FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Schwalbe Durano Road Tire

SchwalbeDurano Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(21 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(13)
(4)
(1)
(2)
(1)
(62%)
(19%)
(5%)
(10%)
(5%)
Reviewed 10/12/2018
by DZP
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great durable tire

We have been using Schwalbe Durano Road Tire on our Tandem for years. They are very durable and roll great! I can't remember when we had a flat!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/15/2018
by JDD
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Rosa, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Relatively Good All Around Reliable Performance

Schwalbe Durano 25mm. Likes puncture resistance but not too heavy. Grips well. Supple sidewalls for easier mounting or removal from wheel. Grips well. No real dislikes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/4/2018
by Lee
Cycling Enthusiast
Chciago and Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Product

Always great service from Bike Tires Direct, you guys are great, Schwable and Continental are top quality products and I would advise any serious cyclists to use these tires. No faults, great tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/15/2009
by Jay (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
23 of 27 customers found this review helpful.
Durable and Puncture Resistant

Heading to Tuscany for two weeks of cycling, I wasn't sure what the road quality would be like, so I decided to give this tire a try. After close to a thousand miles including some pretty rough pavement and gravel roads, these tires have held up well. They show very little signs of wear - just a little squaring off of the tread.

I did have one puncture. With less than 20 miles to go until the end of our tour, I pulled out a thin wire probably from a shredded truck tire that had worked its way through the tread. But I also ran over glass a few times with no problems.

Ride quality is pretty good for such a durable tire, and rolling resistance is low enough. My only real reservation is lack of traction in the wet. The tires got a little squirrely on fast descents with tight curves when the roads were wet. If I was doing this tour again, I'd probably bring a tire with a bit better wet weather performance such as the Continental Grand Prix 4-Season even though I think the Durano is a bit more durable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/21/2018
by assortedpixels
Cycling Enthusiast
Hartford, Connecticut
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Pretty decent training tire

These came stock on my 2015 road bike. I put around 2500 miles on them and replaced them when I had my first flat (a puncture in the rear). At 200 pounds I could have probably finished this season with them. I ride mostly on Connecticut paved roads, but have been on limited heavy gravel off road. The tires did develop some rips tears on the outer tread within the first season. These obviously don't roll as easy as race tires, but it was great not having a single flat for over two full seasons. My only bit of cautionary advice is to be aware that these tires are nearly silent when they are skidding. I felt very secure doing fast descents (45-50mph) and heavy breaking when needed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/17/2016
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Island, Road use
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Faulty Tire

I bought the tire and installed it within the week on a new road bike. I used a hand pump to inflate the tire. I road it once and afterward while the bike was stored in and air conditioned room, the sidewall blew out. I am extremely disappointed in the tire quality and going back to purchasing Gatorskins.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/1/2013
by Prufftri
Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
The perfect training tire

Minimal rolling resistance, good grip in slick conditions, puncture resistant on rough and rocky roads (brought on by an incorrect left turn off course). I already have over 1000 miles on these tires and the nubs aren't completely warn off the tread yet!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2013
by Fundo rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
No flats on mixed terrain fondo

I bought these tires specifically for a fondo ride which had 50% dirt roads. I paired them with Vred latex tubes, pumped them to 80PSI (I'm 120lbs) and didn't experience any flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/8/2013
by Mawiga
Cycling Enthusiast
Mississauga, ON
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Thousands of Kms without a flat

Got over 6000 Kms without a flat riding on every type of road surface from city streets with construction debris to gravel country roads. I didn't push to try for the rated 10,000 Km due to a small deep slit in the tread on front and back. It was end of the season and I decided to put on a new set of the same tires rather than push my luck. Perhaps they were good for a few thousand more.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/28/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Fortuna, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
good solidperformer for us borderline clydsdales.

I wanted a good solid training tire that would help reduce the number of flats. So far so good. I have about 1000 miles of flat free riding on our rough northern California roads. I weigh about 210.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2012
by Bob
Competitive Racer
34986
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tire - holds the road well in wet conditions. fits the rims very well.

Great product quality and durability.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/24/2012
by Frittish
Cycling Enthusiast
New York City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Solid tire

So I have to preface that I'm coming from running their Marathon plus tire exclusively for the last two years.

I switched to these because I wanted to drop some weight from my bike and have a faster roll on longer group rides. I dropped 2lbs by swapping out my 28c marathon plus for these in 23c. They roll fast and hold up well against not so great NYC pavement. So far I'm really happy with these and have just over 100mi on them (no flats).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2012
by SC540i
Cycling Enthusiast
Fremont, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable ride quality, poor puncture resistance and no side wall support

These tires comes with my 2011 Cannondale Synapse 3. This bike was an upgrade from Trek 1.2.

