Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Shimano RC701E Wide Road Shoe

ShimanoRC701E Wide Road Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(28 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(24)
(2)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(86%)
(7%)
(7%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 10/4/2021
by Anonymous
Redmond, WA
Overall Rating
Surprisingly confortable

It was perfect for for my wide feet. I followed to size guide and turned out just perfect.

These shoes are discreet in black color and easy to adjust and take out. Putting them in requires more effort as the tongue is short and has tendency to go in as insert the feet, so I always have to pull the tongue back in place. Other than that,.it is a pleasure to wear it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/9/2021
by Terry
Cycling Enthusiast
Somerset, KY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Overall okay but would like a couple of improvements

I purchased these shoes for the wide footbed and dual Boa closures to accommodate adjustments while riding. Overall I find the shoe to be comfortable with plenty of space in the toe-box. I have two issues with the shoe: One, I regularly have to tighten the Boas as they get loose over a period of time. It doesn't happen all the time but it will happen a couple of times during a 30-mile ride. I've had bad luck with a saddlebag with Boa restraint so maybe it's just me. The second issue is the top strap and the way it covers the tongue of the shoe. I'm not exactly sure how it happens but the strap and tongue can be positioned just so that it will pinch the top of my ankle. I wish the tongue of the shoe was a bit more "fixed" as it tends to move around, even when the Boa closures are snug. The shoe is light, airy, and comfortable and overall I'm happy with the shoe.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/19/2021
by gs
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Altos, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent product!

I have a wide foot, and this is the most comfortable shoe I ever used.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/30/2020
by fcmccoy
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great update on this shoe

I have held off several years on replacing my prior Shimano RC301 (?) wide fit shoes for fear of how difficult it has been in the past to find a suitable wide-fit shoe - to the point my old ones were held together with super glue and the cleats could not be removed. My skepticism peaked when I held the RC701 next to my old shoes and noted they were on a slightly narrower last. However, now that I have now put a couple of hundred miles on them, I note that the uppers are supple and super adjustable for a perfect fit, the heel conforms well and the power transfer on the sole is as good as any shoe. I guess I should not have waited so long!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/3/2021
by Nick
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Generic mid-range road shoe

These replaced a pair of Sidi Dominators after I switched to Favero Assioma pedals.

I like the Sidis a whole lot more, mostly because of the material quality. These RC701E shoes fit well, look good, and don't weigh a whole lot. I don't think they'll look as good as the Dominators after 16,000 miles, but here's to finding out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2020
by Mr. Happy
Cycling Enthusiast
Ocala, FL. Pretty flat, subtropical
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I'd buy these again.

Allow me to begin by saying I'm hard to fit Narrow heel but have flat feet and a pronounced big toe bunion on the left foot. Right foot bunion isn't as large. I NEED a big toe box. These RC701E shoes offer the adjustability in fitment that I was looking for. The dual BOA adjustments allow each shoe to be fitted for each foot. These were comfortable right out of the box. After installing my Speedplay cleats, the first ride was a joy. My OLD shoes were Specialized brand, with a velcro toe adjustment and BOA instep adjustment....absolutely wore them out.

The RC701E has a carbon sole and is a little stiffer than the Specialized composite sole....one can tell the difference. Have 5 or so rides behind me....still very pleased with them.

If I could give them a 6 rating, I would.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/2/2020
by Gray Ghost
Cycling Enthusiast
Ocala, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Absolutely fantastic!

Superb adjustability, just what I needed. I'd buy these again in a heartbeat. Extremely comfortable, lightweight but a solid platform. You will NOT be disappointed. I need a wide toe box but have narrow heel.....these fit like moose hide moccasins. Love, love, love.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/24/2020
by Bill
Orlando FL
Overall Rating
Excellent road shoes

High quality and awesome style. You can never go wrong with Shimano products.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2020
by Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Lexington SC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great shoe

Did not ride much last summer so when I came back I needed some new shoes . I can notice a difference in my riding and getting more out of each stroke of the pedals . advise getting the next size up that your foot measures up to .

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2020
by SteveF
Cycling Enthusiast
Saint Louis, Missouri
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Form, Function, and Style

I have owned 20 or so pair of cycling shoes over the years, SIDI, Fizik, Garneau, Giro, Northwave, and Shimano. My challenge with all brands is my wide foot D-E and high instep so that finding a sturdy shoe that actually fits without agonizing pain has never yielded a thoroughly great result...until now. My go to road shoe up to this point is a 2017 Shimano SH-RP901 SL, and for the cost is one of the best I've ever worn. I struggled however with the break in and even now after two years can only wear a thin warm weather sock to avoid too much pressure in the toe box resulting in circulation loss and hot foot particularly as Midwest summers heat up. Finally a size 45 shoe that fits like a glove right out of the box the RC 701E is a shoe for all seasons and with the duo BOA system I'm able to fine tune the fit separately at the toe box and instep for complete comfort. The high density carbon composite sole is identical to that of the RP9's and delivers a stable platform for delivery of power directly to the pedals so while you can easily spend twice what these cost, and I have, you won't come close to doubling the styling, fit, and performance. My only gripe is with the stock insole that comes with virtually no arch support. I replaced them with a Specialized insole with which I have had great success due to a serious pronation of the right foot. A great shoe and on sale, what more could you ask for. I'd hardily recommend to a friend. As always, BTD service, pricing, product availability, communication, and super fast shipping makes it second to none.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/18/2019
by mooie
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Looks great and feels great.. Nice shoes!

