Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700c Tire (HS 440)

SchwalbeMarathon Plus 700c Tire (HS 440)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(360 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(289)
(57)
(7)
(2)
(5)
(80%)
(16%)
(2%)
(1%)
(1%)
Reviewed 5/7/2020
by Curt the Pilot
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis &40IL side&41
Value Rating
Overall Rating
14 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Great after one ride

I bought 32 mm Schwalbe Marathon Plus to replace the 28's (a Bontrager and a Continental) on my Trek Pilot. Before the purchase I read many reviews and knew the sobering advice that these were hard to mount, especially on tubeless-ready rims. My Trek has tubeless-ready Ultegra 6700 rims. Before mounting the Schwalbe's, I watched a few YouTube videos of the mounting procedure for that tire. Especially helpful was the strategy of working the second side of the tire halfway onto the rim and then securing it with zip ties at 3 and 9 o'clock. Installation was then easy without use of any other tools. I would not say that the tire is terribly tight. The difficulty is that the sidewalls are so stiff that getting the second side on the rim is like wrestling a live snake. When I worked one section on, the section I let go of hopped off. The zip ties were a terrific solution. There was no problem getting the tube tucked safely inside. I was almost disappointed that I didn't have to puff and strain to complete the installation. The trick is mental, not physical.

I am carrying the zip ties with my spare inner tube. I used to carry 2 spare tubes, so some weight saved there.

On the road, 32 miles, the Marathon Plus handled lighter than I expected, though obviously I am giving up something from the 28's. They didn't wobble at all after going up to full pressure, and rode well on asphalt at 70 PSI. For once I didn't bother to avoid the broken glass that I knew was there.

I probably should wait to review the tire, but I wanted to pass on the mounting information while it was fresh in my mind. I expect thousands of miles with no flats. No worries.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/27/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
best puncture resistance available

I won't buy any other tire for commuting. I have never flatted in these, period. I ride all year long in the Midwest. The tread also lasts a long time. Fantastic tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/4/2019
by Jaythree
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
14 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Amazingly tough tire

A pair of the 700x38mm came on my Salsa Marrakesh that I bought in 2016 as an incentive to get back on a bike after a hip replacement at age 75. Now, 3 years later, I just flipped past 13,000 miles and the tires still have some tread depth. I only had one flat, from a piece of wire that entered through the sidewall. I ride mostly in urban Seattle where broken glass sparkles on the streets along with scattered drywall screws, hose clamps and other debris. The Marathons take it all in stride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/13/2020
by Dimitrios
Daily Commuter
Tampa Bay, Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best tires for an E-Bike

I used to ride on Bontrager tires, but after upgrading my bike to an E-Bike, they were getting bald. The reason is, because my E-Bike was heavy. I used to have cancer, and it made me tired. I upgraded to an E-Bike to help me with the pedaling. I did not want cancer to make me give up on something I love to do, so after upgrading, I wanted these tires so bad. I love them so much, and they are so comfortable, like a Cadillac on air. Thank you so much for the steal of a deal BIKETIRESDIRECT!!!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/30/2020
by LSch
Cycling Enthusiast
Council Bluffs, IA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
No regrets

My only regret in getting these Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700c Tires (x4) is that I didn't get them sooner! We purchased these on the recommendation of a fellow cyclist. These were perfect for our touring bikes. For some odd reason, this Spring/Summer has been a banner year for us in getting flats -- seemed like our tires were magnets for anything sharp (even though we had been riding the same routes/paths we'd always been in our area). While make no mistake about it, these were a total bear to switch out (we did it ourselves) and it took two people to put all four of our tires on. Our first ride out, the tires felt a bit odd/heavy, but we've learned to live with it as opposed to the alternative. We have not experienced a flat yet riding on the same trails/routes we had previously ridden on. We will certainly keep our tires when we switch out bikes probably in a year or so. Definitely no regrets in these Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700c tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/22/2020
by CourageousLion
Cycling Enthusiast
Harrison, Arkansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Tired of getting flats and having to spend an hour fixing a tire? NO MORE!

