a cold weather shoe in Seattle or Portland, but below 30 degrees Fahrenheit it just does not deliver. I will qualify this with praise for wet and slush protection, which is excellent with the complex, but effective enclosure. However, for my commutes in the 20s and teens Fahrenheit this shoe is hardly better than a leather loafer. Even bulking up with a heavy sock and toe warmers, a recent commute at 12 degrees Fahrenheit left me limping into work with completely numb toes. And I must contradict reviewers who state this shoe has a wide toe box, a claim that can only come from people with very narrow feet. I ordered these shoes in the same size as I get Blundtstones, and they are a good 1/2cm narrower at least. This is a good shoe, but it cannot honestly be sold as winter apparel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/4/2022
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Vermont
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Good fit and warm

I have a pair of XC 7 Shimano shoes that are snug and fit great in the same size 42. No need to size up for these as they are more roomy of a fit to accommodate thicker winter socks. Classic Shimano goodness!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/8/2022
by Phil
Central NYS
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice cold weather shoes

True to size even with mid weight socks. very comfortable and warm for 40 degree 30 mile rides on a gravel bike

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/4/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Erie, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Glad I bought them.

I needed something to keep my feet warm during my first winter of riding. I originally bought covers, and those worked fine, but these winter boots take it to a new level.. They are warm, easy to get into, and easy to set up. I use Egg Beaters on my fat bike, and I've had no problems with fitment. Crank Bros. provides a paper guide to judge if shims are needed, and they were in this case. I also had a little trouble early on because I had not tightened the cleats sufficiently , but reading directions was the remedy here. I use these at any temperature lower than 50deg, and am very glad I decided to buy them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/26/2021
by Alan
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
16 of 18 customers found this review helpful.
Good, but the MW701 are better

I bought the MW501 shoes in size 45, the same size I wear in Shimano RX-800 gravel shoes. The MW701 were out of stock in my size but when they came back in stock I picked up a pair of those as well, so I can offer a direct comparison between the two shoes. The MW501 seem to be well made and are reasonably warm. While my RX-800s are a snug fit, the MW501s in the same size are roomier and allow for thicker socks. However the MW701s are even roomier, and I prefer them to the MW501s. If you want to pile on thick socks or multiple pairs of socks with the MW501 you might want to go up one size from your regular Shimano shoes size. On the other hand if I wear thin socks with the MW701 they almost feel too big. So the MW501 is going to work best for me with medium thickness wool socks for days where it is cool (40deg F +/-) and the MW701 are going to be the go-to when it gets close to freezing or below. Once it gets below freezing my toes are only good for an hour in either shoe unless I add chemical toe warmers, and the extra room in the MW701s allows me to add those without getting too tight.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/25/2021
by Mike
Arkansas
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect

These boots are perfect for cold weather gravel rides. Combined with wool socks, my feet were warm and dry in temps that never got out of the 30s.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/29/2020
by Connecticut Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Connecticut, USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Fit is true to size; fits a wide forefoot

I bought these for the colder weather road and trail cycling I really enjoy at this time of year (December as I write this). I have a wide forefoot, and am very happy with the fit of these shoes. I found the fit to be true, with a bit of additional length--allowing for a thicker (than summer/fall) sock. While my regular bike shoes (both two-hole and three-hole) are 43s and nice and snug, this 43 offers a bit more space.

I've been out in temps around 35F for 30+ miles and, with merino wool socks, my feet remained warm for the entire time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/31/2022
by Steve
PA
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable

So far I wore these shoes in 40 degree weather and 50 degree weather and they were super comfortable. My feet didn't get cold at all. The fit is great. I bought my normal size and actually had plenty of room for my medium Smart Wool Socks.

The shoes feel light for gravel rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/21/2020
by Ombiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Omaha,NE
Value Rating
Overall Rating
15 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Good Medium Winter Weather Boot

I bought these for the times I can use my Road and Gravel bikes in the winter, when the temps are 20 to 40 degrees F. They are easy to get on, lace with the speed lacing system, warm, and water resistant.

The advice I received about ordering the correct size (a size 47), helped for when I use thicker socks than what I would wear in a shoe (size 46 here) for my road bike during the spring, summer, or fall.

When it is extremely cold, below 20 degrees , my gravel bike has combo pedals (flat on one side, SPD on the other) I wear a regular colder weather regular boot.

These are great for the other times and I prefer using my SPD clipless system whenever I can.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/10/2020
by Jeff
Omaha,NE
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect boot for my winter riding

I was looking for a winter boot that would keep my feet warm down to 0F where I call it a day. Typically, I wear a size 12 or 46 EU, the CSR suggested a 47EU to accommodate thicker socks. Ideal fit and comfort. Easy to put on, lace up and wrap.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/16/2020
by Ombiker
Omaha, NE
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Great winter boot

Upon Customer support's recommendation, I ordered one size up to accommodate thicker socks. I could have stayed with 46, but the 47 for my size 12 feet and thick socks still works. So far the coldest I have used these has been in the mid 20s snd never felt cold. Even when out snd the temps in hhe mid 50s, I did not feel too warm or even sweated up the socks.

Overall, very comfortable and works well when conditions are safe enough to use clipless in the winter. When there is ice, I would rather stay with boots that do not clip to get off the pedals faster.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/3/2022
by Anonymous
nyc
Overall Rating
0 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Winter biking is a thing

These shoes are part of that thing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/1/2021
by Anonymous
Saint Johnsbury
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Warm and Tough

Northern Vermont mountains get pretty cold but it's still fun outdoor riding on mtb and gravel. These shoes keep my feet warm and dry. Ridden in as low as -4F with thick wool socks and had no problem. Get a half size larger than normal for thicker sock rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/26/2021
by Anonymous
Wisconsin
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Just right for Wisconsin shoulder seasons

I wanted something for gravel biking in cold fall weather (prior to December snows) and early spring before all the sand they put on our icy roads is gone. These shoes are warm, have a wide toe box that I need and comfortable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/18/2021
by leen
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great Winter Shoe

This shoe works great in the winter in the intermountain west. It is sized slightly bigger than my Sidi or Shimano shoes. That works great for thicker socks. I was comfortable with wool socks into the teens.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2021
by Bill58
Cycling Enthusiast
Pittsburgh PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Roomy and easy to adjust fit.

I use these under 40F, and have gone down to 20F. Roomy enough for heavier wool sox and toe warmers. The sinch laces easily adjusts fit from lighter to heavier sox. Velcro closures complete the fit system and seal off your feet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Dry and Warm feet in nearly all PNW conditions

I've had two sets of these boots. First pair was stolen at the end of last winter so I replaced again this fall. For Pacific Northwest riding, these boots will keep you covered pretty well through most of the winter. I get cold feet really easily, so these come out whenever the temps are below 50. Below 40 I go two pairs of socks. I really don't have any complaints about these boots.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/26/2020
by Jim bosche
NYC
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent fall and winter and late winter into spring shoe

Absolutely love this pair of shoes. The fit was excellent, snapped in and out fantastically, and really kept my feet warm on the cold days. I dont mind my feet being a little warm so I wore them into the spring. I would recommend these to anyone.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 34

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]