Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Shimano Polymer Coated Brake Cable Set

ShimanoPolymer Coated Brake Cable Set(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(13 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(11)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(85%)
(15%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/20/2023
by Anonymous
Louisiana
Overall Rating
There is no better cable

This cable, especially matched with Shimano components, is as good as it gets. Installation and operation are so very, very smooth. The communication with the brakes is flawless and seemingly instantaneous.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Art Olin

Reviewed 8/9/2020
by Art Olin
Sweet Home, Or.
Overall Rating
Great product

My old cables were 16yrs old and had faded over the years but I didn�t realize how much until I put fresh cables in....wow! What a difference....

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/28/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
New cables

These new cables are working great.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kenny

Reviewed 4/28/2022
by Kenny
Ohio
Overall Rating
Great product!

Easy to install, works perfect. What more can a guy ask for?

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/12/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great brake cables

These polymer coated brake cables are very slick. The installation was very easy, and am using them with the non 9000 or 6800 series brakes, (7900). I did take care though to scrape off the cable coating where it gets clamped in by the fixing bolt, I'm a bit paranoid about the cable slipping through the clamp. Great cable.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by OHRider

Reviewed 8/16/2019
by OHRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Shimano parts always work as described and never disappoint.

Have recently transitioned from Campagnolo mechanical to Shimano Dura-Ace Di2. This cable set provided the finishing touch to D-A's excellent shifting and braking systems

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Merlin

Reviewed 11/30/2018
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Works well.

These cables have been working fine. What else can I say.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/29/2021
by Anonymous
sweet home, or
Overall Rating
Great product

Installation went smooth and was very easy.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Phil

Reviewed 9/16/2017
by Phil
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth shifting as Expected

There are lots of other shifter cables on the market. These aren't cheap, but they do a great job to restore smooth, quick shifting, and they're easy to install.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/22/2017
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Works like a champ

Easy to use and lasts a long time.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Russ

Reviewed 4/28/2022
by Russ
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Oregon coast
Overall Rating
Great cables

I've had several sets of these on different bikes, the polymer coating and the housing are very good in my opinion. Unfortunately, the 800mm long cable housing for the front brake is too short for slacker gravel frames with disc brakes and wider bars and longer headtubes. And this is on a 56cm frame.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/14/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very slippery high quality cables

I bought this cable set for a bike equipped with Ultegra 6500 (Shimano does not approve the use of these cables without Dura-Ace 9000 brakes). The polymer coating on this set can be scratched off with sandpaper, so that is what I did when securing the cables in the brakes. Great set of cables, probably the best you can buy.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/31/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
san jose
Overall Rating
Typical high quality Shimano component.

Replacement for existing cables.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]