I ride A LOT. 14,000 miles in three years for example. So understandably I get a flat here and there. Especially with my 255 pounds bearing down on the tires. My remedy for getting a flat was the cell phone fix. Call the wife, tell her where I was and wait patiently for her to come and pick me up and bring me home. Well, that gets old too. I like to rely on other people, wife included, as least as possible. So when I saw an ad for these that mentioned if you get a flat you had to make an effort, I thought I'd give them a try. Well now all my bikes that I ride have them. And yes, I can only ride one at a time but there are five that get my attention throughout the year because I'm also a SHOW OFF. The tires SHOW OFF TOO! With the reflective side wall and the tough tread design they are great. And no, these are NOT weight weenie tires. At 255 I don't worry about little weight differences in my bicycles. Try them...sure they aren't roadie tires, but hey, they sure work when it comes to NOT getting flats...SO FAR!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/13/2018
by Nathan
Daily Commuter
Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
26 of 26 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tires

I use these for commuting and rail trail riding. They are great tires. I have about 500 miles on them now and they show little if any wear. I ride about 80 or more miles a week and these are my tire of choice due to there durability and lower rolling resistance.

I recently did 151 miles in 3 days on the Sparta 400 series of trails and these did well, they are not quite as good as other tires in soft ground and really not made for sandy spots but I was actually pleasantly surprised how well they handled that rail trail over all.

These tires corner very well, very good grip on asphalt.

One thing I will mention, these are not the tires I will use for winter, I use the Schwalbe GT 365's for that. I will also use the GT 365's if I am going to ride mostly soft or a little more technical terrain.

As an over all commuter or hard pack tire these are absolutely awesome. Buy them and ride them with confidence.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/5/2020
by Freesteveman
Cycling Enthusiast
Cypress, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great all around night time training tires

I ride most of my miles during the week at 4:30AM until 6:30AM. I need to be noticed and the reflective wall of the tire helps me get noticed. The tires a really heavy but I do not mind they are bomb proof and that is a plus a night. I have run over a lot of glass with no issue and and have hit several pot holes as well and the tires are still solid. They do not corner as well as other tires I have ridden in the past so I would advise not hitting the corners too hard. I have over 1400 miles on the tires with a lot of gravel sections and am very pleased with the performance of the tires. I am riding 700x42mm and do recommend them to commuters and those who ride at night as bomb proof tires. I have been pleased with their performance on the gravel as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/5/2020
by jimmilee43
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, Il
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Happy With Purchase

Bought these tires to replace my old set of Vittoria Randonneur Cross 26" tires, which I had on my bike for about 5 years. The Schwalbe Marathon Plus 700 tires look very durable, and my bike seems to handle fine with them, for casual recreational rides of about 20 miles distance. My old tires would lose air quickly and need to be "topped off" before every ride, considerably. The Schwalbes lose about a couple pounds of air between rides, about two to three days, so a big improvement. I recommend them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/4/2021
by Tom
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Durable and long lasting.

I have crossed the country with these tires several times and they are the most puncture resistant available with good mileage as well. The initial installation is difficult as the edges are stiff but if you ever need to change one they will remount much easier.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/20/2020
by NickJ
Casual Cyclist
SE Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
perfect tires for me

I purchased the Schwalbe Marathon Plus (700 x 32c) to put on my Trek 7.3. I am a recreational rider, and not a hard core road biker. I like riding 10 to 20 miles per session. These tires are just what I was looking for and match my style of riding (some paved trails, some gravel trails, some streets). They ride great and I don't feel any difference in the rolling resistance, which was a mild concern. The tires were a little more difficult to install, but you just need to get one side on the rim, move it down into the rim and get the other side on. I was able to do this without levers. I highly recommend these tires, especially if weight is not a super high priority, they are a little heavier. And, Bike Tires Direct service was great. The tires shipped the same day I ordered and arrived a day early!! Thank you Bike Tires Direct.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/15/2021
by Bikerlar
Cycling Enthusiast
Touring America
Value Rating
Overall Rating
On tour.

