FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Selle SMP Hybrid Saddle

Selle SMPHybrid Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(12 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(8)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(67%)
(25%)
(8%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 6/14/2018
by Kim L
missoula Montana
Overall Rating
Comfortable quality ride

I Purchased the saddle and put it on my salsa vaya bike. Ive ridden it for a lot of miles now on gravel dirt pavement and some trail, Including a cycling vacation for 2 12 weeks in southern British Columbia. Im really happy with the level of comfort in all positions on the bike with this saddle. The design seems just right for me, and true quality craftsmanship makes it nice to look at too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/8/2017
by Hill Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
35 Years Cycling - BEST Saddle I've ever had!

I had a bike fit and the person noticed I was often shifting my position on the bike. When I said my saddle was uncomfortable he had me try this one. I've never looked back and now have this saddle on 2 of the bikes I ride the most.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/2/2015
by pakcyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
In the future, all saddles will look like this.

Not sure I can bring myself to call any saddle comfortable, but after trying 50 - 60 saddles over the years, this is definitely the least uncomfortable saddle I've ever used. My butt is highly sensitive, so I need something with a decent amount of padding - which this has - without being overly wide - like nearly all saddles with this kind of padding are. Didn't have any major numbness issues, but not having the pressure in the middle is definitely more comfortable. The one problem with this saddle is getting the position right. You CAN'T take the setback - and, perhaps, height - measurements from a traditional saddle. It seems the BB to tip-of-saddle should be 5 - 15 mm LESS than a normal saddle, to keep you in the same KOP - or however you measure it - position. (The rails on these are VERY long. I can put this on a bike that I can't get other saddles far enough rearward.) Saddle may also need to be 5 mm or more lower. Tilt is also very important. I believe the recommendation is from level to 5 degrees down. (If I put mine even a degree or 2 down, my power drops 10 - 15%) Also note, due to the design, you may need a model that is 10 - 20 mm narrower than you would use on a traditional saddle. If you can't get comfortable on a normal saddle, I think you definitely should try an SMP, but you will have to tinker around with the fit, and you may need to try several models to find the right one. (I tried the TRK, but it was too wide for me.)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/16/2017
by Paul
suffolk virginia
Overall Rating
Great saddle

Super comfortable makes long rides much easier

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/28/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Far Chicago Suburb
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent saddle, fast delivery, and price match guarantee sealed the deal!

I spent a lot of time looking for a value saddle to use on a 30 year old rehab (this saddle ended up being about half the original cost of the bike), but I needed one to help alleviate a ahem pressure issue. I found this on another site which did not offer the breadth of product BikeTiresDirect.com did. When I was able to redeem the price match I was also able to get the other parts I needed. Delivery was fast, ordering was painless, products all as described.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
Thanks for the review of the saddle and our site. We appreciate the feedback! Anna BTD
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/2/2014
by Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
Walla Walla, wa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable

Not as comfortable as I expected

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/15/2013
by ride on
New Mexico.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Works really well if your a male

Just me sure it's moved in proper position and you'll have no problem

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/21/2013
by NKadar
Cycling Enthusiast
NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Did not stand up to a cross country trip.

I rode across the country on this saddle, and half way through the front end tore away from the seat. Saddle was OK, but not super comfortable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/17/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Myrtle Beach, SC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable, but wide

This is an extremely comfortable saddle, but quite wide. If you have a narrow pelvis, be aware that your legs may rub. To me, however, it's still worth it to have eliminated numbness entirely.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/27/2012
by Jay
Cycling Enthusiast
Shelton, CT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
19 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
The Selle SMP Hybrid is an Outstanding Saddle

This is an outstanding saddle! I didn't even have to get used to this saddle. It was comfortable from the word go. It allows me to get in the drops and stay there. No pressure on those sensitive areas as I move forward or back on the saddle. For those counting every gram it may be a bit heavy, but if your looking for comfort in any position, and all day long, the Selle SMP Hybrid this is a great choice.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/15/2013
by SeniorBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern NH
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
I'm in love with this saddle!

I have been searching for a saddle that doesn't cause me pain after 10 miles of riding and I finally found it. I had tried about a dozen others before and now have a closet full of like-new saddles taking up space. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone searching for comfort and perfomance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/29/2013
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great quality

love the comfort of this seat. I was concerned the quality would not be as good as the more expensive Selle saddle, but this saddle is just as comfortable for my Time Trial Bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.