Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700c Tire (HS 440)

SchwalbeMarathon Plus 700c Tire (HS 440)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(377 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(305)
(57)
(7)
(3)
(5)
(81%)
(15%)
(2%)
(1%)
(1%)
Reviewed 6/20/2022
by JD Moffitt
Cycling Enthusiast
NW Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Big Bad Great Rolling Tires, so glad I finally got a pair.

Best tires I've ever had for my REI Novara touring bicycle!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/6/2022
by Anonymous
Sacramento
Overall Rating
The only tire that I have never had a flat, more time riding

These tires do everything and not getting a flat is a huge plus. I bike commute to work on a trail and then ride on city streets in heavy traffic. Great traction, seem to never get a flat and the reflective striping is just a bit more visibility for peace of mind. They are a bit tough to install but once they are on - your golden!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/2/2022
by Dan
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Joseph, Missouri
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Disappointed

I mounted these on my gravel bike for general touring, riding around town, and for riding on rails-to-trails type surfaces. After mounting and properly inflating them, I went for a ride around town. While going down a gentle hill at maybe 17 mph, my back tire hit a rock maybe the size of a walnut, and I immediately got a flat. When I examined the inside of the tire, the rubber was split diagonally for about an inch and a half inside the tire. I replaced the tube (the tube I was riding on had a 1-cm long rip) and re-inflated the tire to about 50 psi. The spot where the tire hit a the rock had a bulge and a gap between the treads where I could see the blue fabric beneath the rubber. I was able to continue my ride around town, but I do not feel comfortable going outside of town on a longer ride with that kind of damage.

I had previously been riding on some stock Bontraeger tires identical to those that came with my bike and rode them for maybe 900 miles without a flat. Then I bought these and - bam!!! - flat tire.

Call it an act of God or bad luck, but I just don't see the correlation between price and reliability.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/20/2022
by PRMan
Cycling Enthusiast
Montgomery, AL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
After 600-700 miles, no problems, still looks like new.

I didn't give a review for this tire immediately after I bought it, because others who had supposedly bought the same tire gave negative reviews, saying that the tire was easily punctured. (They proved it to themselves by driving nails through the tire (Duh!)) Anyway, I decided that I would wait until I had had the opportunity to put the tire to the test before I gave a review. So now that I've put somewhere between 600-700 miles on the tire, here's my review:

For the most part, I ride my bike 10-15 miles a day, three or four times a week (after I get home from work) - unless I'm on vacation - then I ride 20-50 miles a day. The roads that I ride on are OK for the most part - not smooth as silk and not an abomination either, except in a few places. The city of Montgomery tore up South Court Street and the parts of streets that intersect South Court Street more than a year ago. The city has not repaved these sections, even though it's been more than a year. What this means (for me) is that I have to ride across 50 yards packed, sharp stone, gravel every time that I go riding. I am not light! I weigh about 230lbs. The tires have never been punctured, nor do they show any sign of wear. I recommend the tire to anyone who wants to ride for a couple thousand miles without the inconvenience of fixing a flat and/or replacing the tire and tube.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/7/2020
by Curt the Pilot
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis &40IL side&41
Value Rating
Overall Rating
16 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Great after one ride

I bought 32 mm Schwalbe Marathon Plus to replace the 28's (a Bontrager and a Continental) on my Trek Pilot. Before the purchase I read many reviews and knew the sobering advice that these were hard to mount, especially on tubeless-ready rims. My Trek has tubeless-ready Ultegra 6700 rims. Before mounting the Schwalbe's, I watched a few YouTube videos of the mounting procedure for that tire. Especially helpful was the strategy of working the second side of the tire halfway onto the rim and then securing it with zip ties at 3 and 9 o'clock. Installation was then easy without use of any other tools. I would not say that the tire is terribly tight. The difficulty is that the sidewalls are so stiff that getting the second side on the rim is like wrestling a live snake. When I worked one section on, the section I let go of hopped off. The zip ties were a terrific solution. There was no problem getting the tube tucked safely inside. I was almost disappointed that I didn't have to puff and strain to complete the installation. The trick is mental, not physical.

