Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Portland Design Works Shiny Object CO2 Inflator Head

Portland Design WorksShiny Object CO2 Inflator Head(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(95 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(77)
(11)
(2)
(1)
(4)
(81%)
(12%)
(2%)
(1%)
(4%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Jim A

Reviewed 8/8/2014
by Jim A
Competitive Racer
Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
14 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
simple and robust

I've tried a bunch of these over the years. Some look good, but break quickly. This one is small, simple and tough. It works when you need it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Miguel B

Reviewed 8/30/2021
by Miguel B
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
One of the Best CO2 Inflators on the market

I have two of these, one for each bike. Super easy to control the inflation rate with the open/close valve knob.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by HVBikerBoy

Reviewed 11/17/2023
by HVBikerBoy
Cycling Enthusiast
Hudson Valley, New York
Value Rating
Overall Rating
It's compact and it just works!

On the road in a pinch (pun intended) I like the controlled CO2 release.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Art in CO

Reviewed 4/8/2023
by Art in CO
Cycling Enthusiast
Erie, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great inflator head

My rear tire lost air eight miles into a ride, so I had an opportunity to use the Shiny Object. I was really impressed by the control the device afforded. Got the tire re-inflated to the exact point I wanted, and got home without more drama. I think the control the head offers is well worth the price.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by AlanW

Reviewed 3/28/2023
by AlanW
Cycling Enthusiast
Orlando, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Solid

This is a solid light weight inflator to keep in your bike bag. I used to have a pump on my downtube for my CO2 cartridges. This was easy to use when I needed it to inflate a tire after a blowout.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bill

Reviewed 1/9/2023
by Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Watkins Glen, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
A must have!

What a great product. Rugged, yet small and light. Allows one to gradually add flow from CO2 cartridge to a deflated tire eliminating risk of over inflation. I�ve tried other CO2 cartridge inflators. Hands down, this is the best.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/2/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Willamette Valley Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
It just works! Takes up almost no space, too.

This inflator is an improvement over my old one - it does all the old one did at a tiny fraction of the size. I was using an enclosed-cartridge inflator that used cheaper threadless CO2 cartridges. I realized at 2-3 flats per YEAR, the savings weren't worth carrying my old bulky inflator.

Haven't *needed* to use this inflator yet, but like all ride-critical tools, I home tested it, "wasting" one cartridge. It worked just fine. The valve on the inflator was easy to operate. The cartridge DOES get seriously (dangerously?) cold, but wrapping it in a cycling glove solves that problem.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Skippy

Reviewed 2/10/2023
by Skippy
Oregon Central Coast
Overall Rating
Haven�t Tried it yet

I got this for my MTB and I haven�t needed to use it, but it looks solid.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tomas

Reviewed 4/15/2017
by Tomas
Seattle
Overall Rating
Great Tool!

This is simple, small and reliable. Well designed!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BigHill

Reviewed 4/7/2017
by BigHill
Sacramento
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Outstanding tool

Having control of air flow is what it is about! Slow or fast inflation is crucial, and this Shiny object allows this.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by jeffdags

Reviewed 3/20/2017
by jeffdags
Cycling Enthusiast
Canby, OR.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Simply the best

This Portland Design Works inflator is so easy to use it makes me want to have a flat tire!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by cokvance

Reviewed 12/31/2016
by cokvance
Daily Commuter
Salt Lake City, Ut
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
It works

This is the only valve I've ever used that actually holds pressure after it's pierced the C02 cylinder. I've used the partial pressure after a couple of months of initial use. I use it and several friends use them as well, all have had the same good luck with these valves.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/26/2016
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Product

This can be throttled to a minimal flow for gentle control of inflation.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Maven

Reviewed 5/3/2021
by Maven
Cycling Enthusiast
Ulster Co., NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Insurance for those who don't carry a frame pump

Even though I carry a frame pump, there are times when a CO2 inflator really helps: Instant pressure, no pumping. It's an "insurance policy" for me and it +a few CO2 cartridges will fit nicely in a small underseat bag.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/7/2016
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Island NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Works perfectly

It works as described. I had a flat yesterday and busted out the Shiny Object. I screwed in a CO2 and inflated the tire without the internals freezing up and with super control over the CO2 flow into the tire. There also a pressure relief hole so once you back out the cartridge it doesn't want to take off like a rocket. It slowly and safely bleeds off the excess CO2. Worth every penny.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dave

Reviewed 5/11/2016
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Auburn, ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
item broke on 3rd use

bought this in Jan 2015 - Used 3 times. First use - worked as advertised. Second use - had difficulty with turn knob and burned 2 co2 cartridges to inflate tire. rd use - knob kept turning and never disbursed CO2 - never got my tire inflated. I went through another 2 cartridges and still had a mostly flat tire. Luckly a buddy had another inflator which worked by twisting the cartridge to engage rather than a knob which just spun (open or closed).

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mandomatt

Reviewed 1/4/2021
by mandomatt
Cycling Enthusiast
Medford
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
great for your seatbag

I have more than one of these because I like to keep one with me on each bike. It uses the screw in C02 canisters and allows user to regulate air flow, and to save some for later in the ride if the tire is still leaking.

I had a mountain bike tire with a bad tubeless valve, so I was able to refill it a couple of times in order to get me down the trail. They are metal and seem indestructible.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Merckxfan1

Reviewed 5/25/2015
by Merckxfan1
Cycling Enthusiast
73013
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great product.

This is a really good, useful product.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/22/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Works but will frost bite your fingers through your gloves

Not unlike other all metal inflators this works good but gets so cold that I couldn't turn it off or get it off my tire even with gloves on

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by wa_biker

Reviewed 2/9/2015
by wa_biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Love this thing!

Works great! You can really control the air release. No more wasted cartridges.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]