Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
POC Ventral Air SPIN Road Helmet

POCVentral Air SPIN Road Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(38 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(33)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(87%)
(11%)
(0%)
(0%)
(3%)
Reviewed 2/22/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Alexandria, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love this helmet!

This is my second POC Ventral Air Spin. First one was damaged protecting my head in a crash on some black ice. My head was fine, the helmet not so much, just as designed. This helmet has amazing airflow, the garage for the sunglasses is great, and I couldn't ask for a better fit

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/14/2021
by Steve M.
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A Life Saved

How do you determine the value of a helmet? A week ago my wife hit a tree rut in the street hidden in shadows. Her bike flipped out from under her and she when down-hard. She landed on the back of her head where the POC helmet wraps around better than nearly every other helmet. It buckled. It split. But the ER nurse said that the design saved her life, and the nurse was going to buy the same helmet for her daughter and herself as soon as she got home.

For me this was the best value of anything I have ever purchased for cycling. I am now waiting for the same helmet for my daughter-in-law and two grandchildren. I already purchased a replacement for my wife to use when she can start riding again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/14/2020
by SactoSomeone
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento
Value Rating
Overall Rating
POC rules

This POC (Ventral Air) successfully checks the same boxes that had me raving about it's "lesser" sibling -- the (Octal). It's light, ventilation is good, and it's so damn comfortable. The only think keeping it from earning five stars across the board is the price, which is a bit steep, especially considering the Octal, in my opinion, is easily as good for $50 less.

My bottom line, having tried Giro, Bell, Kask, Bontrager helmets, I'd rate both of my POCs better than the whole lot of them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/30/2020
by Jon Tate
Daily Commuter
Nashville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
POC Ventral Air SPIN (White/White)

This POC helmet fits a bit differently than the helmet I replaced, so the first longish ride was a little uncomfortable as I got a headache from the pressure it put on my forehead (I believe). It just took a little bit of adjustment in forward tilt of it on my head. I don't know why that wasn't intuitive or why it didn't feel natural for me to wear it that way, but it seems to have worked itself out. The shape of the helmet seems to be a bit more round than oval, so this might explain the different feeling of it. Anyway, all is well now and I have completed a handful of centuries wearing the POC Ventral Air SPIN with no problems whatsoever.

The venting is absolutely noticeably cooler. Tennessee summers are brutally hot/humid - like being zipped up in a wet sleeping bag in the blazing sun with hot moist cotton shoved up your nose - truly, it sucks here from mid June to September. I noticed the difference in ventilation to my noggin' immediately when I hit ~20mph or so. It was wonderful.

I got the pure white on white and it really stands out from a visibility aspect. I think it looks sharp and with the fit characteristics figured out now I can wear a cap underneath it on colder mornings this fall/winter. I'm very pleased with this helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/6/2020
by OMS
Spokane
Overall Rating
Small Head/Great Fit

It has been difficult to find Helmets over the last 40 years that fit my Pin Head, and look tasteful when riding. POC has done a terrific job in both categories. The ventilation is fantastic! I definitely recommend this Helmet!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2020
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Detroit, Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great, light, road helmet with comfortable protection.

I purchased a number of helmets this spring and ended up sticking with this one. By far the best ventilation option that I tried while still offering a comfortable amount of critical area protection.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/23/2020
by JBS
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great helmet

Great helmet. The straps that go around the ears are fixed in length. It would be nice if those were adjustable. But otherwise great helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/20/2020
by Tim
Cycling Enthusiast
Dallas, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I like it ... ah lot

It fits really well and looks really good on me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/3/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfortable Great Ventilation

This helmet offers superb ventilation to get you through hot summer days. Often after rides my head is almost completely dry from the vents at work. Came with a bag to stow my helmet in which was awesome. Def should be considered among your top choices within the given price range.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/17/2019
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Light and cool

This helmet is relatively light (about 270g) and fits well. Size medium is comparable to medium helmets from other brands. The helmet provides great ventilation on hot days, I've worn it in temperatures over 100F and have no complaints. Also, AVIP orange is very bright and can be spotted far away in low and normal light conditions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/22/2019
by Quoc
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Saved my life!!!!!

