Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Shimano Quick Link for 11speed Shimano Chains

ShimanoQuick Link for 11speed Shimano Chains(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(23 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(16)
(4)
(1)
(0)
(2)
(70%)
(17%)
(4%)
(0%)
(9%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Chan S

Reviewed 2/23/2024
by Chan S
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Genuine OEM product, OEM quality

These are a bit pricier than non-Shimano equivalents, and over the years I've used plenty of those without issue, but I do generally prefer these because there is a noticeable difference in how well they securely click together and how long they last.

I have reused them, which is not generally recommended, and over time that secure "click" snapping together does diminish. For most users this is not an issue because the chain will stretch and need to be replaced long before you've worn out this link assuming you're only removing/cleaning/replacing a couple times a year. In my case I immersion wax and ride a lot, so am removing/reinstalling chains about every other week. With that high a frequency I do find that this link needs replacing after 4-8 uses, though my chains long outlive this--I get about 8k miles per chain (not a typo).

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dave

Reviewed 1/25/2024
by Dave
Overall Rating
Very useful

Was a little tough to get the full connection even using the correct tool. It�s a real tight fit, which is good in the long run. Wish they could be used several times before tossing

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Waverider

Reviewed 11/14/2022
by Waverider
Competitive Racer
HUNTINGTON BEACH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Shimano Quick Link for chain waxing

I bought the quick links because I like the ride and feel of a waxed chain. Also marginal savings of a few watts. Most of the quick links should be replaced after one use. They say that they are not reusable. To wax my chain it must be removed from the bike. I use a new quick link every time I wax my chain. The Shimano Quick are working great.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/12/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Only ones i will use..

ClICK..the loud positive click of these links are why i use them..and you need a tool to remove..the srams you can remove with your fingers...not for me..also i reuse many times..shimano says once but when the click diminishes then ill change to new..and the arrow goes in direction of pedaling..

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/19/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
They work and you know they�re authentic

A nice set of shimano quick links that you know are real and not fakes

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/20/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
You just got to have some on hand

Always!

On a ride having a link is essential on the off chance the worst chain issue arises.

If you wax or sonically clean your chain then you need them as it's never good to reuse and old one.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/16/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
You just got to have some on hand

Always!

On a ride having a link is essential on the off chance the worst chain issue arises.

If you wax or sonically clean your chain then you need them as it�s never good to reuse and old one.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by vap6265

Reviewed 4/27/2022
by vap6265
Cycling Enthusiast
Hamilton, Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Simply works

I have used these quick link connectors on both Shimano and SRAM chains with no issue. Contrary to other postings, I've experienced no adverse issues with reusing these links several times after disengaging.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Paul

Reviewed 10/3/2021
by Paul
Competitive Racer
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Easy to use

I keep a link in my saddle bag and travel kit for emergency repairs. The links are also helpful if you remove your chain for deep cleaning and lubrication (e.g., wax or wax-based lubes). I have a cheap tool to undo the links, but they snap into place easily if you lock your brakes, apply force to the pedals, and listen for a slight "pop" sound.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kevin J

Reviewed 7/30/2021
by Kevin J
DFW
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Beats having to use a chaintool.

It does what its supposed to do. I have ised SRAM chains on my Campy equipped bike for years and their Power Links are easier to use than Shimano, but it is 9-speed vs. 11-speed, so that may account for tools needed on the 11-speed (no tools for SRAM 9-speed). If the Shimano Quick Link isn't installed properly, you'll know it, but still, link took is easier than a chain tool

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by gfparsons

Reviewed 3/3/2020
by gfparsons
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 27 customers found this review helpful.
Does not snap together.

Never again is the 1 star rating and indeed, my sentiments. I spent an hour with this link and even tried it off the chain to see if it would couple. A hammer succeeded, but of course, it won't come apart and the pins are likely bent. Thankfully off the chain. I will try the Sram master link next.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by GdogPDX

Reviewed 9/9/2019
by GdogPDX
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Easy upgrade for any chain

All chains should have a quick link. I suffer from obsessive chain cleaning disorder OCCD. This helps with my need to clean my chain every few weeks.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by OHRider

Reviewed 8/16/2019
by OHRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Shimano parts always work as described and never disappoint.

Although my first experience with a quick-link connector I was suitably impressed. Using the Park Tool MLP-1.2 Master Link Pliers, installation was easy and has proven reliable,

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Brandon

Reviewed 7/29/2019
by Brandon
Portland,OR
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Functions well but can make noise.

Got an ultegra chain and one of these little guys to connect it. Very easy process and all is well however the quick link likes to disengage on one of the pulleys creating an annoying clicking sound. Hopefully it goes away after the new cassettes teeth wear down a bit.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by LoRider

Reviewed 5/2/2019
by LoRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
It works. That's all it has to do.

Hard to rate this item. It works! It's easy! It's a quick link. Buy a few and carry them with you. When you need them, you'll be glad you have them. If you never need one, that's okay, too. It's light. So...buy it! It works. End of story.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Old Rider

Reviewed 1/21/2019
by Old Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Auburn Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Works great

I always used KMC 10 speed chains in the past. I decided to stick with Shimano 11 speed chains with my newer bike. I had a real hard time installing the Quick Link first time around. I always lined up the KMC Missing links and ran in though the big ring and it would snap into place. No such luck with the Shimano Quick Link. I must have tried about a dozen times. It would drop off onto my garage floor. Finally I put it in the small chain ring, small (11 tooth) cog in back and it went into place after I placed pressure on the pedals (I acually rode a few feet) and I heard it click into place. I never had any luck installing a connecting link with tool. Near impossible to get one off without one. Note -these are only good for one application. If you remove your chain, you need to install a new Quick Link (per Shimano). However-no need to remove your chain for cleaning.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jhersom

Reviewed 5/31/2021
by Jhersom
Tillamook
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
These make changing the chain easy

I love these links, I do wish they could be used more than once, but they are a great way to break a chain.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MarathonMan

Reviewed 2/24/2018
by MarathonMan
Cycling Enthusiast
SE States
Value Rating
Overall Rating
15 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Works Great After Installation

I have used SRAM, KMC, and Wippermann Connex connector links in the past with no real installation issues. Nevertheless I recently purchased a Park Tool MLP-1.2 Master Link Pliers which made installation and removal of KMC links an order of magnitude easier. The recent purchase of a Dura-Ace 11-speed chain came with this new Shimano Quick Link instead of the usual pin. I dutifully tried to use the pliers (which work in both directions for installation and removal) to seat the link after partially engaging it. The link would not seat no matter how much pressure I applied to snap it into place. A call to my LBS suggested standing on the pedals and applying pressure. Before trying that, I took needle nose pliers and gently squeezed the outside of the plates to push them inward before trying the MLP-1.2 again. THAT WORKED! The link snapped into place and has worked flawlessly while riding. Ease of removal is TBD.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Robi

Reviewed 2/19/2021
by Robi
Puerto Rico
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great!

Recomended 100%

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ariolimax

Reviewed 5/18/2023
by Ariolimax
Santa Cruz
Overall Rating
Easy to use

It's easier to use than the SM-UG51 or chain pin-style connectors.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]