Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
POC Ventral Air SPIN Road Helmet

POCVentral Air SPIN Road Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(56 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(45)
(9)
(0)
(1)
(1)
(80%)
(16%)
(0%)
(2%)
(2%)
Reviewed 9/13/2021
by Anonymous
West Covina CA
Overall Rating
Poc Ventral Air Spin helmet

This helmet is light and comfortable, the color blue looks amazing. I have received many compliments on the color.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/16/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Omaha, NE
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great fit, love the air flow and different from the majors brands.

Bought this helmet because I wanted something different. Comes in a variety of colors so you can have some fun with that. Reviews were very positive on safety and protection. It fit so well a bought another one in a different color. Make sure you measure before you order. I usually where a medium in other brands but need a large in POC. Fit great!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/13/2021
by Nate
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good helmet, Bad Straps

I really like the helmet portion of this helmet. But the portion of the straps that hang below your ear are not adjustable, and they are too big for me (I don't have a small head). They catch me right on my jaw line in an uncomfortable way. For this much money, I think the straps should be adjustable in this regard.

The helmet itself is awesome, though. I bought it because I wanted a helmet that would stay cool even when climbing at very slow speeds, and this does that as well as I could have hoped!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/20/2021
by BigHill
Sacramento
Overall Rating
Outstanding ventilation

Ventilation is the best I�ve had in my 20+yrs of riding

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2021
by MightyG
Competitive Racer
Beverly Hills, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
ABOVE AVERAGE HELMET...

Experienced expert level cyclist and I've worn most of the top tier helmets through the years. Purchased the POC "Ventral Air Spin" to replace my well used "Octal". Notice slight improvement in air flow with the Ventral compared to the Octal and the Ventral looks less bulky and more contemporary, if that matters to you. Oakley and Rudy Project eye shades fit relatively snug, providing you don't shake your head too much. On the negatives; the Ventral fit is smaller than the Octal. Size (M) Octal is perfect, whereas Ventral (M) is almost at max adjustment and I cannot wear a cycling cap under the Ventral, where I can easily with the Octal. Tried Ventral size (L) and way too big on my head. Rear strap location on the Ventral is terrible compared to the Octal, The strap angle is poor and causes straps to touch back of ear...they work, but not great. I don't think the newly designed POC head restraint pads are an improvement over MIPS and contribute to the fit issues. So, overall the Ventral Air Spin is decent. I'll wear it through the summer and then give it away and find something nicer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/17/2021
by csummerson
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I love this helmet

I've been mulling over a new helmet for a while and the Ventral Air Spin was at the top of my list. I'm wary of ordering helmets online but grabbed a great deal here on BTD so I figured I'd give it a shot.

Overall, I'm very pleased with this helmet. It's incredibly comfortable and vents exceptionally well. My biggest complaint about it is the same that I have with most helmets---the included pads just aren't very absorbent, so sweat is dripping into my eyes within half an hour in the southern U.S. heat. I have a separate sweat-absorbant helmet liner (Sweathawg) that works well here, so it's an easy fix.

Past that, the helmet has been worth every penny. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone who's on the fence.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/15/2021
by BigHill
Sacramento
Overall Rating
Outstanding ventilation

Ventilation is the best I�ve had in my 20+yrs of riding

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/9/2021
by Steve
Anchorage, AK
Overall Rating
I love this helmet

It is well ventilated yet very quiet. The matte grey looks good too!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/14/2021
by Steve M.
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
A Life Saved

How do you determine the value of a helmet? A week ago my wife hit a tree rut in the street hidden in shadows. Her bike flipped out from under her and she when down-hard. She landed on the back of her head where the POC helmet wraps around better than nearly every other helmet. It buckled. It split. But the ER nurse said that the design saved her life, and the nurse was going to buy the same helmet for her daughter and herself as soon as she got home.

