Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Selle SMP Glider Saddle

Selle SMPGlider Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(40 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(35)
(3)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(88%)
(8%)
(3%)
(3%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 6/1/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Rockford, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great saddle

This was my second SMP saddle for my second bike. Great saddle. No numbness. Very comfortable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/20/2012
by Greg Kiger
Competitive Racer
St Louis
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Expensive but Cheap

Once I got above 4-6 hrs of saddle time per week I noticed numbness. At 10 hrs a week it impacted my performance in the bedroom, not good. Got this saddle despite the crazy high cost, now own 3, one for each bike. Huge difference, no pressure on soft tissue, just on sit bones where it belongs. Expensive but cheap compared to the cost of tissue damage.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/24/2011
by bonesb
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect saddle - at any price

After 30 years of cycling I've found the perfect saddle for assertive riding. During a week off I watched the Giro 2010 on Versus and spied a Selle SMP saddle on a rider's bike, and that chance viewing changed my riding experience!!! I didn't know which SMP saddle was on that rider's bike, however, Im fortunate to live in Portland OR and visited BTD to discover they have a trial program for SMP saddles - and settled on the Glider, which has the right padding and layout for me. After years of trying out other brands (Fizik, Selle Italia, Prologo - all in a bike bin now!) only a Brooks saddle on my old Raleigh is as comfortable. I've been riding my Glider for about a year now, and I am very happy with my purchase.

OK, SMP saddles aren't cheap, however, the saddles I tried and pitched or gave away were far more expensive in total. VelotechBTD is one of the rare US carriers of the SMP saddle line. You owe it to yourself and your derriere to at least try out an SMP saddle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/21/2010
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Willits, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
I won't ride anyother saddle.

I race with this saddle. The power I save being this comfortable more than makes up for the 100g weight penalty compared to other brands in this price range. I'm on my fifth saddle. Durability is a bit of an issue, but it's great to ride hard and long and never have to think about your pain or numbness from your saddle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/7/2010
by sergeinc
Cycling Enthusiast
Spring Hill Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
It's worth the money!!!!

Great saddle, I used the saddle for approximately 2 years, and also rode, two century rides,very comfortable wouldn't look at another saddle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/25/2010
by Stephen
Cycling Enthusiast
Boise, Id
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Amazing!

I love this saddle! I was a little skeptical about buying it, but after riding a lot of saddles that didn't work out, I decided to try this one to see if it was all that it was made out to be. I immediately felt more comfortable on the bike than ever before, and couldn't dream of going to another saddle again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/10/2017
by Chris
California
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Very happy with saddle

I've been considering a split saddle for some time. On long rides I would experience numbness in my seat and blistering. I have logged around 400 miles on this saddle and am liking it more each ride. At 6'2 and 205lbs. The comfort is appreciated.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/20/2015
by leapfrog
Cycling Enthusiast
portland
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Fits like no other saddle

SMP obviously studied the pelvic bone structure. The fit accommodates different pelvis-rotation angles. Amazing. After a 3-week demo period, I almost fit the next-skinnier model. Very challenging to sort out the differences across SMP lineup but found Glider at 5mm wider is best fit. Years of what Jason called perineum paranoia had my lower back vertical off the saddle, with SMP can rotate forward to a much more comfortable position. Love it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/21/2015
by JZ
Cycling Enthusiast
Mostly Road in NY & NJ
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Really nice Saddle

I really like this saddle. It was a replacement for my fizik saddle that although i liked for short distances, proved to be uncomfortable for anything longer than 25 miles. This glider saddle provides better circulation because of the cutout and i was able to recently ride 50 miles with little or no discomfort. The saddle does take some getting used to because there is more pressure on the sit bones because of the cut out. Overall, great saddle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/8/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern CA
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
The end of a long search