Nice improvement from previous version.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/14/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great fit

Great compromise between comfort and stiffness. BOA Dial allows you to adjust the fit as needed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Shimano SH-RC7E Wide Road Shoe
Reviewed 7/12/2018
by IslandRider
Competitive Racer
Maui Hawaii
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Light, stiff, comfortable, and affordable, what's not to like?

I've been wearing SIDI shoes since the days when you nailed the cleats on and they used shoe laces. I always loved them and still do. But, as I've gotten older, maybe my feet have gotten more sensitive andor I've grown less tolerant to suffering through long break in periods where I had pressure points, especially on the outside top part of my forefoot. My last new pair of SIDI's is less than 6 months old and on rides longer than a couple of hours, the pain in my feet was barely tolerable. I decided it was time to try something else. Reading a bunch of reviews of the Shimano SH-RC7E shoe, and seeing a great price at BTD, I decided to give them a go. I've not been sorry.

The BOA closure is quick and easy and you can dial in a perfect tension so that the shoe is snug but not biting into your foot. It's easy to dial in a little more or less pressure while you're riding so your feet stay comfortable and the shoes are the right tension for the terrain or riding intensity. These shoes are plenty stiff in the soles, as you'd expect of carbon. The uppers, while very supportive and solid, are not cardboard like and despite their plasticsynthetic materials and appearance, are unexpectedly comfortable. I got the wide version because of pain on the top, outer portion of my forefoot that I experienced with the narrower toe box of my SIDI shoes. I've used cleat wedges as directed to help with that but the Shimano shoes don't cause the agony on longer rides that I experienced with my SIDI's. Bottom line is that if these shoes fit you well, they're great cycling shoes at a pretty affordable price. I wouldn't hesitate to use these for racing or any kind of road riding. I personally prefer these shoes over my SIDI's, which cost twice as much.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Shimano SH-RC7E Wide Road Shoe
Reviewed 2/22/2018
by bullettooth81
Garden City KS
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great shoe regardless of price

Amazing stiffness in the sole. Wonderfully made quality shoe. Is a real bargain in the mid $100 range. Unfortunately i had to return because they caused pain in my right foot. I typically wear a 10-10.5 EE shoe. Ordered these in a 45. Quite long but width was right on.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Shimano SH-RC7E Wide Road Shoe
Reviewed 1/29/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Stiff and Wide, Comfort Delights

I use these shoes on my racy road bike. My motivation to buy these shoes was out of a desire for comfort more so than stiffness. These shoes fit my wide feet well and allow me to ride comfortably for more than 3 hours. The stiffness is all there though! On my climbs I feel little to no flex and can take comfort in the fact that those watts are going straight to the rear wheel. In summary a stylish racing shoe with ample comfort for those of us with feet wider than a ballet dancer ( I have tried on multiple pairs of shoes from different makers, constantly disappointed in how narrow they make their shoes).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Shimano SH-RC7E Wide Road Shoe
Reviewed 1/12/2018
by Zues Duval
Los Angeles, Ca
Overall Rating
Great shoe

Being a novice it was important to me to purchase a quality shoe. I have a wide foot so comfort and fit were primary factors in my decision to purchase this product. After some research I decided to try the RC7E wide. Not only does it provide great comfort and fit it looks great as well. The single boa enclosure and velcro wrap are more than adequate to ensure a snug fit. The shoe is very light weight and the sole is relatively stiff. The uppers are easy to clean . I'd say , that this shoe fits my needs perfectly. My advice also is to buy quality socks as they tend to help attain feet comfort. Bike tires direct pricing is competitive with other sites and I plan to purchase more products in the future.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Shimano SH-RC7E Wide Road Shoe
Reviewed 12/26/2017
by ALB
Competitive Racer
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Awesome

Great shoes! Roomy toe box, lightweight, and stiff.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Shimano SH-RC7E Wide Road Shoe
Reviewed 12/21/2017
by Sbkfig
Cycling Enthusiast
Dunedin, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Big wide toe box, great for wide feet....

These were my first Shimano road shoes, having previously ridden Specialized Elites and Audmax. The Shimano were a perfect fit right out of the box without any need for custom insoles. I was fortunate to get these on sale and couldn't be happier. I use Speedplay pedals so I did have to buy an adapter plate for the cleats, but not a big deal, though they will add about $35 to your ultimate cost. I wish Shimano would provide the adapter for Speedplay cleats with shoe purchase.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Shimano SH-RC7E Wide Road Shoe
Reviewed 10/16/2017
by Andrew
California
Overall Rating
Wide foot heaven!

Love these shoes. I usually wear a 43E and sometimes 43EEE. These shoes fit great. The toe box is roomy and the shoes are stiff, high quality, and the BOA enclosure is a dream.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/18/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
Overall Rating
Great fit, super light

I also ride with the RX8 for my 3E wide feet, and the fit is very similar. I have only 500 miles on the shoe, so it is a bit eary

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 33

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]