Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Portland Design Works Origami Front Fender

Portland Design WorksOrigami Front Fender(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(22 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(13)
(5)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(59%)
(23%)
(14%)
(5%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Mike M

Reviewed 4/2/2020
by Mike M
Long Island, NY
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Easy to install and works great

Super easy to install. Keeps your face and chest dry.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by b7zzp0

Reviewed 9/1/2023
by b7zzp0
Cycling Enthusiast
99216
Value Rating
Overall Rating
it is a good product

it goes on easy enough

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Pablo

Reviewed 1/9/2017
by Pablo
Competitive Racer
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Decent rain protection up front

My road bike has tight clearances, so traditional fenders don't mount easily on it. This snap on fender requires a little fine adjustment and trimming to prevent contact with my front wheel when turning sharp angles, but once I dialed it in I've had no trouble. The detachable fender is a smart design, once you get the mounting bracket in a sweet spot, you might want to leave it in place throughout the winter or rainy season. Protection from road spray isn't perfect, but much better than riding in the rain with nothing up front.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Catmanwagner

Reviewed 5/16/2023
by Catmanwagner
Casual Cyclist
Adirondack Mountains
Value Rating
Overall Rating
It's the only good one I have found

This one holds its form. The others I've tried roll-up - which might be good if you wanted to store them in a pannier or bag, but really, why bother? It mounts snug, I get no cinder, no dust, no water hitting me.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by jdawg420

Reviewed 5/14/2020
by jdawg420
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Works Great

Been using this and the matching tail fender with great success. You may have to rotate this fender to get proper clearance on the front tires (ex blue stripe towards the top or back), but once you do, it's great. Easy to take off when you don't need it. Nice job!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JET

Reviewed 6/19/2017
by JET
Casual Cyclist
Chicagoland, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Obviousley, works only when going straight.

Easy to put on & take off. I don't ride in the rain but even going thru puddles, I make sure I am going straight. Even then your feet will get wet. Almost any type of turn will get your legs & shoes wet. Kind of what you would expect since it is not attached to the forks.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Montanafan

Reviewed 4/23/2020
by Montanafan
Daily Commuter
Portland US
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Easy install, great coverage. Use on mtn and commuter.

Used to run full fenders on my commuter. This winter (Portland rain) just went with this and butt fender. Plenty of coverage, super-lightweight. Easy install.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

Reviewed 7/1/2014
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Minnesota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Unusual and super functional design

We bought these for my daughter who has to ride to work regardless of the weather. This has been a rainy summer so she needed fenders and rain gear given the frequent thunderstorms to and from work. These fenders have built in snaps so the fender part can unsnap and fold up. The whole thing - both front and back fenders - take up very little room in her backpack such that she can carry them all the time as she commutes. When it rains, she can deploy them in a matter of seconds. They are really effective fenders too.

I know of no other fender that is this compact, this easy to store, as durable and is as effective as these. Perfect for commuters, where you have to lock a bike and are worried about theft of accessories, around universities, etc...

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Cicliman

Reviewed 2/20/2020
by Cicliman
Cycling Enthusiast
Salem, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great Fender

Easy, quick on and off. Great emergency fender.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by sswabbabe

Reviewed 1/14/2019
by sswabbabe
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great design that actually works

Picked this up for my CX bike that doesn't have fender mounts as I ride this bike in the wet off season and gravel rides so looking for something unobtrusive yet solid. Design is well thought out and keeps spray from my face and water bottles. Straps keep the fender snugly in place when mounted properly (watch for front wheel overlap) and looks stylish to boot.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by eddie1966

Reviewed 1/18/2019
by eddie1966
Daily Commuter
Olympic Peninsula, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Keeps my downtube area clean

This little lightweight mudguard mounts on the down tube and can be fairly easily snapped on and off the bike once you determine the placement of the mount. I use it together with a short MuckyNutz fork fender. They overlap each other by about 12 an inch but don't rub, so it gives me the coverage a full fender would from the head tube and back, if that makes sense (not front coverage over the tire like a full fender would. Seems sturdy but yet light enough that I just leave it on the bike all the time during the winter. Mine is mounted on a gravel bike running 650b x 48mm tires.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Sam

Reviewed 3/1/2018
by Sam
Daily Commuter
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Better than nothing

This has been providing me with more than adequate water spray protection. Very light weight.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/16/2017
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Works great, easy install - keep those legs clean!

Amazingly simple to install, and surprisingly effective. I also like that you can simply snap it off when you need to. Great product!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by cahot02

Reviewed 10/31/2017
by cahot02
Daily Commuter
Minneapolis, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Suits my purpose.

I was hoping to screw it on, but the bracket is to short to for my bike. I'm using one screw and one of the provided straps. Works well as it is.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by trptdoc

Reviewed 2/27/2017
by trptdoc
Cycling Enthusiast
Aptos, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
works well for commuting, with the occasional shower

Works well, and if you don't cut the strap off too short, you can switch easily to bikes with larger down tubes. I am able to fasten well with that little extra strap under the fender

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Barry

Reviewed 2/10/2017
by Barry
Cycling Enthusiast
LA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Lightweight, easy to use, fits big tubes

Really liked the ease of installation and works great. Well designed product that's easy to use.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by AnAmerican111

Reviewed 11/29/2013
by AnAmerican111
W. Pa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Good product for what I wanted

Winter wet riding for Superfly.

Minimal product but Does the job!.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by KsBiker

Reviewed 1/25/2012
by KsBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Kansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
16 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Sweet design

Was shopping around for a front fender, and saw this on biketiresdirect and thought I would give it a shot.....took it out of the box and was unimpressed....put it on the bike and was I wrong about my first misgivings this thing will take a beating and the knocks that come from riding the old coal mine pits singletrack we have around SE Kansas and comes out unscathed IMPRESSIVE design and great value for a front fender

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mike

Reviewed 11/15/2021
by Mike
Daily Commuter
Boston, MA
Overall Rating
Great little fender!

I keep the bracket on all the time, and snap the fender on when needed. It is easy and unobtrusive. It keeps the dirty street water from splashing up at me, too. It took a little fine tuning to keep my front wheel from bumping the bracket, but it works fine now.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tmax

Reviewed 3/3/2015
by Tmax
North east
Overall Rating
4 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Pretty good not perfect.

This fender is pretty good, it catches most of the splash and muck. However, it does not stop all of it from spraying you.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]