FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Schwalbe Marathon 20" (406)

SchwalbeMarathon 20" (406)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(62 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(45)
(11)
(1)
(4)
(1)
(73%)
(18%)
(2%)
(6%)
(2%)
Reviewed 5/24/2018
by Mister Magoo
San Francisco
Overall Rating
Best trailer tire

I swear by these for my bike trailers. I consistently haul 100s of pounds and this tire lets me travel free of pinch flat fears. High mileage and low rolling resistance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/12/2017
by OldGuyWhoBikesEverywhere
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
We did the Trail of the Hiawathas in Idaho wo problem

These are great on my Sun recumbent bike and my wife's Sun recumbent trike. We've done all the rails-to-trails from Victoria BC to Sacramento and back now four times. Only have had to change the Schwalbe's once. We did what we consider the rottenest trail ever, the Trail of the Hiawatha in Idaho and absolutely HATED the trail, the cold, dripping pitch black 1.7 mile tunnel followed by 42 degrees and raining once we exited the tunnel and the roadbed was old railroad rocks that had us vibrating and shook us up totally. Miles and miles without smiles. It was a great test for our bikes - they came out great. A greater test for our Schwalbe Marathon Plus tires which had no difficulty, no flats, no leaks, no blowouts. We were covered in sandy mud at the end of the ride and frozen. Never will we do that trail again. But ALWAYS will keep Schwalbes on our bikes. Bought our tires at BTD and their service is the best anywhere we've found.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/20/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good price on a great product.

I use these tires on a tadpole recumbent trike. Schwalbe's are an excellent product. I like the Marathon for the trike better than the Marathon because the tread pattern wears better and makes less noise. I work at a bike shop, so get a cost 10 price. The price here was as good or better than I could get at the shop and I had it in my hands within 2 days. I would definitely buy from here again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/28/2017
by Triker Bill
Lancaster, PA.
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Put 3 on my Catrike

I went to the larger 20x1.75 tires on my Catrike Trail. I wanted this larger, wider tire for when I am on a gravel rail-trail. The main thing I like about this Marathon model is the uninturrupted center rib of the tread. This solid center rib gives a smoother ride on a paved trail, and the wider 1.75 tire sits more on the gravel not digging in as much. I like these tires as they are a high quality tire and have the puncture resistand liner. They are lighter than the Marathon Plus tires too. I have been running them at 60 psi. Good stuff! )

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/21/2014
by Stoney
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Vermont
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tire for heavy use Electric Recumbent

My SWB recumbent is outfitted with a rear-wheel geared 450W motor powered by a 48V LiOn pack mounted on a rack directly above the rear wheel. The total weight of the bike is 60 LBS. Add my 200 LBS plus occasional cargo and tires wear out fast!

The Marathon GreenGuard tires have been a great option. After 300 miles there is almost no wear, the ride is smooth and the grip is excellent. The Kendas I was using were replaced at 500 miles.

I highly recommend the Schwalbe Marathon for riders interested in a long-lasting tire with great ride characteristics. As a previous bike shop owner, racer, and family biker I rate these tires as one of the very best cruising/commuting options available.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/30/2017
by erw
Cycling Enthusiast
coast of oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Florence, Oregon 97439

Great for touring, good protection and rolling resistance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/12/2017
by TrikeRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Alton, illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Ore comfort and speed.

These tires are as comfortable at 70 lbs as the OEM tires were at 40 lbs. they defiantly roll faster and farther, as I have picked up a couple of mph in my average speed. I know they will last longer it took a couple hundred miles to wear of the thin bits of rubber left from the casting.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/19/2014
by Idaho Retired
Cycling Enthusiast
Boise, ID
Value Rating
Overall Rating
14 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
No Better Tire Than a Schwalbe

I discovered Schwalbe tires when I bought my first 2 wheeled Volae recumbent in 2006. I found them to be so reliable that I put them on my upright Trek too. I began to truly appreciate them when I moved from the moderate climate of the CA bay area to retire in Idaho in 2012. Out here, the extreme summer/winter temps make chip sealing the default method of road surfacing. I put these on the front wheels of my new Catrike Expedition recumbent trike and I really love the ride. Trike front wheels don't lean in turns so they take considerably more abuse and wear than a 2 wheeled bike. They stand up really well to the local roads that more often than not feel like riding on train tracks. I use them with Mr. Tuffy strips and together they provide me with many no-flat miles both in town and out on the never ending farm roads around my home. I have an internally geared rear hub that can make changing a tire more of a pain than normal so I run a 26 Marathon Plus in the rear for added security. Sure, they are pricier than most but well worth the performance and dependability. It just doesnt get any better than Schwalbe and I have found that BTD usually has the best prices and inventory.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/25/2017
by Gman
Daily Commuter
Washington State
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Schwalbe Marathon, the gold standard for durability

