Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Shimano PD-M540 SPD Clipless Pedals

ShimanoPD-M540 SPD Clipless Pedals(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(31 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(25)
(6)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(81%)
(19%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 12/23/2022
by East Coast biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Eastern US
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The SPD pedal is an easy in and out. I've tried the rest.

I use these on my road bikes. Super easy to clip in and out at lights and other stops.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/8/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Ideal clip in/clip out

This item was easy to install. It also fits both of my bike shoes with a quick release

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/16/2022
by DrumEmpo
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Charles, MO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Hold On Tight!

Finally upgraded my pedals on my 2021 Giant Advanced Revolt 3. These pedals perform as expected and keep the compliment the existing color scheme. Sturdy clip-in with a quick release when needed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/2/2020
by bhanna5
Casual Cyclist
Conshohocken, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
These were a game changer for me

Easy to use and install, the M540s completely changed the feel and ride of my hybrid bike. Being new to cycling, I had no idea how powerful and connected clipless pedals make a rider feel. I took to riding longer and much faster, and the pedals never disappoint. Shimano makes a great product here, and a couple of my friends now ride the same clipless pedals. Quite honestly, there's no way I'd want to ride my bike without them. I stay clipped in and getting out is a snap. I have had a few mishaps where I forget or slow down to a stop too soon, which has caused a couple spills. After installation, I would suggest practicing for a few minutes before attempting your normal ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/1/2018
by Sisophous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Rochelle, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Works Great With No Adjustments needed

These work perfectly with nothing required to adjust. The is one big issue I had and that was my pedals I was replacing after 23 years of usage were impossible to remove from my bike. I had the right tool but could not get them off and even the bike shop struggled and had to take the bike to the back of the shop and mount it. So I dished out $12 in labor cost to get the old pedals off and these installed. Don't be surprised if you have the same issue. There is no reason to purchase any other similar pedals. These are lightweight and are flawless.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/24/2020
by David
Cycling Enthusiast
Greenville, SC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect and inexpensive.

Great pedals for anyone who wants to wear "walkable" bike shoes (recessed cleats). Double sided and easy to get in and out of. I use them on my road bike. Light and versatile.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/26/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Steamboat Springs, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Solid, good quality pedals; expect they will last as long as my 1990s SPD road pedals

Solid pedals; good quality; function well, minimal maintenance. I have been riding Shimano SPD pedals on all my bikes for several decades. My son got me to try other brand pedals which were ok but I ride mountain, gravel and road in the same set of shoes so SPD pedals work the best for me. I still use a set of road SPD pedals from the early 90s that still work great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/19/2017
by Double E
Cycling Enthusiast
St George, Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
SWEET

Been using egg beaters thinking they were easier to clip in and out until i tried a pair of 540. so far they have been very reliable and easy to get clipped inout. would buy again

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/13/2020
by Alan
Katy
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great pedals!

This is my fourth set of double-sided Shimano pedals of this type. They are good looking, rugged, and, in my opinion, faster in and out of than the typical road bike Look style or even Speedplays. I know most riders think of these as mountain bike pedals but they are the primary style of road bike pedals I have used in in over 10 years and over 37,000 miles in my road bikes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2020
by Jim
Wisconsin
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great pedals!

I had some older shimano pedals and was noticing too much float. I bought these and bingo, my knee problems subsided.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/17/2020
by Gecko Sprock
Cycling Enthusiast
Washougal Hills
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice Pedals Easy Clip INOut

Use it on my road bike. Easy clip inout. No false clip-outs.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/16/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Solid performer

Well made for years of service. Only issue was they were not fully lubricated, so had to oil them after first couple of rides. But otherwise great!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/28/2021
by Rich Moll
Daily Commuter
Hartford, CT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Well designed & built

I installed on my new Roubaix. Pedals are operating smoothly. I prefer SPD on my road bikes, cuz I like to stop & explore by foot a lot of the time. wearing MB shoes allows me to do this.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2014
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Sturdy Girdy

Crank brothers blew up in the middle of a long ride. Very frustrating. Now I'm back to these pedals on my commuter, mountain bike, and cross bike. Reliable and inexpensive.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/5/2014
by ScottP
Competitive Racer
Eugene, Or
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Crank Bros to SPD

So I have been using Crank Brothers Egg beater pedal for years. I broke one once during a race, and have blown out bearings. So at the advise of many fellow racers I made the switch to SPD. These 540, XT & XTR pedals. Immediately with all three levels I noticed a larger, better platform under my foot. ( I use carbon soled MTB shoes) These pedal just feel solid. I did a race last week which was very muddy. These didn't seem to shed the mud like I remember egg beaters doing, but I could be wrong. I made this switch this within 6 months, so I feel to be more fair to crank bros I need to allow more evaluation time, but so far, IM liking the change.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/24/2018
by Mister Magoo
San Francisco
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great Upgrade

Ive used the 520s for years now and finally upgraded my bikes to the 540s. For me, the decision came down to higher quality materials used on the spindle of the 540 vs the 520, and the better support feeling of the cleat interface. The 520s are great if you are unsure of clipless and want to try it. The 540s are perfect for an upgrade and a rider who wants to get more adventurous with their rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/9/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Works!

No other description needed. Just works and a great price to boot!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/31/2017
by NordMN
Competitive Racer
Northern Minnesota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great pedals for my GravelCyclocross Bike

Purchased these pedals for my new GravelCyclocross bike. These pedals have the performance I was looking for in an all-round performer for a variety of riding conditions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/9/2017
by Rides in the rain
Cycling Enthusiast
Edmonds, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Shimano pedals - reliable and as tough as they come.

Smooth-turning, tough, general purpose clip-in pedal. Works well for road or mountain biking I have the same style of pedals on both types of bikes and like the fact that I can switch bikes without worrying about different shoes. I'm still using other SPD pedals dating back eight years and they keep spinning without any problems. I put this pair on a new road bike. One quibble is that because they are double-sided, there is a slight weight penalty over single-sided clip-in pedals. Over than that, a great pair of pedals and, of course, delivered with Bike Tire Direct's speedy delivery service.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2019
by Berlinerluft
Cycling Enthusiast
Berlin, Germany
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Perfect!

After a lifetime of Look-type pedal, I decided to give these a go as I do a lot of longish distance riding and it's nice not tearing up cleat after cleat. Solidly built and efficient.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 67

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]