I have tried almost a dozen different saddles over the last ten plus years in an effort to find one that did not leave me in pain at the end of a century ride. You know, where your butt is causing you more discomfort than any other of the worn out body parts. Well this saddle solved that issue. I literally forget about it! It took a bit of time to adjust it to the right tilt so that I didn't get any numbness in important areas but after that it's been great! It has even seen me through several double centuries.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/26/2013
by Westridge
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern California
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
My search has ended

Like most riders I have been through over a half dozen different saddles trying to find one that isn't a major source of discomfort after 50 miles or more on the bike. I know we all have slightly different anatomical structure, but for me, this is the saddle that solved my problem. I have now finished century rides without even thinking about my saddle. Initially, it took some time to get the seat angle and positioning dialed in. But I have put over 5000 miles on it and find it to be a great saddle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/5/2013
by Tim
Tacoma WA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best Saddle Outstanding!

I'm an avid cyclist and I spent lots of money trying to find a saddle that didn't cause me to go numb at 30 miles. Further, my butt would ache and I would have to stand up a lot.

I rode 3 Specialized saddles, Terry saddle all good saddles, they just didn't solve my pain and going numb.

This Selle saddle is Amazingly Comfortable and zero numbness! I ride 100 miles a week year round,

As a plus it looks racy on my Specialized Roubaix!

Highly recommend this saddle,

I took the jump to purchase after reading lots of reviews on this saddle.

Energize Life!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/28/2013
by Tim
Tacoma WA
Overall Rating
Best Saddle Outstanding!

I'm an avid cyclist and I spent lots of money trying to find a saddle that didn't cause me to go numb at 30 miles. Further, my butt would ache and I would have to stand up a lot.

I rode 3 Specialized saddles, Terry saddle all good saddles, they just didn't solve my pain and going numb.

This Selle saddle is Amazingly Comfortable and zero numbness! I ride 100 miles a week year round,

As a plus it looks racy on my Specialized Roubaix!

Highly recommend this saddle,

I took the jump to purchase after reading lots of reviews on this saddle.

Energize Life!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/22/2018
by Liz
Cycling Enthusiast
Dallas, TX
Overall Rating
This one fits me

A saddle is such a personal fit item. This is the one that works for me. I've got one on each bike (3) - Road, tandem & touring. I've tried others, but saddle sores ensue. Enough said!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/10/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Southlake TX
Overall Rating
Excellent product, bought for comfort-this saddle delivered. Highly recommend.

Leather cover and small added padding plus saddle shape provide the desired comfort.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/3/2017
by M Gordon
Huntington Beach, Ca
Overall Rating
Perfect Seat

I have tried many seats, but nothing compares to this rather odd looking, but most comfortable seat. This is my second, and worth every penny

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/31/2013
by ubet49
Cycling Enthusiast
Elk Grove, CA
Overall Rating
Great saddle.

I have only used this new saddle for about 3 rides totaling 75 miles. It has helped a lot and it is a good fit for me.

I had a hard time with the adjustment part because it seemed to want to tip forward and my seat post clamps made this a little difficult. The reduced priced came around at the right time to give it a go.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/30/2012
by westridge
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern California
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Finally, a saddle that works

I have tried many saddles over the last ten plus years. I have given most of them away. This is the first saddle that I forget about when out on long rides. It doesn't hurt or cause that nagging discomfort after 50, 80, or 100 miles. Now I can concentrate on the other parts of my body that start hurting near the end of a century ride...............

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Ohio
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Selle SMP Glider

I am 65, weigh 145's and have the usual old man prostrate problems. I ride 5,000 miles per year. This seat has allowed me to continue to ride the long miles that I so much enjoy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/1/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Innovative and well designed saddle

For all you male riders out there this is an amazing saddle. I evaluated several new saddle options and the Selle SMP Saddle met all of my requirements for comfort and performance. One thing that I noticed about this saddle is it helps you sit level on the bike so that your spine remains straight. I did a double century a few weeks ago and blood circulation was never an issue. I highly recommend this saddle and I now have one on all of my bikes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 22

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]