Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Shimano PD-RS500 SPD-SL Pedals

ShimanoPD-RS500 SPD-SL Pedals(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(23 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(18)
(4)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(78%)
(17%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by C

Reviewed 3/6/2022
by C
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Inexpensive, yet so far work as well as their higher end counterparts

I bought these for my indoor bike, so they don't see see the same miles and abuse as my Ultegra R8000s, but overall feel is identical. Clipping in and riding, I can't distinguish the two. Plus since they come with the yellow cleats, which I needed anyway, it makes them an even better value. One thing I might note is the bearings don't have the smooth, fresh-grease feel that my Ultegras have. I don't feel it while pedaling, just when I rotate them by hand. If you're someone who puts many thousands of miles on pedals, then maybe it will make a difference, who knows. Overall solid purchase, and considering the price, maybe I'll get these for my road bike if my Ultegras ever die.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/19/2021
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Just what i needed

my old shimano cleats kept popping out on climbs. So far these are doing the job, plus i feel the power distribution is better and more effective

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by cg

Reviewed 6/23/2020
by cg
Cycling Enthusiast
Asheville NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
A quality component from Shimano at a budget price

The pedal is marketed towards 'amateur cyclist'. This is a bit misleading. The design, construction and weight (315gpair) are almost identical an older model Ultegra, which these were bought to replace. Recommended. Put the money saved towards a good pair of cycling shoes.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/8/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Central PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Overall, a good value

Use it on my daily ride. They work fine.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Quin

Reviewed 1/21/2022
by Quin
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good pedal

I have about 1k miles on pedals and no problems. The yellow cleats i did not like as much, found it hard to release from pedal. The blue cleats work better for me but had to buy separately.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Review for Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals
Reviewed 3/16/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado Frontrange Foothills
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Work as expected

They do the job. I want all my (and my family's) bikes to use the same system so the pedals are a low cost way for converting old and cheaper bikes.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mpirog

Review for Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals
Reviewed 8/23/2019
by mpirog
Cycling Enthusiast
Devine, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
First time with these type of pedals

As with the shoes this is the first time I have used this type of pedal. At times I have issues trying to clip in but I think I'm just overthinking the process and I know after a few more rides clipping in will become more natural.

Once clipped in the pedals keep me locked in with just enough float to keep up a steady cadence. I will keep this setup for a year or so and then look into upgrading.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Don Biker

Review for Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals
Reviewed 8/15/2019
by Don Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Pedals

Got these to take to France to use on another bike. I use another set of the same pedals on the bike I own. They are tough, light, and easily installed. Good product!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DR Dave

Review for Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals
Reviewed 5/25/2018
by DR Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Bayfield, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Truly a bargain in clipless pedals

I often recommended this pedal to new riders, it has an easy to enter platform. It is a great value, even better on sale with typical Shimano quality.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Norcal rider

Review for Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals
Reviewed 3/30/2018
by Norcal rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Auburn Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
st pedal for the price

For the money you can't find a better road pedal. I have a couple of pairs of Look Keo pedals, (uncluding the new Keo 2 blade). I prefer the Shimano pedals as they have a wider cleat platform , easier to clip in, and the cleats last forever (compared to the Keo's). I think Shimano uses the same bearings for all their road pedals, only difference is the pedal body, these are alluminum. The only problem I have encountered with the Shimano pedals is if you are constantly messing with the tension release, afer a period of time, you stop getting that positive clicking sound letting you know that you have advanced to the next higher or lower setting. I set mine in the middle range and don't fiddle with it. Why spend close to or over a hundred dollars when these will do the job for a fantastic price?

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SG

Review for Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals
Reviewed 3/1/2018
by SG
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great Beginner Pedals

Really good pedals.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Review for Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals
Reviewed 1/25/2018
by Anonymous
cape fear
Overall Rating
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great for the money

All around the required function

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Review for Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals
Reviewed 11/2/2017
by Anonymous
Ogden Ut
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
White Shimano pedals

I got thes pedals because of price. They are just as awesom as the Dura Ace pedals i used daily for almosr eight years i may get another pair for my other Road bike.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Joe

Reviewed 12/11/2023
by Joe
Tennessee
Overall Rating
Great product

Love these pedals. Great performance without the cost of the higher level siblings!! A must purchase for a road cyclist!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by roninmn

Reviewed 10/14/2022
by roninmn
Competitive Racer
Minneapolis, MN
Overall Rating
Great pedals great price

Works just like the more expensive versions and includes a pair of cleats.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/17/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
Overall Rating
They're great, just buy them

Clip in and forget about them. They're light, they're easy to clip into and they're problem free

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/15/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Excellent product

Excellent product. Just as described

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/16/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Excellent product

Excellent product. Just as described

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Verelle

Review for Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals
Reviewed 9/15/2014
by Verelle
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great pedals for the price

I just switched to these pedals from my old hand-me-down pair because I wanted a pair with 'float'. These are great! They were easy to transition to, and the pedals are large enough that I can use them with my street shoes.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Momentum

Review for Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals
Reviewed 9/21/2017
by Momentum
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland Oregon
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
My first road bike pedals and they work great!

My first road bike pedals. I have SPDs on my other bike but these work well and are easy to clip in and out of. I'm just getting back into riding again, not sure if I'd appreciate the lighter versions. Maybe I'll get the lighter versions for my next road bike.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]