Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Schwalbe Marathon 27" Tire

SchwalbeMarathon 27" Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(46 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(32)
(12)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(70%)
(26%)
(2%)
(2%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 11/2/2017
by EricB
Daily Commuter
Pacific Northwest
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great wear, prevents all but the most dramatic punctures

I've been using these for several years for daily commuting and the occasional long road trip. They last and last and flats are truly rare. Excellent traction, too. I wouldn't use anything else.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2017
by Steph
Billings, MT
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Love these tires!!!!

So, I searched for new tires to out on my Panasonic Sports Deluxe with Araya rims. 27 1 14 size. I primarily commute 2 miles RT per day, with some 5 to 10-mile trips each week. These Schwalbe Marathons have been fantastic. I've had them a month and a half. I've rode over broken glass, annoying pebbles, and sticksleaves with no trouble. No flats so far. I pump up to 80psi with the straight (no bead) Araya rims. Love the reflective strips - they look great on my bike and I feel safer. I highly recommend them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/10/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
nice tire

this tire has a nice smooth, comfortable ride. it was easy to mount on the rim, and i like the reflective strip. i believe it is worth it. i highly recommend this tire & would buy it again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/4/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle,Wa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
800 mile ride with no flats - very nice!

Cross country touring with no flats and average road handling response.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/9/2017
by John
Ellicott City, MD 21042
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Lifetime tire?

Excellent all-around and ultra-long-life tire. Superior traction and cornering. Has done especially well over broken glass, potholes, and gnawed macadem of Baltimore City's streets and alleys. Fine for offroad (e.g., C&O canal towpath), too. Don't need to buy again because the tires don't seem to wear.

Retrofitted to a 70's Schwinn Varsity, so even more weight is not an issue.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/20/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Tires are excellent.

Bike wheel

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/1/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Paul, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Reliable city tire for 27in wheels

I have been very happy with these tires, using them for daily city commuting all summer. I had multiple flats with my old wheels and havent had any problems since I put these on. My commute route includes a lot of broken glass as I pass a very busy waste transfer point with garbage trucks coming and going (and losing cargo in the process). Didnt have any problem seating them with tire levers.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/4/2013
by Steve Klein
Cycling Enthusiast
Somers Point, NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Best Tire Ever !!!

I've been riding on these tires for 2 years and that is why I re-ordered them for my sister.

I ride 50% bike path and 50% road (20-50 miles a week) and I've never had a flat on these tires. I'll never buy any other bike tire, ever again, but these.

Thanks for a great product at a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/18/2013
by Pete aka Giiziiosh
Cycling Enthusiast
Hayward WI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Would buy again.

Road the Texas hill country,across cattle guards,road construction.dead critters and horse hooie. Great tire! No problem with a comfortable ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/16/2012
by TucsonRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Great Value

These tires are a great value, especially at the price, and given the points you can earn towards other purchases via this site. I do a lot of city riding that involves riding through sandy driveways and over terribly uneven and rough pavement or tracks with loaded rear panniers and I have not had one flat in the last 6 or so weeks since purchase, even though I routinely ride through intersections littered with small glass shards (the hazards of living in a college town). The treads are awesome, I always feel secure riding through sand and going around turns quickly. The rotational pattern is easy to spot yourself even without the helpful arrow on the sidewalls, and speaking of sidewalls, the reflective band on each one is a great addition to these tires. I can see it working just sitting in my living room with a light on. I feel very comfortably riding over grass and dirt on these, and I don't notice much added resistance in comparison to smoother, thinner tires. Even better, my old tires were a huge pain to seat and unseat, but these tires were relatively easy for me to get on and off when I was demoing a flat fix to a friend. I only needed one tire lever to unseat and nothing but my two hands to reseat. I am sure these tires will be awesome on my next tour.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/18/2012
by John Duning
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Relief from flat tires.

After reading other reviews, I thought that I would take a chance with the Schwalbe tires. I have had them for a couple of months now. NO FLATS! This is from someone who commutes EVERY day on his bicycle. Fourteen (14) miles each way, five days a week. So far they have been worth every penny I spent on them!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2012
by rickintx
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston,Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Good tough tire

I use this tire for a back tire because it never goes flat. I ride about 1,500 miles a month and it lasts about 6-9 months, and no flats! I run 90psi in it and have had 95 with no problems. It's a good firm ride and good grip. I'll keep buying this tire as long as they sell it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/27/2012
by jfmcclure
Cycling Enthusiast
St Louis MO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tires

Have always had excellent results with the Schwalbe Marathon series tires Very flat proof. A little difficult to mount but it is unlikely you will have to mount it more than once.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/20/2012
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Salt Lake City, UT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Very satisfied - good deal.

I commute on these tires about 10 miles every day and love them. I had some super-cheap tires on my bike and was always getting flat tires. With these, however, I haven't had flat since I installed them (7 weeks, at the time of this writing).

I would definitely recommend these to others.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/6/2012
by great2getout
Cycling Enthusiast
Lawrence, Kansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire

This is a great touring tire

It has good tread for the occasional gravel

It's a bit heavy

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/13/2012
by Fujiman50
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Good Tire

I use this tire on a older 27 ten speed I use it on the back cause it never goes flat. It rides well on streets and semi rough trails. I put 95psi in it and rolls good. Basicly never had a problem and very rarely a flat and I ride 3-400 miles a week.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/10/2012
by kvberg72
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great commuting tire for old 70's and 80's ten speeds and Schwinns.

I use this tire for Puncture protection when commuting, really reliable and still rides nice.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/29/2012
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Buffalo N.Y
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Overall an excellent deal for the price.

Use this tire for my old 27 10 speed.Very good durability as far as tread wear is concerned!!! Puncture resistance is above average though one time a shard of glass got me after just putting on the brand new tire !!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/20/2012
by biking2012
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
A strong comfortable ride for your money

This tire with 100 psi makes it a stonger faster ride and makes going up hill alot easier. The added tread makes it a comfortable ride as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/17/2012
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
amazing tire, worth the money and some

amazing tire, worth the money and some. corners well. never had a flat and even ridden off road... np plenty of traction

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 38

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]