For me this was the best value of anything I have ever purchased for cycling. I am now waiting for the same helmet for my daughter-in-law and two grandchildren. I already purchased a replacement for my wife to use when she can start riding again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/1/2021
by Craigg
Cycling Enthusiast
Willamette Valley, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great ventilation, the spin feature seems to let the shell move

I'm very pleased with this helmet. The spin feature lets the shell move while the lining remains in place, which I believe is how it is designed. My head might be a little narrow, so it seems like the shell might rest to one side ever so slightly (maybe 1-2 mm). It doesn't bother me and I don't think it is noticeable unless you're looking for it. Otherwise the fit is excellent and the ventilation is great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/14/2020
by SactoSomeone
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento
Value Rating
Overall Rating
POC rules

This POC (Ventral Air) successfully checks the same boxes that had me raving about it's "lesser" sibling -- the (Octal). It's light, ventilation is good, and it's so damn comfortable. The only think keeping it from earning five stars across the board is the price, which is a bit steep, especially considering the Octal, in my opinion, is easily as good for $50 less.

My bottom line, having tried Giro, Bell, Kask, Bontrager helmets, I'd rate both of my POCs better than the whole lot of them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/30/2020
by Jon Tate
Daily Commuter
Nashville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
POC Ventral Air SPIN (White/White)

This POC helmet fits a bit differently than the helmet I replaced, so the first longish ride was a little uncomfortable as I got a headache from the pressure it put on my forehead (I believe). It just took a little bit of adjustment in forward tilt of it on my head. I don't know why that wasn't intuitive or why it didn't feel natural for me to wear it that way, but it seems to have worked itself out. The shape of the helmet seems to be a bit more round than oval, so this might explain the different feeling of it. Anyway, all is well now and I have completed a handful of centuries wearing the POC Ventral Air SPIN with no problems whatsoever.

The venting is absolutely noticeably cooler. Tennessee summers are brutally hot/humid - like being zipped up in a wet sleeping bag in the blazing sun with hot moist cotton shoved up your nose - truly, it sucks here from mid June to September. I noticed the difference in ventilation to my noggin' immediately when I hit ~20mph or so. It was wonderful.

I got the pure white on white and it really stands out from a visibility aspect. I think it looks sharp and with the fit characteristics figured out now I can wear a cap underneath it on colder mornings this fall/winter. I'm very pleased with this helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/2/2021
by bike2work2live
Cycling Enthusiast
oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent ventilation and very well made

Extremely comfortable fit. Very light straps that are easy to adjust. Excellent ventilation. It's also very well made without the rough edges I've seen on other helmets.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2021
by johnbar155
Cycling Enthusiast
Brooklyn NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
More comfortable than any previous helmets . . . Bell, Giro, Specialized

Likes - comfortable, unique color, quality build, tightening mechanism, air flow.

Dislikes - Makes head look like a mushroom, but that's ok, sort of.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/11/2021
by Tim R
Cycling Enthusiast
Beautiful East Dallas, Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I like it ... ah lot

I bought a white one.

Then, I liked it so much (and with the current "get it while you can" climate) I bought a black one too.

I'd argue that having 2 colors of the same helmet is not excessive, because they match any of my socks now.

It's a great helmet. I recommend waiting for it go on sale though, during one of BikeTireDirect's awesome sales, of course.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/3/2021
by Anonymous
SF Bay
Overall Rating
I like it except for 1 thing

I bought this to replace my first generation evade helmet. Much more comfy for head. Very airy and light in comparison. The only downside is that the sunglasses dock don't play well with my Rudy Project glasses.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/22/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Alexandria, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love this helmet!

This is my second POC Ventral Air Spin. First one was damaged protecting my head in a crash on some black ice. My head was fine, the helmet not so much, just as designed. This helmet has amazing airflow, the garage for the sunglasses is great, and I couldn't ask for a better fit

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/17/2021
by Brooklyn biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Brooklyn, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent helmet

I had a POC Octal helmet and this one is even better. The matte white is highly visible so that's the one I got.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/18/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Light, cool helmet.

After years switched from a Smith, which was always way too hot and this helmet fits great, is light and vents well. As another reviewer noted, will not hold Rudy, and a few other glasses.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/17/2019
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Light and cool

This helmet is relatively light (about 270g) and fits well. Size medium is comparable to medium helmets from other brands. The helmet provides great ventilation on hot days, I've worn it in temperatures over 100F and have no complaints. Also, AVIP orange is very bright and can be spotted far away in low and normal light conditions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 99

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]