Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Shimano PD-M520 SPD Pedals

ShimanoPD-M520 SPD Pedals(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(58 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(46)
(10)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(79%)
(17%)
(3%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Mike

Reviewed 2/1/2024
by Mike
PA
Overall Rating
Great product, great price, easy ordering

This is my go to gravel pedal. Durable, easy to clip in and out, easy to maintain. Great price and the usual easy order and fast shipping from BTD.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Vintage Steel

Reviewed 1/8/2024
by Vintage Steel
Nortern Minnesota
Overall Rating
Great pedals.

I�ve been using Shimano pedals for years without any problems.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by [email protected]

Reviewed 5/23/2023
Cycling Enthusiast
Lake Norman NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Shimano PD-M520 pedals awesome and affordable gravel pedal

The Shimano PD-M520 pedals are an awesome and affordable gravel pedal. The pedal is very well made and I have never had an issue or problem with them. Maintenance and service is easily done. I find these pedals just as good as the higher end XT/XTR pedals. Very please with this purchase.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/10/2023
by Anonymous
Boston
Overall Rating
Proven pedals

I run these on my gravel bike, roadie, and commuter bike in all conditions all seasons in New England and no issues. Great value.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Nick S

Reviewed 7/27/2019
by Nick S
Daily Commuter
Coeur d''Alene, ID
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Clipless is not for me.

I bought this as an entry level clipless pedal, and felt the value was good. After riding it around the block a few times, I really liked it. However, when I rode it to work, my toes would go numb. I tried adjusting cleat position and seat height to no avail. This could because of my casual cycling shoes (Shimano CT5) I was using did not have a stiff enough bottom, rather than the pedal's fault, but needless to say, I stopped using both of them.

My only complaint about this product is that it's impossible to return because the clips and pedals will never be like new after first use. I would have returned them, but it's honestly just the nature of the product. You can't return it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/13/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Best pedal for CX

I switched from eggbeaters to these, very happy with easy engagement and hold. I recommend them. Good value

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ken Thompson

Reviewed 10/20/2021
by Ken Thompson
Milwaukee
Overall Rating
Excellent product!

It was easy for me to adjust and learn how to use my first clip in type pedals. They seem indestructible.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/9/2021
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Simple pedal system that works every time

For a bottom of the barrel pedal in this range, they sure do work great. Yeah they might be a few grams heavier than their more expensive counterparts, but when your CX bike is covered in mud, grams don't matter anymore. Clip in and out each time, no binding, no issues. Adjustable tension too!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Randy

Reviewed 8/13/2021
by Randy
Hillsville
Overall Rating
Great pedals

These are my first clipless pedals for my mountain bike. They work great on the rail trails I ride most of the time. I have been using clipless on my road bike for years. It's great to be using clipless on both road and gravel.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by josephjohnsiv

Reviewed 12/29/2016
by josephjohnsiv
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
affordable pedals that just work

the pedals work great, and are super affordable. Probably will last a lifetime too because Shimano.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/29/2016
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent value and great performance

Excellent value and great performance. Bought these for my wife as her first clip pedals. They work great and are very easy to use. Seem rugged and dependable.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Gravel Biker

Reviewed 1/5/2021
by Gravel Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Lebanon PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Best pedals for gravel road bike

Started riding gravel road bike to get away from automobiles!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dave

Reviewed 12/3/2020
by Dave
Upstate, N.Y.
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Very pleased

First time clipless rider following many decades of toe clips . Easy to install. East to adjust tension of release mechanism. Apprehension abated.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/16/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 18 customers found this review helpful.
Good for a few thousand miles, not rebuildable,

Shimano Pedal Dynamics (SPD) are the pedals I used when I went clipless 15 years ago. I wore out 3 set of SPD's, never found a rebuild kit. 10 years ago I switched to Crank Bros Eggbeaters and Candy, for which I have rebuild kits ($10) and rebuilt 1 set. Cleats wear out before the pedal bearings. I remember a few episodes of SPD's jamming on engagement/disengagement. Scary when the pedal won't let go of your foot. Crank Bros are rebuild-able and smoother engage/disengage.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/26/2015
by Anonymous
Northern California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great value for the price.

Haven't ridden enough (yet) but so far I like them better than my old Look style pedals. Much easier to get out of.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Gecko Sprock

Reviewed 12/19/2019
by Gecko Sprock
Cycling Enthusiast
Washougal Hills
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice Pedals Easy Clip INOut

25 Years with these Shimano SPD Style Pedals. They've never caused issues, good float. Used mainly on my road bikes.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/1/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
excellent product

I just don't know, why I didn't order this sooner. It looks good and does his purpose. I ride more than 3,000 miles a year, so I need something in good quality and since all my other accessories are from Shimano, this completes my bike.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by RP

Reviewed 4/1/2019
by RP
Daily Commuter
Sacramento, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent Value - Highly recommended

These pedals are working great! I did have to adjust the tension several times to get into and out of them safely. I am not sure why someone would spend 10 times the amount for a pedal that weighs a few grams less. They spin fine, don't make noise, hold securely. I am happy with the purchase. Maybe those expensive pedals are awesome, but these are well worth the money I paid. No complaints.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/29/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Didnt break the bank

Nice price for a nice pedal. Particularly like the option of using the bolt for installation instead of only

the hex option through the stem.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/10/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
best pedals for the price

Identical clipless mechanism to the more expensive pedals. Unless you want a larger platform or care about grams, save your money and by this.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]