FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Shimano PD-A600 SPD Pedals

ShimanoPD-A600 SPD Pedals(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(20 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(13)
(6)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(65%)
(30%)
(5%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 4/4/2017
by Ed''s shop
Cycling Enthusiast
Xenia, Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best of both worlds

You like SPD's for walking in but don't really need a double sided pedal? This is the answer, an SPD that is designed for road use. This is my second set that I use for my commuter bike and now for my trike. I like the wider platform of the single sided clip since I am not having to get in and out as frequently. This is the easiest pedal I own for getting in and out of especially on my trike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/30/2017
by Brooks
Cycling Enthusiast
Pasadena, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great lightweight SPD road pedals

I like SPD so I can walk in the shoes and not slip on my rear.

These pedals are longer than most MTB pedal, which seems to eliminate a hot spot I was getting under my toes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/16/2017
by Rick C.
Boston
Overall Rating
SPD pedals for roadies

I liked my mtb spd pedals & shoes so much that I realized I should also put spd pedals on my road bike. I use the same shoes (Sidi mtb) for both mtb & road, now. These pedals are solid performers using a nice platform for sole support. These are one-sided pedals, not dual like my mtb spd pedals.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/15/2017
by epbob
Cycling Enthusiast
El Paso, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent for touring

i normally use SPD-SL cleats for road use but was preparing for a 7-day tour across Iowa, the RAGBRAI. This was my first time to do a ride like this and the friend I was riding with said we would be doing a lot of walking. He recommended SPD pedals with shoes that would be easy to walk in. My wife already uses these pedals with the Shimano SM-SH56 SPD Cleats which are very easy to get in and out of so I decided to try them. Combined with some cycling sandals, they turned out to be a comfortable alternative that were very functional for the RAGBRAI which featured so many riders that we had to walk thru every town we went thru. I was glad that I changed to these pedals. I plan on using them for a bike and barge tour we are planning on doing this fall.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/13/2015
by Hill-Pumper
Cycling Enthusiast
Willamette Valley OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great, touring gravel bike pedal

I bought these to put on my gravel bike. Interestingly, they weight less then Ultegra road pedals, but have close to the same surface area. The advantage of going to these were that they match the performance of my road pedals, but let me use a shoe that can be walked in. I paired them with a set of stiff carbon sole mountain bike shoes, and they have worked well for me with this combination. As other reviewers have noted, they are only one sided, which may not work in certain situations, but since I am use to road style pedals, they are not an issue for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/26/2017
by Desmond
sacramento
Overall Rating
Great pedals

I prefer MTB shoes on my road bike, these pedals are light weight, look good and work well! What more could one ask for?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/18/2013
by Ed''s Shop
Cycling Enthusiast
Dayton, Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
SPD at its best

This is not going to be the first choice for cyclo-cross racers. If, however, you enjoy gravel roads and mountain trails than these pedals are top notch. They are as easy to get in as my road pedals, with all the benefits of the SPD system. The larger platform provides greater support than double sided SPDs. I have installed these on my cross bike as well as my winter commuter. They are nicely finished and lighter than my old SPDs

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/3/2012
by commuter
Cycling Enthusiast
Wilmington, DE
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
the one sided clip-in gravitates to the bottom, must turn pedal over before clipping in.

Not so good for commuters who ride in city traffic with numerous stops at lights and intersections. As noted above you have to turn the pedal over before clipping in. This is a nuisance and a potential hazard for commuters. Otherwise, the pedal is very light, very stable, and it transfers power very well. Ideal for touring.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/23/2017
by Andi S.
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
Good pedals, still getting used to them, but solid product

Although I only road bike, I prefer SPD (versus SPD-SL) because I like to walk normally in the shoes when I'm off the bike (at a cafe, for example). I have been using Shimano M520 pedals for a year, which are double-sided but your only contact point with the shoe is the clip itself. These A600s look to be a good solution to someone like me who wants to stay on SPD but is looking for a bit more contact area- hoping that a bigger contact area between my shoes and the pedals will allow me to have a bit more stability on the pedal and transfer more power through the pedal than before. I did not have any problem with the M520s, so this is more of a let's see if this helps purchase.

