Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Shimano Mens SH-RC702 Wide Road Shoe

ShimanoMen's SH-RC702 Wide Road Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(9 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(8)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(89%)
(11%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by MC

Reviewed 7/10/2023
by MC
California
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great Shoe!

I upgraded from the 502 wides. The 702 wides are much more comfortable and much more stiff. As a point of reference my foot is EE in terms of width. The width suits me just fine. No hot spots or cramped toes. Most importantly, you can feel your effort transferring through the shoe to the pedal. You may not see a bump in FTP, but you won�t fatigue nearly as fast either. The dual Boa system is a nice touch as well. Easy to adjust while riding.

I love BTD. They regularly run sales on Shimano shoes. While these are not overly expensive, it�s always nice to save a few bucks here and there.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/20/2023
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Lancaster, CA, USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love these shoes, stiff, light, fit right..........

Love these shoes, stiff, light, fit right..........

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/16/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Nice update to the previous model

I rode a pair of RC701's for about 10,000 miles and just picked these up to get a little more room from the wide model. I wouldn't have replaced the old pair if they hadn't started to feel constricting, but I'm glad I did. Apart from the wide fit which I should have switched to ages ago, the burrito style closure (no separate tongue) is really great as I always struggled to get the tongue in the right place with the old pair. This seems to help the boa dials tighten down more evenly.

The ventilation is also noticeably better, so much so that they are almost TOO well ventilated for the Northern California winter. The perforations on the upper go much further back than on the prior model, so the light toe covers I usually use don't cover all the vents, and there's also a second vent/drainage hole in the heel now in addition to the one under the toes. I've found myself taping over the vent holes, which I never had to do with the 701's, and pulling out my full shoe covers I usually only use for rain. That said, I'm really looking forward to that extra airflow when it warms up.

In all, the 701's were a great shoe for a good price and these have a few marked improvements. I wouldn't ditch a perfectly functional pair just to get the new model, but they're well worth a look if it's time for new shoes anyway, especially if you can wait for another sale.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BarrieM

Reviewed 7/13/2023
by BarrieM
Northeast
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Fantastic

Fantastic shoes in every way. Comfortable, great adjustability, and they look great.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Les

Reviewed 7/7/2023
by Les
Overall Rating
Nice wide fit.

My old feet have splayed out requiring wider shoes and these have ample space in forefoot. I did swap the footpads that came with the shoes for better OTC inserts, which resolved some metatarsal discomfort. Only downside is a bit of struggle putting them on. I resorted to using a shoehorn. I am very satisfied.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Chris G.

Reviewed 7/27/2023
by Chris G.
Cycling Enthusiast
Little Rock, AR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good quality and nice fit

I really like these shoes. They are fairly stiff but comfortable. The BOA dials allow you to get the shoes exactly as tight as you prefer. I would buy these again.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dale

Reviewed 10/20/2022
by Dale
Pittsburgh, PA
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent value

When you consider everything this shoe has going for it, its hard to believe irs not priced among other brand top tier shoes. They're comfortable, stiff, light, good looking, and made to last.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Timbo

Reviewed 7/14/2022
by Timbo
Arizona
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Shimano RC702 Road Shoe

Needed new pair of shoes and found these at a great price. Shoe fits like a glove and very comfortable. Nice toe box. Good stiffness for the climbs. Happy to have Dual Boas to make easy adjustments. More comfortable that my S-Phyre from few years back!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/19/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Green Bay, WI
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent show

I waited to review this show until I rode with it for pretty much the entire season. I am very pleased with it. I appreciate the wide width and it's not crazy wide. Stiffness is perfect for how I ride. My guess is if you're a hard racer you'd want something a bit more stiff, but for general long rides of 30-70 miles these are great. I highly recommend.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 21

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]