This was my second POC helmet...I have always love the safety features and weight. It was time for a new helmet so I contacted Biketiresdirect and got a new one within 3 days! Flash forward 2 weeks later and I was involved in a cycling accident. I was struck from behind by a delivery truck traveling at 50 mph. The truck swerved into the bike lane where I was riding hit me and carried me along for several hundred feet before throwing me off onto the side of the road. I suffered a broken arm, 14 broken rib (entire left side), 10 vertebreas... but I had no concussion or any head injuries. The helmet was cracked but it definitely served its purpose. I am recovering well although it is a long recovery...I will be getting a new POC before riding again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/1/2019
by Paul
Competitive Racer
DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable and cool

I bought a blaze orange version of the Ventral Air SPIN (already reviewed) and liked it enough to buy a second one in white for raceday. My second one checks all the same boxes lightweight (270g for a medium), fits nicely on my 57cm head, and ventilates well on hot days in the 90F-100F degree range...One gripe that i didn't mention in my first review is the sunglass garage. POC added grippy tape on the inside of two front vents, but the vents don't hold my sunglass arms securely-and I wear POC Do Half Blades. In you are going to stash shades in the helmet, the rear vents fix the sunglass arms more securely in place. This is a minor gripe, overall the Ventral Air Spin is a quality helmet that hopefully adds a bit of concussion protection over other non-MIPS helmets.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2019
by Andrew
los angeles
Overall Rating
Great helmet and ventilation

Was looking for a helmet for the hot summer days and this helmet fit the bill in all aspects. Looks, fit and ventilation. As the weather is heating up in SoCal, Ive worn this helmet on a number of climbing rides and it has kept the sweat off my face and head cool. The mesh padding and spin feature works as described and its very comfortable. Highly recommend!

The discount from BTD was icing on the cake! BTD is my go to for cycling needs!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2019
by Paul
Competitive Racer
DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfortable and lightweight

The Ventral Air Spin is a nice update to the Octal. Fit is similar, but with a lower profile, better ventilation, and more robust chin strap retainer. I also appreciate that SPIN (POC's MIPS-like anti-concussion technology) is standard so you're not forced to choose between more or less brain protection...My medium size helmet fits my 58cm skull comfortably, and weighs 273g (- 2%). I bought AVIP orange for enhanced visibility on the road, and gosh is it bright-as in road cone bright orange that pops out in low light conditions...One caveat the fixed chin straps ride a tad high on the sides, and might get too close to one's earlobes for comfort. They don't bother me but could be a problem for you depending on head shape and helmet size

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/23/2020
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
New York
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable and stylish.

I've been waiting for this helmet to go on sale and BTD did not disappoint with the best price.

I had good fit experience with prior POC helmets and this is just as comfortable.

In the past POC helmets were a bit to oversized looking on my head but this trimmed down profile is very stylish.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/25/2020
by Adam
michigan
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Super Bright Super Comfortable Helmet

This helmet is amazing Ive had Several other POC helmets and this one is the best. I wear a 7 58 hat and this thing had plenty of room for my head. The thing is super breathable to.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2020
by gwvbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Stowe VT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best Helmut ever!

This is the best fitting Helmet I have ever used. It does not move even if not strapped up. It is cool, lightweight and very comfortable. BEST HELMET FOR BIKING EVER!!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2020
by Pat G.
Cycling Enthusiast
Connecticut
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great design supporting aero qualities as well as improving air flow within the helmet.

Design prioritizes safety over visual presentation.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/5/2019
by Glen
Louisiana
Overall Rating
0 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Big heads need not apply

Been waiting for this helmet to go on sale and bike tires direct came through as usual. Unfortunately the size chart suggest that anyone with a head larger than 61cm (24 inches) should shop for a larger helmet. Hey POC, why would you finally make a $ road specific helmet that isnt made for every cyclist, big or small head?!? Missed it by a 132 of an inch. What a shame!! Thanks bike tires direct for the sale. Maybe next time.)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/3/2019
by Supe
Cycling Enthusiast
NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Light and cool

My first experience was in 90-degree humid weather, 60-mile ride. The helmet seems to disappear with lots of airflow, that felt cooler. My goto hot weather helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 89