A great tire for loaded touring.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/3/2020
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
A great tire for reliably uneventful rides.

This is the only tire Ive used for the past decade. I commute by bike 3-4 days a week (first to school, now to my big boy job), and in all the time Ive used these tires Ive only had 2 flats. As long as that ratio holds up, I think Ill keep using them the rest of my life.

Traction is fine. I have wiped out a handful of times in wet weather when I was making stupid turns, but other than not saving me from myself these have performed very well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/27/2020
by JB
Daily Commuter
Northern Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tire

The Marathon is a great tire. I use it primarily for commuting approximately 20 miles per day. I have tried various other tires, Vittoria, Continental etc. and was always less than pleased with the ride and puncture resistance. I have about 1,000 miles on the 700x35's. So far no puncture issues and the tire rolls very smooth. This tire is not inexpensive when compared to others, but based on my experience thus far it is worth the extra dollars.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/22/2021
by Dan
SE Texas
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
10,000 miles and still rolling!

Put Marathon Plus tires on my touring bike over 10,000 miles ago with only 2 flats to date. This purchase was for my second set which I plan to mount this spring. Ride rural highways and back roads and these tires just keep on rolling. Stock tires went flat every other ride. Highly recommend these tires to keep you rolling and not on the roadside changing tubes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/9/2017
by D W Miller
Casual Cyclist
Jacksonville, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
25 of 25 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Tire

I ride a Specialized Crosstrail hybrid. I got the bike in 2011 and by now have logged over 20,000 miles on it using these tires. I have not had one flat. I ride almost exclusively on pavement, some trails and bike lanes on main roads. These tires have performed flawlessly. I highly recommend these tires (I also use only Michelin A3 Protek Max tubes). I am 73 years old and hate getting flats (which, in years previous, have had many).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/2/2017
by pmarty
Daily Commuter
Atlanta, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Great commuter tire

I have rode about 200 miles with these tires so far. They are a great fit to my commuting rides. Most of my commute is on roadhighway shoulder, with a lot of debris (gravel, metallic parts, broken glass from wreck etc), typical from the Atlanta suburb roads, sometimes I need to ride on sidewalks or grass as well. I was riding 700x23 before and struggled to avoid flat tires, so I needed an extra strong tire that would fit on my road bike. Those tires are exactly this. The combination of thick resistance and low pressure (I put 5 bars), makes them very robust. This is a faster alternative to riding my moutain bike for this commute.

The downside is performance of course the grip and low pressure are not comparable to 700x23, and they are a bit rough to install (due to the thickness). But again I needed puncture resistance and the flexibility to ride on anything when safety dictates it, so all in all I give it 5 stars as it does the job suberbly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/6/2020
by Iowa trail rider
Casual Cyclist
Cedar Falls, IA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Best tire if you want to forget how to fix flat tires

Great value tire, you will not be disappointed. Over 2000 miles on my first set. Just had to rotate tires as rear tire tread was wearing down, so probably a few thousand more miles to go. If you catch them on sale, an even bigger value. Nothing but praise for these tires.

I no longer need to keep buying tubes like with previous brand tires, carrying the same tube for over five years now. If you want to become rusty on changing tubes, this tire is a must. I bought a second set of slightly narrower tires, but since I have had no issues, I will likely wait until my rear tread wears before switching them out.

The profile is a little larger than typical 700 tires, so you will likely need to adjust odometer settings for accurate distance readings.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/29/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Love these tires

Bought these tires to replace tires that had over 4,000 miles n them and seemed to keep getting flats!

I love these tires, they were easy to put on. Inflated them and they hold air forever and (knock on wood) I haven't had any problems.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/30/2020
by risi59
Daily Commuter
Hopewell, NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Quiet,Durable, & Great Traction

Very impressed so far. 300lb rider on a Trek hybrid on mostly tarmac roads. I've logged over 1000 miles in the past 2+ months and it does not show any signs of wear. The center bead of extra rubber that shows when new has just worn down. Very quiet ride and it has a very confident feel on turns.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 90

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]