I am carrying the zip ties with my spare inner tube. I used to carry 2 spare tubes, so some weight saved there.

On the road, 32 miles, the Marathon Plus handled lighter than I expected, though obviously I am giving up something from the 28's. They didn't wobble at all after going up to full pressure, and rode well on asphalt at 70 PSI. For once I didn't bother to avoid the broken glass that I knew was there.

I probably should wait to review the tire, but I wanted to pass on the mounting information while it was fresh in my mind. I expect thousands of miles with no flats. No worries.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/16/2022
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Phoenix, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
All my touring friends tell me not to bother with anything else, these are the real deal.

I like the reflective bit on the sidewall, I wish my MTB tires had the same feature. You'll want some good sturdy tire levers to get these on/off, I broke my cheap ones trying to seat these.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/27/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
best puncture resistance available

I won't buy any other tire for commuting. I have never flatted in these, period. I ride all year long in the Midwest. The tread also lasts a long time. Fantastic tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/15/2021
by PixelPirate
Daily Commuter
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Rolls good and is very puncture resistant.

I use these on hard packed dirt and pavement. They roll well for large tires and are very puncture resistant.

The Schwalbe punture belts, unlike other brands, actually protect the tires, they will even stop most Goat Head thorn punctures.

The only time I've ever had flats with Schwalbe tires, is when they start to wear thin and it's time to replace them anyways.

These wear very well too. I've been using Schwalbe Delta Cruiser IIs and Marathons for years and they last a good long time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/4/2019
by Jaythree
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
15 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Amazingly tough tire

A pair of the 700x38mm came on my Salsa Marrakesh that I bought in 2016 as an incentive to get back on a bike after a hip replacement at age 75. Now, 3 years later, I just flipped past 13,000 miles and the tires still have some tread depth. I only had one flat, from a piece of wire that entered through the sidewall. I ride mostly in urban Seattle where broken glass sparkles on the streets along with scattered drywall screws, hose clamps and other debris. The Marathons take it all in stride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/21/2021
by Gary B
Cycling Enthusiast
Detroit, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Delivers on what it promises, durable and great puncture protection

Finally wore one of these out after about 2-3k miles chewing it up on rough roads and broken glass. Puncture protection was excellent. Only had a couple of flats and those were basically bad luck from big slivers of glass. I didn't hesitate to stick with the same tire for replacement.

Trade-offs mentioned in other reviews were applicable as puncture resistance requires using more material which means a heavier, more expensive tire that will be a bit unwieldy to mount.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2021
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
New Orleans, LA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Exceeding expectations after 6 weeks of usage.

After getting a nail puncture in a box store grade tire, I decided to purchase a higher quality tire. Settled on these Schwalbe Marathon Plus tires, replacing both the front and rear tires at the same time, after reading many reviews. I was a bit concerned after reading several accounts of the difficulty some people have installing the tires on the rims - but looking at a few videos on how to install (working the tire beads around from both sides of the rim at the same time) - it was not difficult at all. I've had these on for about 6 weeks now and ride about 50 miles a week. I've hit a few obstacles with the tires already (rocks, glass, sticks, etc) with no punctures. These are on a hybrid bike and I've noticed no rolling resistance difference from other tires I've used. After rolling on these for 6 weeks, I have a high level of confidence on their durability.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/13/2018
by Nathan
Daily Commuter
Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
26 of 26 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tires

I use these for commuting and rail trail riding. They are great tires. I have about 500 miles on them now and they show little if any wear. I ride about 80 or more miles a week and these are my tire of choice due to there durability and lower rolling resistance.

I recently did 151 miles in 3 days on the Sparta 400 series of trails and these did well, they are not quite as good as other tires in soft ground and really not made for sandy spots but I was actually pleasantly surprised how well they handled that rail trail over all.

These tires corner very well, very good grip on asphalt.

One thing I will mention, these are not the tires I will use for winter, I use the Schwalbe GT 365's for that. I will also use the GT 365's if I am going to ride mostly soft or a little more technical terrain.

