Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Shimano CN-HG701 11 Speed Chain Ultegra/XT

ShimanoCN-HG701 11 Speed Chain Ultegra/XT(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(92 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(78)
(11)
(0)
(3)
(0)
(85%)
(12%)
(0%)
(3%)
(0%)
Reviewed 5/30/2022
by Socks
Cycling Enthusiast
Albuquerque
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
No issues

I bought my chains here at different sale prices over a couple weeks. Very confusing. But the chains work well and last as well as my cleaning process of 150 miles. As others have noted an Ultegra drive train is noisier than Dura Ace but it's minor.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/14/2019
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Works well.

Just put this new chain on. It uses a quick link instead of the old pin technology. That seemed to simplify installation for me.

I'll definitely pick this chain for my the replacement on another bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/28/2022
by Jon H
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Ultegra 11spd Chain

About 98% of Dura-Ace for 20% less $$$. No discernable difference for me--and an even better deal when on sale at BTD. Per usual, the BTD experience is swift and very affordable. Would def order the same chain from BTD again when this one wears out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/28/2022
by Fuelfool
Competitive Racer
Blueridge Mountains NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Durable, dependable.

What can I say? In thirty years of riding and racing I have broken two chains, and both were nine or ten speed many years ago. Have not broken any 11s or 12s, and I'm no lightweight. Thankfully, Shimano finally joined the quick-link crowd so thorough cleaning and lubing is now a breeze. I typically buy one rung below top tier stuff on consumables. XT is a decent value if you catch a sale.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/4/2022
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
VT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice Chain

This is exactly what I was looking for. A nice chain to replace my current one on a cobbled together 105/Ultegra setup. These seem to last me anywhere from 500-1,000 miles for a great price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/7/2022
by Anonymous
North Carolina
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Always a good chain

The only chain I use

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/20/2021
by Heath
Cycling Enthusiast
Missouri
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth shifting and durable

I just can't find a better chain than this for my Shimano 105 set-up. I ride mostly gravel and this chain hold up to constant sandstone and limestone gravel roads. I ride about 4000 miles annually, and go through 3-4 chains/year.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/1/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Quality chain

Great chain easy to install prompt delivery

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/28/2022
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
SW Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Genuine Shimano at a fair price

The real deal. Genuine Shimano, no fake stuff here. And at a fair price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/28/2022
by DPK
Competitive Racer
New Jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Solid and Practical!

Been buying this chain for years. I bike 12000+ miles a year and this chain holds up so well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/28/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
The best!

Great wear and reliability. Comes with a convenient quick-link too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/28/2022
by Bagel Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln, NE
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Perfect chain for my needs

This is the perfect chain for my needs. Super high quality without breaking the bank.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/28/2022
by DF
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 chains at a great price with great customer service

Chains still stored in my bike closet. Shimano bike chains have always served me well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/30/2022
by William
East Weymouth
Overall Rating
Nice chain at a reasonable price.

All I use on all my bikes is ultegra shimano chains. They do there job well and are somewhat affordable compared to others.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/29/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Quiet

I have run both the SRAM Force 22 and the Ultegra HG701on my 11speed Shimano Ultegra. The Ultegra/XT runs much quieter even when I have a SRAM cassette mounted.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2020
by OR_biker
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good chain, better when on sale!

Have never had any issues with Shimano chains, and this one is no exception. Got this for my friend's bike that I tuned up for him. Really like that it comes with a quick link, as I always order a KMC link to go with the 10-spd ultegra chain for my bike if it happens to be on sale. Not sure if it's just in my head, but I feel like Shimano chains run just a little quieter than KMC, but shifting performance and longevity are very similar, so I tend to go with KMC more often simply due to price, but I like grabbing Shimano occasionally when they have a good deal going.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/5/2020
by davidshiloh4
Cycling Enthusiast
Aurora, Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best Value Chain out there!

Great value chain that lasts many miles. Always prefer the Ultegra because of price as it's a much better deal than the Dura Ace that provides only a small weight allowance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/22/2019
by AlexandriaBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Alexandria VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Replace your Shimano 11-Speed chain sooner rather than later

The quickest and easiest way to renew your drivetrain is by replacing the chain. If you use Shimano Ultegra 11 this is the only chain to buy. Its an exact match with the Shimano 11 drivetrain cassette and chainrings. Replacing the chain more often will reduce wear on the expensive cogs.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/4/2021
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Way better than KMB chain!

A bike shop installed KMC chain on one of my bikes when it was in for some maintenance. Now that I have side by side comparison (w/this Ultegra chain), KMC chain is always much louder and it feels like it's dirty or something - like there's some extra friction. Mind you that I always clean & lube the chain after every ride (it's very dusty in San Diego).

I'll be replacing the KMC chain on my second bike for this Ultegra chain!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/13/2022
by Rob
Cycling Enthusiast
Rhinebeck NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
11 speed chain

It's more durable than the dura ace chain and the weight difference is negligible.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 33

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]