Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Rock-N-Roll Gold Lube Squeeze Bottle: 4oz

Rock-N-RollGold Lube Squeeze Bottle: 4oz (Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(79 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(65)
(7)
(6)
(1)
(0)
(82%)
(9%)
(8%)
(1%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by jeff

Reviewed 12/4/2023
by jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
montana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
nothing special makes chain and sprocket really dirty.

I tried it on a brand new ultegra 11speed chain and the chain is so greasy/messy before installing the new chain I totally degreased it and then followed rock and roll's instructions. I do longer rides so end up changing a few flats and impossible not to be a greasy mess with this lube. On my other bike I use Silca wax and that chain and sprocket are spotless

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tom

Reviewed 7/7/2023
by Tom
Cycling Enthusiast
Bakersfield, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Keeps the drive train running smooth

I use the product on my road bike chain. Rock-n-Roll Gold helps with shifting, keeping the chain lubricated, and clean. Depending on the article, a well maintained and lubricated drive train reduces friction by 4 watts, and I need all the extra power I can get! The riding conditions in Bakersfield, CA are dry and dusty in the summertime; however, the winter months are foggy and damp. Rock-n-Roll Gold works well in the winter months and when I am using my trainer; however, I find it a bit too heavy for the summer months. In the summertime I switch chain lubrication to Rock-n-Roll Absolute Dry LV (Red) because the conditions are so dry and dusty. I have been riding for over 40 years, and I think the Rock-n-Roll chain products are best chain lubricants on the market today!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by jeff

Reviewed 10/25/2023
by jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
missoula
Value Rating
Overall Rating
average chain lube.

if you follow the instructions you will not get many lube cycles out of the bottle. hopefully the results will be worth it, but kind of disappointed that they do not want you to just drip it on like most similar lubes, but instead really soak the chain with it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rainman737

Reviewed 3/17/2023
by Rainman737
Cycling Enthusiast
Camarillo, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Keeps Chains clean and quiet

Works well for the product purpose. Shake the bottle well before use and keep shaking as you use it. Dripping it on the chain works well for me. The spraying it on the jockey wheels just makes a mess and waste the product no matter how tidy you are. Let it sit and give it a good wipe down the next day after the wax has had a chance to set up in the chain rollers. I do this about every 50-75 miles and wipe the chain down after every ride. It is spotless and stays that way. The lube wears very quickly so your mileage may vary

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Placerville Bill

Reviewed 12/15/2023
by Placerville Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Placerville Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A

A really great product! My mechanic suggested this lube (he has used it for many years) and swears by it. A "Must Have" It works great, lasts long, and doesn't collect gunk and grime.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JTridesbicycles

Reviewed 11/8/2019
by JTridesbicycles
Daily Commuter
Nashville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
It's only Rock-N-Roll, but I like it . . .

This is my favorite dry lube. Shake it well. I apply by holding the bottle about underneath and approximately at the middle of the chain stay, just an inch or so behind the pedal on each rotation. This way it gets on the rollers and pins that make contact with the teeth. Using the chainstay to keep the bottle stable, I squeeze the bottle so the lube streams directly onto the rollers. TIP if concerned about splattering/splashing lube onto the braking surface of the rim, just drape a clean rag between the spokes at the area under which you're applying lube to the chain. This will protect your rim. I do about 6 revolutions of the pedals. Then wipe the chain. Wipe some more. And wipe one more time. To wipe the chain, grip the rag around the chain lightly and pedal backward. Rotate the rag to a clean dry area and repeat. When I can run my fingers over the chain links and get a distinct lubricated feel with no dirty fingers then I know the job is done.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/14/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Excellent

I was a longtime user of T9 until I was given a bottle of rock-n-roll gold by a fellow club member as a gag gift since my chain was too loud. After I cleaned my chain and tried it I was shocked by the results, my chain is almost silent now and I'm not having to lube it as often since I can ride around 100-200 miles depending on terrain. I would definitely recommend this if you are unsure of which lube to use!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steve

Reviewed 9/10/2018
by Steve
Cycling Enthusiast
Bentonville, AR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Best Chain Lube I've used

Over the years I've used several different chain lubes but this has been my favorite. I'm a big guy and live in a hilly area and generally get around 4000 miles on my Ultegra chains. I am pretty meticulous about chain cleanliness and lubrication. This doesn't pick up grit and dust and is easy to clean.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/2/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Keeps my drivetrain quiet!