Because these pedals are one-sided, it does take more time to clip in...can't just blindly stamp down like I did with the double-sided pedals. I wish the pedals would spin a bit more freely, so that they would always hang down in the same position (pointing upward). The bearings seems to have a bit of friction to them so the pedals don't always return to the same rotation under gravity.

Also, my shoes don't seem to clip in as clearly as they used to- I often don't hear the click, it's more of a mash. Clipping out is fine-same effort as the previous pedals.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/29/2017
by Alex B
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
Solid road pedal

Great road cycling pedal. SPD remains at the top of my list because of its durability and ease of use. I was used to double-sided pedals, but transitioning to one-sided was quite natural.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/22/2017
by Sewbike
Olympia
Overall Rating
Great pedals

I love these spd pedals. Very effective when clamped in and of course with spd cleats, you can actually walk around without slipping. I would purchase these pedals again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/4/2015
by jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
San Rafael ca.
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
It was a great experience. Product was delivered print. Put them on and went for a ride. Thanks

I have bad feet this pedal is very comfortable. I put in over 100 miles a week.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/13/2017
by amanana
Cycling Enthusiast
Spokane, WA
Overall Rating
Great pedals!

I've used several types of pedals over the years and these are my favorite. They're lightweight, durable, provide great support and are easy to get in and out of.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/23/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice Touring Option

I had the 530's, and while I like the 2 sided option, these pedals are lighter and appear to be of a higher build quality. No issues so far

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/12/2015
by Boomer 1045
Cycling Enthusiast
Knoxville,TN
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A very good single sided pedal.

Purchased these for a new bike project six months ago. Very smooth bearings compared to the A520 which I have on another bike. Adjust tension back all the way neg. then add 12 to 34 turn pos. to start with which worked for me. I am 5'-8 at 150 a larger/stronger rider may need to add more tension. A good mountain bike shoe and SPD cleats are hard to beat unless your are a team rider and road pedals are SOP. Another plus, I read in Bicycle Quarterly these pedals have bearings that can be rebuilt. Do not worry about scratches it just means you are not riding enough! Great pedal for the price and you almost forget about them they work that well. Buy a pair and enjoy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/4/2015
by Airhead
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City, UT
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect Crossover

I hate the need for two sets of shoes/pedals - one for road, one for mtb. This pedal solves that problem. I put a pair on my high-end carbon road frame, and haven't looked back. Weight is good, platform is great, one-sided works great on the road when you're not in and out of the pedal a lot (such as MTB), and the SPD system is the same as my MTB, meaning I'm not scrounging around for the other shoes everytime I want to change my ride. Buy 'em.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/18/2014
by Thomas Stemper
Wosconsin
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice pedals

I tour and was using entry level pedals. The compromise being I wanted a platform on one side. By giving up that feature I now enjoy far superior bearings and the performance difference is huge without a huge investment in dollars. Pedals are bearings first convenience second. I can ride farther with more comfort than I could before.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2014
by CycleRod_66
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington
Overall Rating
Larger platform is more comfortable on my feet

I am using these pedals on my steel frame commuter. I like the SPD compatibility making it easy to walk in my cycling shoes if I stop at the store. The larger platform these pedals offer is more comfortable than my previous small platform SPD's.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/24/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene, OR
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice lightweight pedals

I got these to go on my carbon frame bike. Took a little while to get the cleats adjusted right, but working great now. I've only had them for a month or so and they're already pretty scratched up, but that doesn't bother me too much.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/11/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Light and tight.

These are light for SPD pedals, given their price. And for a guy that rides around town a ton in regular sneakers, the extra platform is welcome! Folks say they get scratched up easily... um they are pedals... it is a bike, it gets scratched up.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.