Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Schwalbe Marathon 20" (406)

SchwalbeMarathon 20" (406)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(83 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(66)
(11)
(1)
(4)
(1)
(80%)
(13%)
(1%)
(5%)
(1%)
Reviewed 8/29/2022
by WHarris
DFW
Overall Rating
The Tire

This is the optimum tire for Catrike front wheels!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/14/2022
by Jay Robinow
KC home of world famous BBQ
Overall Rating
Best all around touring and recreational tire for 406 sized rire

This has been and continues to be the best overall tire for the recumbent and folding 406 sized wheel. Excellent rolling and wearing tire. Excellent flat protection. I have used lighter tires In the past but the durability and flat protection did not compare to the Marathon.

Marathons are also easy to mount. They have reflective stripes on the sidewalk. What more could you ask for??!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/28/2022
by Dens
Casual Cyclist
Alabama & Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great lasting tires

These tires have lasted uss for 4000 miles. We're very happy with their lasting wear

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/21/2022
by Stan H
Bandera
Overall Rating
Great rough road tires

Bought these to replace smooth no tread road tires on my bike friday. Roads I mainly ride on are gravel and chip seal. These provide nice traction and make riding much safer. They are holding up beautifully.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/12/2017
by OldGuyWhoBikesEverywhere
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
We did the Trail of the Hiawathas in Idaho wo problem

These are great on my Sun recumbent bike and my wife's Sun recumbent trike. We've done all the rails-to-trails from Victoria BC to Sacramento and back now four times. Only have had to change the Schwalbe's once. We did what we consider the rottenest trail ever, the Trail of the Hiawatha in Idaho and absolutely HATED the trail, the cold, dripping pitch black 1.7 mile tunnel followed by 42 degrees and raining once we exited the tunnel and the roadbed was old railroad rocks that had us vibrating and shook us up totally. Miles and miles without smiles. It was a great test for our bikes - they came out great. A greater test for our Schwalbe Marathon Plus tires which had no difficulty, no flats, no leaks, no blowouts. We were covered in sandy mud at the end of the ride and frozen. Never will we do that trail again. But ALWAYS will keep Schwalbes on our bikes. Bought our tires at BTD and their service is the best anywhere we've found.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/1/2022
by CAB
Cycling Enthusiast
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very satisfied

I replaced the original tires of my Btwin Tilt 500 folding bike for these Schwalbe Marathon after extensive research. Although I didn't need any special tools, it was necessary a little bit more effort to mount one of them. Till now, after 500 km, I'm very satisfied.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/21/2014
by Stoney
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Vermont
Value Rating
Overall Rating
14 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tire for heavy use Electric Recumbent

My SWB recumbent is outfitted with a rear-wheel geared 450W motor powered by a 48V LiOn pack mounted on a rack directly above the rear wheel. The total weight of the bike is 60 LBS. Add my 200 LBS plus occasional cargo and tires wear out fast!

The Marathon GreenGuard tires have been a great option. After 300 miles there is almost no wear, the ride is smooth and the grip is excellent. The Kendas I was using were replaced at 500 miles.

I highly recommend the Schwalbe Marathon for riders interested in a long-lasting tire with great ride characteristics. As a previous bike shop owner, racer, and family biker I rate these tires as one of the very best cruising/commuting options available.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/19/2014
by Idaho Retired
Cycling Enthusiast
Boise, ID
Value Rating
Overall Rating
18 of 18 customers found this review helpful.
No Better Tire Than a Schwalbe

I discovered Schwalbe tires when I bought my first 2 wheeled Volae recumbent in 2006. I found them to be so reliable that I put them on my upright Trek too. I began to truly appreciate them when I moved from the moderate climate of the CA bay area to retire in Idaho in 2012. Out here, the extreme summer/winter temps make chip sealing the default method of road surfacing. I put these on the front wheels of my new Catrike Expedition recumbent trike and I really love the ride. Trike front wheels don't lean in turns so they take considerably more abuse and wear than a 2 wheeled bike. They stand up really well to the local roads that more often than not feel like riding on train tracks. I use them with Mr. Tuffy strips and together they provide me with many no-flat miles both in town and out on the never ending farm roads around my home. I have an internally geared rear hub that can make changing a tire more of a pain than normal so I run a 26 Marathon Plus in the rear for added security. Sure, they are pricier than most but well worth the performance and dependability. It just doesnt get any better than Schwalbe and I have found that BTD usually has the best prices and inventory.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/22/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Sanger, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires for a trike.