I�ve been using this lube for years. I apply it before every ride and run the chain through a rag until the residue left on the rag is light. This keeps the whole drive train clean and the chain lubed so that the bike runs quietly. I learned the hard way that if you don�t keep your chain clean, you get chain stretch that erodes the teeth on the chain rings and cogs, which leads to replacement of the chain, chain rings, and freewheel cassette. That�s a pretty expensive proposition in comparison to the minimal cost of the lube and the few moments of time to apply it before each ride.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ron

Reviewed 12/16/2021
by Ron
Competitive Racer
Ann Arbor
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Next best thing to my old double boiler filled with paraffin

I use to lube my chains by throwing them in a liquid paraffin bath. Paraffin works great, keeps everything clean. But it was time consuming to set up the double boiler and let the paraffin melt, plus it didn't last long. Rock-N-Roll Gold appears to use a lot of paraffin, you can see it settle in the bottle, but applying it is a lot easier this way. It does a great job of penetrating into the linkages. Swipe off the excess, as recommended, and the chain will stay clean longer. If the chain is clean but begins to creak just freshen it up by applying another application.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bruce

Reviewed 9/9/2021
by Bruce
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
My New Chain Lube Standard

I've tried a half-dozen chain lubes over the past five years. Dry, wet, & semi-dry, all of them did okay, but none really gave me a reason to change from my regular lube. So when I gave R&R Gold a try, I wasn't expecting anything different - just another lube to to check off my (growing) list.

To my surprise, I felt an immediate and noticeable improvement. That's never happened with any other lube that I've tried. After a couple of lube cycles, I also found that I could go 25% further between lubes without losing significant performance. I'm sold. This is my new standard.

I typically ride in dry weather on paved surfaces, so I haven't tried this out in wet (or colder) weather yet.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Keith

Reviewed 4/5/2021
by Keith
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Best lube for performance and value

Sure, you can buy Silca secret lube or UFC lube for the ultimate low friction numbers- but you're into 3-5 times the price on those lubes vs Rock n Roll Gold

The studies show that this lube is just marginally below the low friction rating of those two pricey lubes. Meanwhile- I love the ease of application and like the claim on the box, it actually does clean the chain if you do one application then wipe and reapply

It's well priced and doesn't make a mess-

Doesn't attract dirt and rides quite well for 30 hours of road riding most conditions

This is my favorite lube

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/20/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Rock-n-Roll chain lube

I have been a long time Pro-link user for chain lubes. Last year, I decided to switch over to Rock-n-Roll as a chain lube for my road bike, with no regrets. Rock-n-Roll keeps my very clean, and avoids me taking the extra step of cleaning my chain before application. I lube my chain after every ride, which normally takes minutes, and let it set in over night, before use the next day. It seems too keep my chain and drivetrain more quiet, too. If conditions are wet, you may want to pull out a different lube for the day.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by gfparsons

Reviewed 10/27/2022
by gfparsons
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Fe
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Clean and Lube in One - Portable for Road Trips

I like this lube for a quick clean and lube process when you're on the road for a touring adventures or week long camp and ride event, such as Cycle Oregon. I normally remove and clean my chains with diesel fuel, then remount, apply Rock-N-Roll, then wipe of excess. It's a fairly dry finish that doesn't attract as much dirt. Another plus - the compact bottle has a tight lid and doesn't leak in the gear bag.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by gfparsons

Reviewed 9/25/2020
by gfparsons
Cycling Enthusiast
Clark County, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Clean and Lube in One Step

I use a master link and typically remove and clean my chains with diesel fuel every 300 miles or so, wipe dry, then lube with Rock-N-Roll as instructed, at the cassette. Then wipe off excess. Rock-N-Roll can be applied in between the more thorough cleaning without chain removal. The diesel is recyclable, in that it "layers" out after a week or so in the jar, such that the gunk settles to the bottom and you can pour off the clean diesel into your "shaker jar" for washing the chain. (small amounts, 2-3 rinse/shake cycles)

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steve-o

Reviewed 5/29/2023
by Steve-o
Cycling Enthusiast
Redwood City, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best Chain Lube around

Works well in all environments. Light and non-sticky. Small bottle gets you a surprising number of applications. Don't think about it. Buy it,

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mikellv7

Reviewed 5/26/2023
by Mikellv7
Florida
Overall Rating
Roxk and roll oil is the best

This has been the best oil I have been using for the last fee years. As always ahips fast.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/9/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Cruz, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A smooth clean chain always makes for the best ride experience

Have been a satisfied long time Rock-N-Roll Absolute Dry user for years so I thought I'd try the Gold. I usually clean and replace my lube every 15-200 miles; now with the Gold I can go 200-250 miles per lube.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by bikechefgr

Reviewed 9/9/2021
by bikechefgr
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
best value by far

I have been using this lube for 5 years on all my bikes in all weather conditions every time I ride. It cleans the drivetrain first , then lubes it. It tests out to be in the top 3 best lubes for reducing friction and it is by far the best priced product of the top choices. It is very thin in consistency and easy to use and wipe up.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/12/2021
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
New York
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Easy

Works great and easy to use! My chain stays clean without using degreaser when I use this regularly.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]