Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Race Face Crank Boot 2-Pack

Race FaceCrank Boot 2-Pack(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(8 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(5)
(2)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(63%)
(25%)
(13%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 4/5/2021
by FuelFool
Competitive Racer
Blue Ridge Mountains, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
One of those simple must-haves.

Though these things are pricey for little plastic bits, the good news is that they should prove pretty durable, unlike the silicone ones that are cheap but usually split or wear out quickly. If you can catch a sale, it's not terribly painful. I was able to fit these on my SRAM carbon cranks with some slight modifications.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/14/2020
by Bici_Del_Rioba
Cycling Enthusiast
Longmont, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Provide good protection

I have tried many of these. These ones are harder and do a pretty good job. The soft rubber versions just shift and end up exposing the end of the crank.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/16/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bend, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Simple solution.

My carbon cranks needed this item before I bashed it into rocks on a cyclocross bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/26/2020
by Eric
LA, CA
Overall Rating
Good for what it is not for all cranks

Does it�s job.

Not all for cranks. Paddle will not freely spin on some of the cranks.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/10/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Must Buy for all off road bikes

Love em, they fit perfectly and are not bulky. They protect well after bashing on rocks. Will put them on all my off road bikes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/5/2014
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Las Vegas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Why didn't someone think of this sooner!

I ride a lot of technical terrain with lots of big rocks and step ups. I'm always beating my cranks into the rocks. I got a new 29er a few months back and put a set of these on my Sram XO crank. They fit perfectly and no dings in my crank!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/4/2013
by mygeaux
Cycling Enthusiast
Lake County, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great idea, but check swingarm clearance!

I really like this idea and have wanted a set since I saw the Specialized version a while back. I mostly ride a hardtail singlespeed, and I find that when I get on my squishy, geared bike after lots of hardtail riding, I bang the carbon cranks on rocks for a while until I finally get used to the squish again. I have never broken a crank that way, but the sound is disconcerting. So... When I came across these on the BTD website I didn't hesitate. They are nicely made and simple to install. But the boot will not work on the drive side of my size M Tallboy Carbon with XX 2x10. It spins okay when the bike is on the stand or ridden on flat ground, but on hard climbs the flex is enough that it rubs the swingarm. I weigh around 175 fully kitted. Too bad. I am going to try them on another frame.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/8/2013
by celeste_cycle
Competitive Racer
Auburn, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Why not?

I bought these to protect my new Shimano CX-70 cross crankset. The boot fits tight on the drive side but is slightly loose on the other side. I like that they keep my cranks from making direct contact with rocks and such as I often ride my cross bike on MTB trails. Why not? You're going to buy a bunch of stuff, for [$] or so, you may as well add them to your shopping cart. You won't regret the purchase.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 32

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]