The ride quality is so good that make the bike feel slow. The 700x25 and along with the carbon frame absorb most of the paved road vibrations. It feels like driving a camry.

Handlingtraction is good in dry pavement. I feel very comfortable at high speed 40 mph on curvy downhills.

Puncture resistance is poor. A torn caused a flat at about 300 miles. I would get the Conti Gatorskin if you want an awesome puncture resistance tire. The tire is heavier but no flat in 1500 miles.

Little to no side wall support. You will not get a warning when you get a flat, (your rim will hit pavement at an instant). I crash because of this.

There are many all around good tire at more reasonable price.

I have switched to the Vittoria Rubio Pro. The upside no flat, the bike is more nimble (perhaps its 700x23), I chose red accent color that match my bike and lower price than the Durano. I have 700 miles on these so far. No data yet if these will last as long as the Durano.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2012
by mikeh441
Cycling Enthusiast
Across Ne,Iowa,SD
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Good tire, durable, excellent for touring

No specifics

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2012
by solorider
Cycling Enthusiast
Ft. Stewart, Georgia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
The Best

I do long solo rides so I cherish this tire. It's rated for 10,000km and I got 3,500km on them last year with hardly a hint of wear. They have a hard rubber compound that virtually eliminates nicks and cuts, I had one small cut and filled it with Shoe Goo. I'd come home from a few rides with wire sticking out of the tires and just pulled it out and all is fine! This model Durano has no sidewall protection so I did get an abrasision from a small rock, it bulges a little but I put a patch on the inside of the bulge and it's holding fine, for now. I plan on putting at least another 3,500km on this tires again this summer and I'm sure I'll have no problems!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2010
by BikerSteve
Cycling Enthusiast
portland, or
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Very happy with these tires

I've been riding these tires for about 1 year now, I got them just before my first century ride last fall and have loved them since. They ride great and are definately durable. I have only had 1 flat with them but that was due to a sidewall tearing jumbo pot hole that would have taken out any tire out there. I'm big guy and they handle my weight well and are also very fast. I ride the 25's and have no problem out coasting my friends riding 23's. I've only ridden on wet roads a few times with them but have never had a problem. I have no fear of rocks or broken glass, sticks etc...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/22/2010
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Copenhagen
Value Rating
Overall Rating
14 of 20 customers found this review helpful.
Not impressed

Had flats at an average of 45 km. That every second day on my commute. Ended up giving them away. They are not for wet Danish winter roads, the flints went right through.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2009
by kraken
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
17 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
Great riding, great puncture resistance

I have ridden these for 2 months with 1 flat. This was after hitting a huge staple that went directly through the tire. Few tires on the market could have survived that. I patched the tube and have been riding on it ever since with no issues. I went to these after riding some 700 x 25 Marathon Plus tires for several months. The Duranos ride SO much better than the Marathon Plus tires. While the Marathon Plus may be SLIGHTLY more flat resistant, the ride quality, nimbleness and durability have made the Durano Plus 'my tire'. I am a daily commuter and have tried every 'puncture proof' tire on the market. I am impressively prone to flats. On other tires I have had up to 8 flats in a single month. For me, these are well worth the cost.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/6/2009
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Amsterdam, Nederlands
Value Rating
Overall Rating
14 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Decent tire... if it were 2/3 the price.

I have had a front and rear set with 2000km. Noticeable squaring off of the rear, two significant flats, one resulting in a tire killing 1cm gash in the tread. I expected better from a tire claiming flat protection and extended wear. I can't comment on the long term wear of the tire, since I only rode them for a month before the terminal cut. Probably it was just bad luck, but I like I said, save your money and buy an equivalent tire for 2/3 the price.

The tires themselves ride fine, perform well over wet cobbles and brick and are quick on asphalt, but the ride and wear-resistance is no better than a cheaper Ultra-gatorskin. I'm 170lb, carry minimal gear, and 95% of the 2000km I put on these tires was asphalt, mostly out of cities, mostly off highways.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/4/2009
by Flysfaster
Cycling Enthusiast
Minden, La
Value Rating
Overall Rating
22 of 25 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Grip and Puncture Resistance

I used these tires recently in the Buffalo Springs Tri-Raider Triathlon and they are fast, good riding, with great grip. I transitioned from the swim into a steady rain for the 17.4 mile ride, and the Duranos were very confidence inspiring in the rain. The 145 psi rating allows me lower rolling resistance for an added plus, and they are light. Throw in the puncture resistant belt, and they are ready for just about anything you can throw at them.

I have used more expensive tires that did not perform as well. Excellent Product!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.