I've been using these tires on my commuter for 8 years. They are my favorite commuting tire. They are almost bullet proof, and they roll fairly well. They are a bit heavy, but if your priority is to avoid flats, then the weight is worth it. The only time I get flats is when something like a nail is in the road, or when they are SUPER worn out (the green belt is showing). I've gotten one or two flats in 8 years on these. One caveat, we don't have a lot of goat heads in my area. If we had more of those, I might end up with the more durable Marathon Plus. Goat heads are so tenacious, they might get thru the kevlar on this tire, but I don't have any experience with that. For my commutes, these are A.

Oh! And you can run the 1.5 at 100psi, which is also nice.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/14/2017
by RWS
Cycling Enthusiast
AkronCleveland, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Top of the line tire that holds the road great.

I use these tires on my TeriTrike. I do a lot of brake steering and these tire are fantastic. Hold the road great with good tread life.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/20/2017
by Reciumbentman
Cycling Enthusiast
Western NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
GREAT TIRES

I have run these tires for years both regular riding and touring -- great resistance to flats which is great when you are fully loaded on a tour.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/6/2017
by Porkchop
Cycling Enthusiast
Cape Coral, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Gold Standard for Touring Tires

I've been riding Schwalbe Marathon tires on my touring bikes for many years and consider them to be the standard by which all others are judged. This is my first set of 20 tires for a recumbent trike. So far they are just as good as the larger sizes. Only complaint is they are a bit expensive when compared to similar products from competing manufacturers,, but I guess you pay the premium for the best.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/27/2017
by Mark
Roseburg
Overall Rating
Great tire. Smooth rolling on a recumbent trike.

Bought these tires for a recumbant trike. They roll really great. Had a bigger size on a tandem. They are a heavy tire, but when strength and durability are what is important, these are your tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/18/2017
by Bill V
St George
Overall Rating
Last the longest

Original tires were well worn at 300 mi and the cords were showing by 400 mi. Schwalbe have 450 mi and look great

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/15/2017
by Michele
Boston
Overall Rating
Happy customer

Great tires great service great price

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/8/2017
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
San Francisco
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Bomb Tire!!!

Marathons are the best. I had the 1.75 tire that I took to Buenos Aires. The year before I had six flats in just two weeks of riding city streets. This past year with the Marathons, I had ZERO flats. The only problem with the 1.75 is that they are heavy and slow. So, I bought the 1.5 and they are lighter and much much faster (can inflate up to 100 psi vs 70). I am very happy with them cycling all over the city streets of San Francisco. The only problem is getting them on initially. They are very still and I had to go to a bike shop to get them on evenly. Great price and great service from Bike Tires!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/27/2016
by LSB
Cycling Enthusiast
Idaho
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Choice for an ElliptiGO

Elliptigos have an internally geared hub in the rear that makes fixing a roadside flat a real pain. After way too many flats with a Kenda tire we went in search for a tire that was more puncture resistant. We chose the Schwalbe because of the Greenguard feature and have never regretted it. We have these tires on both of our GO's and have not had a flat on either bike for over 2 years and counting. That is saying a lot here in the land of the Goathead thorn. They are a few grams heavier than the previous tire but the puncture resistance more than makes up for any increase in rolling resistance.

Another benefit of the Scwalbe Marathon is it gives one the confidence to ride hard packed gravel trails like the famous Hiawatha Trail in Idaho where they do not recommend street tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/22/2017
by supermiler
Barneveld, WI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire with low drag, creates beter fuel mileage.

Ran these tires on a supermileage car and achieved record miles per gallon (over 630 mpg). Great durability with minimal wear.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/7/2015
by stewartmo
Cycling Enthusiast
Live Oak CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
No flats make riding a pleasure.

My wife and I ride recumbent tadpole trikes. We inflate our tires to 90 psi and I am getting about 1500 miles on the front tires. The wife's tires are lasting longer than mine, probably because I like to zoom around corners. The back tires have about 3100 miles of wear and looks like many more miles to go.. Use Mr. Tuffy protectors with the front tires and have not had a flat in the past year.

Like the reflective sidewall stripe for those times when we are riding at dusk.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/2/2015
by FTF
Casual Cyclist
Lincoln, NE
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Fantastic tire.

I have not had a flat using these. I have an increase in my speed with less rolling resistance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.