They are on the front of a 3 wheel trike that are disastrously tough on tires. These tires hold up to the test of being tough. Other tires have worn out in a very short period of time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/6/2020
by Cape Cod Triker
Cycling Enthusiast
Harwich, Cape Cod, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Quite pleased

I put a pair of these on the front of my Performer JC-70 trike and have now put 50 miles on them. I inflated to 65 lbs, and had a much more comfortable ride than on the OEM Michelins inflated to 55. Steering is also much surer, and the grip is so good I now have to be careful not to over steer, especially on tight turns. Most important, on one of my regular set distance (10 mile) courses, I gained nearly 2 mph average speed without exerting more than normal effort. Did that course two days in a row just to be sure and the mph held. Overall very satisfied!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/9/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires (Marathon 20

Bought one of these about two years ago and it has held up great. So I decided to get more for my trike. They roll easier than my previous tires and look like they are going to last much much longer. I haven't had any flats, I do go overboard with liners and puncture resistant tubes also...flats while out on a ride are not my idea of fun!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/4/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
West Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
durable, reliable

This is the 3rd bike I've equipped with Schwalbe Marathon's!! Started using them on my road bike 2 years ago, put them on the tandem my wife & I ride last spring, and now have put them on my "backup" recumbent. They are very durable, puncture resistant, and the rolling resistance seems low. They are a bit difficult to get on, but then again, I don't need to take them off very often!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/1/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good

Good all season tire. You can still get flats but seem fewer than what i had used.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/2/2021
by Hal
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Front tires on Catrike Dumont

I've been using these tires on both Terra Trike and my Catrikes for six years and have never had a problem.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/28/2017
by Triker Bill
Lancaster, PA.
Overall Rating
5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Put 3 on my Catrike

I went to the larger 20x1.75 tires on my Catrike Trail. I wanted this larger, wider tire for when I am on a gravel rail-trail. The main thing I like about this Marathon model is the uninturrupted center rib of the tread. This solid center rib gives a smoother ride on a paved trail, and the wider 1.75 tire sits more on the gravel not digging in as much. I like these tires as they are a high quality tire and have the puncture resistand liner. They are lighter than the Marathon Plus tires too. I have been running them at 60 psi. Good stuff! )

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/30/2017
by erw
Cycling Enthusiast
coast of oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Florence, Oregon 97439

Great for touring, good protection and rolling resistance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/12/2017
by TrikeRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Alton, illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Ore comfort and speed.

These tires are as comfortable at 70 lbs as the OEM tires were at 40 lbs. they defiantly roll faster and farther, as I have picked up a couple of mph in my average speed. I know they will last longer it took a couple hundred miles to wear of the thin bits of rubber left from the casting.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/14/2017
by RWS
Cycling Enthusiast
AkronCleveland, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Top of the line tire that holds the road great.

I use these tires on my TeriTrike. I do a lot of brake steering and these tire are fantastic. Hold the road great with good tread life.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/20/2017
by Reciumbentman
Cycling Enthusiast
Western NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
GREAT TIRES

I have run these tires for years both regular riding and touring -- great resistance to flats which is great when you are fully loaded on a tour.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/6/2017
by Porkchop
Cycling Enthusiast
Cape Coral, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Gold Standard for Touring Tires

I've been riding Schwalbe Marathon tires on my touring bikes for many years and consider them to be the standard by which all others are judged. This is my first set of 20 tires for a recumbent trike. So far they are just as good as the larger sizes. Only complaint is they are a bit expensive when compared to similar products from competing manufacturers,, but I guess you pay the premium for the best.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 41

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]