As an over all commuter or hard pack tire these are absolutely awesome. Buy them and ride them with confidence.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/31/2022
by MJBurman
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire

I put these tires on both of my bikes and I have no regrets. They wear well, I have not had a flat since I put those on my bike and I ride in areas that have nasty thorns on the bike path. I also like the reflective sidewall which I feel is "value added".

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/9/2017
by D W Miller
Casual Cyclist
Jacksonville, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
26 of 26 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Tire

I ride a Specialized Crosstrail hybrid. I got the bike in 2011 and by now have logged over 20,000 miles on it using these tires. I have not had one flat. I ride almost exclusively on pavement, some trails and bike lanes on main roads. These tires have performed flawlessly. I highly recommend these tires (I also use only Michelin A3 Protek Max tubes). I am 73 years old and hate getting flats (which, in years previous, have had many).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/2/2017
by pmarty
Daily Commuter
Atlanta, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Great commuter tire

I have rode about 200 miles with these tires so far. They are a great fit to my commuting rides. Most of my commute is on roadhighway shoulder, with a lot of debris (gravel, metallic parts, broken glass from wreck etc), typical from the Atlanta suburb roads, sometimes I need to ride on sidewalks or grass as well. I was riding 700x23 before and struggled to avoid flat tires, so I needed an extra strong tire that would fit on my road bike. Those tires are exactly this. The combination of thick resistance and low pressure (I put 5 bars), makes them very robust. This is a faster alternative to riding my moutain bike for this commute.

The downside is performance of course the grip and low pressure are not comparable to 700x23, and they are a bit rough to install (due to the thickness). But again I needed puncture resistance and the flexibility to ride on anything when safety dictates it, so all in all I give it 5 stars as it does the job suberbly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/6/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland County (Michigan)
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My go-to tires

I've used these tires for years and haven't gotten a flat yet. I generally ride only on trails and streets and have consistently gotten 8000 miles out of a set although the last time, I changed tires at 7000 and will do so from now on. That last 1000 miles is a little rough.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Schwalbe 2013 Marathon Plus 700c
Reviewed 3/24/2009
by Dan (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
160 of 168 customers found this review helpful.
The best wet weather commuting tire ever.

I've been using this tire on my fixed gear rain bike for the last 4 years. I'm on my second set and have had one flat. Yeah the tire is heavy and hard to mount the first time but the puncture resistance and traction is worth it. I even put a set on my cargo bike because I definitively don't want a flat while carrying a load. Do yourself a favor and get a set of these tires if you ride where road debris is killing your current tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/13/2020
by Dimitrios
Daily Commuter
Tampa Bay, Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best tires for an E-Bike

I used to ride on Bontrager tires, but after upgrading my bike to an E-Bike, they were getting bald. The reason is, because my E-Bike was heavy. I used to have cancer, and it made me tired. I upgraded to an E-Bike to help me with the pedaling. I did not want cancer to make me give up on something I love to do, so after upgrading, I wanted these tires so bad. I love them so much, and they are so comfortable, like a Cadillac on air. Thank you so much for the steal of a deal BIKETIRESDIRECT!!!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/30/2021
by Anonymous
maryland
Overall Rating
Warranty return

These are normally great tires. I had to return mine due to delamination of the side wall. Quibble free return at no cost to me. Very happy. These things happen but this company put it right for me

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/30/2020
by LSch
Cycling Enthusiast
Council Bluffs, IA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
No regrets

My only regret in getting these Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700c Tires (x4) is that I didn't get them sooner! We purchased these on the recommendation of a fellow cyclist. These were perfect for our touring bikes. For some odd reason, this Spring/Summer has been a banner year for us in getting flats -- seemed like our tires were magnets for anything sharp (even though we had been riding the same routes/paths we'd always been in our area). While make no mistake about it, these were a total bear to switch out (we did it ourselves) and it took two people to put all four of our tires on. Our first ride out, the tires felt a bit odd/heavy, but we've learned to live with it as opposed to the alternative. We have not experienced a flat yet riding on the same trails/routes we had previously ridden on. We will certainly keep our tires when we switch out bikes probably in a year or so. Definitely no regrets in these Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700c tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 84

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]